We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - bit tired”
Review of Holliers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holliers Hotel
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location - bit tired”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We visited the Isle of Wight the last weekend of June and stayed at the Holliers Hotel for two nights.
The hotel is located at the foot of a fairly step hill but close to a lot of amenities including restaurants, tea rooms etc.
The hotel is clean and tidy on the outside with a nice garden area where you can relax and get drinks from the bar. The outside pool is no longer there and is covered over by some decking,
Inside the hotel is a bit dark. WiFi is not free and rather expensive at £5 per day. There are locations close by the do offer free WiFi. We had a room on the second floor accessible via two fairly steep staircases as there isn't a lift. The double room was a bit cramped with a double bed (mattress to soft for me), wardrobe and two small bedside cabinets. The bathroom had a WC and a shower in the bath which was very dated and the bath itself was chipped in numerous places and therefore we didn't use it. The bedroom to be honest could do with a tidy up and modernising.
Breakfast was of a buffet style and was more than adequate even though the toast was like warm bread. The hotel states it has an indoor pool and after struggling to find it (we had to ask in the end) we were very disappointed. The pool was more like a big bath and although kids maybe able to swim in it I doubt that adults would be able to.
There are plenty of restaurants around the hotel but on the second night of our stay we decided to eat in the hotel carvery. We had been told that as one of our party was a vegetarian that they catered for this on the cavery and there was a lot of choice. However, on this night when we got into the carvery, which I must admit look very good, we were told that the only choice for the vegetarian was nut loaf (which they didn't like) so we decided to eat at a restaurant nearby.
On reflection the hotel does seem to do a lot of trade with holiday coaches and people of a certain age and I would think that this hotel would suit them perfectly.
Overall we were disappointed having read previous reviews but it was OK for the two days we were there and it didn't spoil an excellent holiday in the Isle of Wight

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wozzarooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    128
    50
    36
    37
See reviews for
65
167
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

just returned from 3 nights stay.

the same buffet every night beef/turkey/pork with little alternatives not good for 3 days or more

the initial instruction to the hotel please turn off all the lights tv and other items when not in the room indicative of this heading

staff poorly trained so most of us had to take plates away for the second course. routine starter melon(only once or orange juice one night soup a special!!
tables so small uncomfortable and a colleague who stayed a week overlapping did not eat in he regarded as not very imaginative.

the military theme continues with notes on the locked sweets saying only take one., they were very basic and with only cream no other alternative.

no one in the lounge the music too loud. we indicated too loud the owner laughing increased the volume.

the young and inexperienced staff doing their best not trained
could not muster a poached egg after the same breakfast every day only sugar pops cereal no yoghurts.

the toast just warmed bread.

rooms basic

there is no sign of fruit or cheese or plain yoghurt.

the own said anything he could do to help he would sort but the experience of our group the contrary very few if any in the lounge

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Been on a 4 day stay with Just go holidays. It's a family run hotel the owners, Steve and Dawn make you feel very welcome. They provide value for money and as it is their own busines act on any queries quickly. The food is excellent, a carvery each night with an alternative if you wish, I went for the carvery the roast pork was exceptional. The setting of the hotel is breath taking in the heart of Old Shanklin with thatched cottages around it many of which are pubs or tearooms. The hotel itself is an old coaching inn that is why some of the rooms are quaint with odd shaped bathrooms.The entertainment is really good and on every night so if you don't want to go out there is no need to!

Room Tip: The hotel is an old coching inn so the rooms are all shapes and sizes as are the bathrooms, but that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
396 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here as a couple for 3 nights in early July 2013.
The Hotel is situated in a pretty area with many nice thatched pubs within a few yards. The beach and town are a few minutes walk away. Room was comfortable enough although a little small. Bed comfortable and quiet for sleeping. Rather disappointed that the en suite did not have a proper shower but merely a hose from the taps and no shower screen. Food quite good - carvery most evenings with an alternative choice. Breakfast buffet good and varied from day to day. There was musical entertainment each evening but not really our cup of tea. Wifi comes at £5 per stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Holliers Hotel is an 18th C. former coaching inn sited in the prettiest part of Shanklin Old Village (think chocolate box thatched inns and cottages) and a ten minute stroll from the path leading down to the beach. As such do not expect a modern building laid out for the convenience of 21st C. guests. What you get is a clean, comfortable room with plenty of storage in a reasonable condition to be expected of a business attempting to maximise its occupancy. Do not join that company of reviewers which pays two-star rates and expects five-star accommodation and service. Experience the real world of competition for every guest in a recession.
What is outstanding is the food which is served carvery style with the option of alternative dishes. Forget Toby-style carveries and their competitors; in no way do they match the quality, quantity or variety of what is on offer here. Beef, pork, turkey, ham and lamb were all variously on offer with good-quality, fresh vegetables. At £7.95 inclusive of dessert, it was a bargain.
The nightly (free) entertainment varied from OK to very good - if on the loud side at times.
One point of note is that the Holliers website needs updating. The outside pool and paddling pool are no longer in use. although the inside pool still functions and was well-heated.
The acid test is would I go back to Holliers? The answer is 'yes' and without any doubt that I would have an enjoyable time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteamingMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel with Just Go Holidays. We were asked to use hand steriliser before entering hotel because of any germs that we may have picked up on route, not come across that before but if you want a virus free hotel it makes sense.
Room was comfortable and clean.
The food was excellent a carvery was on offer each evening with a choice of three or four types of meat, roast potatoes to kill for and a excellent choice of veg.
The hotel is in the old part of Shanklin ,the owners were always on hand and the staff were efficient and friendly. The entertainment was good but far to loud we could hear it in the room.
We can highly recommend the hotel and would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: ask for a quiet one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel, the up side was the bed was clean and comfortable and the food though plain was well cooked and plentiful. The bathroom was the smallest we had ever seen, had to back in to use the loo, the shower dribbled, ditto the basin tap, the bedroom was stuck in a 70' time warp. No clean towels, just the ones when we arrived, and no bedroom service on the Sunday. Very well placed for all of Shanklins amenities. An outside and indoors swimming pool were advertised though we never found either. Would we stay there agian. no.

Room Tip: As there are no lifts a lower floor room would be a good idea, but not over the piano room or you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OAKTREE95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 52 in Shanklin
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#19 of 52 in Shanklin
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#33 of 52 in Shanklin
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holliers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holliers Hotel

Property: Holliers Hotel
Address: 5 Church Road, Shanklin PO37 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holliers Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holliers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holliers Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing