We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Just go holiday”
Review of Holliers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holliers Hotel
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another Just go holiday”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My Husband friend and I have just had a wonderful stay at the Holliers with Just go holidays hotel comfortable entertainment good must say we won the quiz whow wee great night. The owners Steve and Dawn have a great charisma with the guests.
Food was wonderful all home cooked no frozen food excelent, will deffently be going again Mavis David And Rita big thank you

Room Tip: well we were in room 24 on the front was ok shut windows at night because of traffic noise but open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ann1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    129
    51
    36
    38
See reviews for
68
171
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My partner and I have just returned from an Isle of Wight Delight Holiday from 7th to 11th February with Just Go Holidays.

Of all the holidays we have taken with Just Go, this was by far the most enjoyable despite the weather. This was due, in no small part, to the owners and staff at the Holliers Hotel.

The food was of an extremely high standard, plentiful and the entertainment excellent. Steve, Dawn and staff are proud of the service they provide and it is no surprise that they have received an award from Just Go.

The food is buffet style for breakfast and a carvery for dinner. Selection of veggies is varied and plentiful and the gravy is perfect!

The room size was large (room 9) with the addition of an enclosed balcony, complete with table and chairs. Ideal for sitting in the late afternoon sun.

Entertainment each night was of an extremely high standard with Simon Ledger and Glen Carroll being exceptionally good.

It was an excellent stay and one I shall be repeating.

Room Tip: Room 9 is large, has one double and one single bed and has the bonus of an enclosed balcony. As it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We returned today from Holliers after staying 5 days. We received a lovely welcome from the owners and staff. The hotel was clean and well run. Food was buffet breakfast and carvery or dish of day dinner, all very tasty, Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is in a lovely setting. We enjoyed a jacuzzi and swim in the indoor pool, there was also a sauna. We will return.

Room Tip: The hotel is a very old building and probably listed, it has character that newer ones lack. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We spent a weekend here with JustGo holidays. The room was comfortable with a very good bed and included a duvet to our delight-we dread sheets and blankets as they are so uncomfortable. We had plenty of cupboard and drawer space and the bathroom had a small bath with a shower over. I do have to say that the water pressure was awful so we did not even bother to try the shower. Running a bath took forever.
It was all clean except that cleaning forgot the skirting rail in the bathroom .It was very heavily coated with dust!

The only lounge area is the bar. There was entertainment every night which was not to our taste-it was allegedly music with a very loud thump,thump at every beat. Our room was on the first floor and we heard and felt everything. As the bar is quite small maybe the amplifiers are unnecessary.

The restaurant is a carvery. Dinner is served from 5.30-6.30 which is far too early. Allegedly the restaurant is open until 9 p.m. but it was all closed up as fast as anyone finished their meal.

Staff all helpful

Breakfast served all the usual things. The meat at the carvery was tasty and huge portions were served. Desserts are a bit of a disaster. The same desserts came out all four nights of our stay.

It does have to be borne in mind that all holiday companies beat Hoteliers down on price to a ridiculous level. I doubt if much profit was made as the price charged is so low so allowances must be made for hotels cutting corners although in this case the food was pretty good. I must confess the best meal was a vegetarian lasagne.

Plenty of parking-free for visitors.

Room Tip: There are floodlights at the side of the hotel over the restaurant which go off about 11pm. If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Girlbabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is to thank the Holliers' owner at Shanklin for his uncommon welcome on 31 December 2013.
We were left without dinner on New year's eve and - together with a kid aged 5 - urgently needed a solution. Holliers was managing a fully booked party for a big group of Welsh guests but without exitations accepted our small family of three into the party and at a very fair price, without any prior notice.
We could enjoy the buffet, the atmosphere and the warm welcome of the Isle of Wight together with many other satisfied guests and with the participation of Holliers' personnel.
Should you look for fun do not hesitate to book at Holliers, the winner in the "welcome championship".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FlavioP2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We have just returned from a four day break at the Holliers. Our room was very clean and a good size. The food was excellent, with a carvery or alternative option each night. Breakfast and dinner was self service, so you could have alot or a little to eat. We would go back to the Holliers anytime. Good service and lovely hosts. Lovely pretty area to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 395jerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 21st of Oct 2013 for four nights. It was a package holiday with "Just go Holidays" after being "sanitised" by Steve the owner, myself & my partner were allocated room "25". Our first impression was "broom cupboard", but we were delighted to se a hanging basket outside the window, on cleaning the condensation from the glass, the hanging basket turned out to be a large growth of weeds in the rain gutter. Later when we looked at the front of the hotel, all the gutters had weeds in them. The window frame was covered in black mould, and of course mould releases spoors, so not at all healthy. The bathroom was so small and cramped, there was more mould around the bath and on the wall tiles. The toilet was positioned between the bath and wall, in a space not more than 20inches wide, it would not be suitable for the larger person. There were no grab handles in the bath/shower, there was a electric towel rail over the bath, this is the only thing to steady yourself when getting in or out of the bath/shower, "Health & Safety" issue, an electric shock waiting to happen!!!. Because the bathroom is so small, to dry youself the door has to be open, not really ideal. The stool for use at the dressing table was filthy, when my partner used it she had to cover it with a towel. The television was of the tube type, it was on a bracket at the right height to hit your head on. The room did not smell very nice, it seems that because there is no ventilation in the bathroom, nasty smells can get into the room.
Needless to say we will be reluctant to book any more holidays with "Just go". It seems they are going down market.
The food was good, but you need a decent room to make a holiday.

Room Tip: Keep away from room "25"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#31 of 52 in Shanklin
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
842 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#12 of 52 in Shanklin
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holliers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holliers Hotel

Property: Holliers Hotel
Address: 5 Church Road, Shanklin PO37 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holliers Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Holliers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holliers Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing