We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holliers Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Daish's Hotel(Shanklin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clifton(Shanklin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
130
136
54
39
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
136
54
39
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano barsunday carverycoaching innlovely carveryevening mealcoach tripisle of wightshanklin old villagefamily run hotelbit datedfull englishowners and staffnightly entertainmentyorkshire puddingfriendly hotelindoor poollovely break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We visited the Isle of Wight the last weekend of June and stayed at the Holliers Hotel for two nights.
The hotel is located at the foot of a fairly step hill but close to a lot of amenities including restaurants, tea rooms etc.
The hotel is clean and tidy on the outside with a nice garden area where you can relax and get drinks from the bar. The outside pool is no longer there and is covered over by some decking,
Inside the hotel is a bit dark. WiFi is not free and rather expensive at £5 per day. There are locations close by the do offer free WiFi. We had a room on the second floor accessible via two fairly steep staircases as there isn't a lift. The double room was a bit cramped with a double bed (mattress to soft for me), wardrobe and two small bedside cabinets. The bathroom had a WC and a shower in the bath which was very dated and the bath itself was chipped in numerous places and therefore we didn't use it. The bedroom to be honest could do with a tidy up and modernising.
Breakfast was of a buffet style and was more than adequate even though the toast was like warm bread. The hotel states it has an indoor pool and after struggling to find it (we had to ask in the end) we were very disappointed. The pool was more like a big bath and although kids maybe able to swim in it I doubt that adults would be able to.
There are plenty of restaurants around the hotel but on the second night of our stay we decided to eat in the hotel carvery. We had been told that as one of our party was a vegetarian that they catered for this on the cavery and there was a lot of choice. However, on this night when we got into the carvery, which I must admit look very good, we were told that the only choice for the vegetarian was nut loaf (which they didn't like) so we decided to eat at a restaurant nearby.
On reflection the hotel does seem to do a lot of trade with holiday coaches and people of a certain age and I would think that this hotel would suit them perfectly.
Overall we were disappointed having read previous reviews but it was OK for the two days we were there and it didn't spoil an excellent holiday in the Isle of Wight

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wozzarooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

just returned from 3 nights stay.

the same buffet every night beef/turkey/pork with little alternatives not good for 3 days or more

the initial instruction to the hotel please turn off all the lights tv and other items when not in the room indicative of this heading

staff poorly trained so most of us had to take plates away for the second course. routine starter melon(only once or orange juice one night soup a special!!
tables so small uncomfortable and a colleague who stayed a week overlapping did not eat in he regarded as not very imaginative.

the military theme continues with notes on the locked sweets saying only take one., they were very basic and with only cream no other alternative.

no one in the lounge the music too loud. we indicated too loud the owner laughing increased the volume.

the young and inexperienced staff doing their best not trained
could not muster a poached egg after the same breakfast every day only sugar pops cereal no yoghurts.

the toast just warmed bread.

rooms basic

there is no sign of fruit or cheese or plain yoghurt.

the own said anything he could do to help he would sort but the experience of our group the contrary very few if any in the lounge

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Been on a 4 day stay with Just go holidays. It's a family run hotel the owners, Steve and Dawn make you feel very welcome. They provide value for money and as it is their own busines act on any queries quickly. The food is excellent, a carvery each night with an alternative if you wish, I went for the carvery the roast pork was exceptional. The setting of the hotel is breath taking in the heart of Old Shanklin with thatched cottages around it many of which are pubs or tearooms. The hotel itself is an old coaching inn that is why some of the rooms are quaint with odd shaped bathrooms.The entertainment is really good and on every night so if you don't want to go out there is no need to!

Room Tip: The hotel is an old coching inn so the rooms are all shapes and sizes as are the bathrooms, but that what makes it differnt from modern hotels.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here as a couple for 3 nights in early July 2013.
The Hotel is situated in a pretty area with many nice thatched pubs within a few yards. The beach and town are a few minutes walk away. Room was comfortable enough although a little small. Bed comfortable and quiet for sleeping. Rather disappointed that the en suite did not have a proper shower but merely a hose from the taps and no shower screen. Food quite good - carvery most evenings with an alternative choice. Breakfast buffet good and varied from day to day. There was musical entertainment each evening but not really our cup of tea. Wifi comes at £5 per stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a shower
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Holliers Hotel is an 18th C. former coaching inn sited in the prettiest part of Shanklin Old Village (think chocolate box thatched inns and cottages) and a ten minute stroll from the path leading down to the beach. As such do not expect a modern building laid out for the convenience of 21st C. guests. What you get is a clean, comfortable room with plenty of storage in a reasonable condition to be expected of a business attempting to maximise its occupancy. Do not join that company of reviewers which pays two-star rates and expects five-star accommodation and service. Experience the real world of competition for every guest in a recession.
What is outstanding is the food which is served carvery style with the option of alternative dishes. Forget Toby-style carveries and their competitors; in no way do they match the quality, quantity or variety of what is on offer here. Beef, pork, turkey, ham and lamb were all variously on offer with good-quality, fresh vegetables. At £7.95 inclusive of dessert, it was a bargain.
The nightly (free) entertainment varied from OK to very good - if on the loud side at times.
One point of note is that the Holliers website needs updating. The outside pool and paddling pool are no longer in use. although the inside pool still functions and was well-heated.
The acid test is would I go back to Holliers? The answer is 'yes' and without any doubt that I would have an enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteamingMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews