We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why so many petty rules?”
Review of Holliers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holliers Hotel
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is right in the middle of Shanklin Old Village, so a very picturesque setting. And although not one of the thatched buildings, the style is in keeping with the area.

Our room (a double) was very small, and would probably work better as a single. The door to the bathroom banged against the side of the bed when it was opened, which made manoeuvring around difficult – anyone with mobility problems would have struggled. And it would have been nice to have been provided with bath products and maybe a pack or two of biscuits in the room. But there was plenty of storage space, and the bed was reasonably comfortable. As for the hot water, there was plenty of it, but dangerously hot (no I’m not exaggerating) and the boiler must have been above our room as there was a constant sound of a kettle boiling whenever someone drew some water off.

There is a TV lounge, but barely any lighting in there. We managed to find a switch which turned on just two of the lights (there were several others, but no switches), and had to sit close to the only window in order to see well enough to read. Nor was there anyone around to ask about this.

Similarly, the indoor pool is supposed to have a Jacuzzi attached to it, but again we could find nothing to work it. The pool itself is small but perfectly adequate for a hotel of this size. There are two changing cubicles, each with a small table which takes up most of the available space – we had to push them out to get enough room to change. We were told NOT to take towels from the bedroom to the pool area, and were charged a hire fee for identical ones, which seemed a bit over-the-top, especially as they were not large in the first place.

Prices in the bar were not steep, although some of our group went to the pub next door and told us the drinks there were a lot cheaper than in the hotel, so that’s probably a better option for a drink.

Our evening meals were both carvery-style, and quite nice. There is a touch of officiousness, however, when it comes to the desserts: little signs tell you to only take ONE. Why? Can the kitchen not produce more if someone wants extra? Petty and unnecessary, we felt.

Breakfast again was very pleasant, buffet-style with tea and coffee served at your table.

All in all, a decent enough hotel, but little changes here and there (lighting, desserts, pool towels, etc) would make a massive difference to the quality of service offered. And it would help if the owner treated his guests as guests, rather than laying down rules and regs left, right and centre.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwt186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Coach Holiday. We were greeted by the owner of the hotel who made us stand in line to have our hands sanitized with hand wash before we could check in, which we felt was insulting. We were then told rules and regs about smoking in the hotel. We were treated like naughty children. we wouldn't have minded so much if he applied the same sanitary conditions to him self. A few times he was spotted leaving the hotel wearing his 'chef's whites' that contravenes health and hygiene policy. Also the hotel welcomed non guests who did not have to have their hands sanitized. The hotel was clean, rooms are very small including the double bed, There was not enough room to swing a kitten let a lone a cat in the bathroom. We were allocated table numbers where we were told to sit for meals during the duration of our stay. The food is mediocre but acceptable. The rooms were very cold and only heated for a few hours in the evening, Beware the water is scalding hot! Drinks are cheaper in the pub next door 'The Village Inn' which is cosier and nicer to sit in than the hotel and the welcome friendlier with NO hand sanitizer before entry!!! The village in is also a B&B stay there if you can and not The Holliers.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lord0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Just come back from the holliers. Murder mystery stay. Overall very good. The pool is just enough for three people to swim in at a time as long as you all go in the same direction, but the water was warm and good. The water in the bathroom not good (room 29). Very hot in the shower or should I say slow dribble. The shower was bad, had a better one in the Sahara. But the rooms were very clean well done the room attendants, the food was excellent (home food nothing exotic) but hot, tasty and lots of it. Overall we had a cheap holiday which was well worth the money. Good actors on the murder mystery and friendly staff. Get the water sorted and sort out the other pool area and away you go! I would stay again even with these problems. And I still think the vicar done it!

Room Tip: Room 29 large but beware of the shower,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just Go holidays offered a coach trip to the Isle of Wight. Seemed like a good deal so booked it. This review is about the hotel we stayed in but I have to say that Simon, the coach driver, was excellent throughout the trip, and very knowledgeable.
Our first experience of the hotel was when the manager boarded the coach to welcome us - a nice touch. We were asked to take luggage to our room and return for the evening meal as it was already late.
We were assigned to a seat and told to sit in it for the duration of our stay. We were lucky as our fellow meal companions were chatty and amenable but others had problems with the arrangement. I think we should have been allowed to sit where we liked as we made friends during the week but could not converse with them at meal times.
Our room was below par. It was small and we could not open the window as it was painted shut. Condensation all day long and black mildew on the windows. The bathroom was the worst we have ever been in. The toilet was jammed between bath and wall. Had we been 'large' people it would have been difficult to sit down. We had to kneel down to have a shower - no wall attachment and the shower attachment was broken. The water was scalding hot (no warning!!). The sink was in the bedroom near the tea making facilities. Other people had nicer rooms but I heard several complaints similar to what I have described above. Pillows were the thinnest I had ever slept on and my request for another pillow (Declan) was forgotten.
However, the breakfasts were to die for!! The best full English, 4 days running, I have ever had. Top quality!! Cereals and fruit juice also available
Dinners were based on a carvery meal. Great for me as I love carveries and the meat portions were generous. Once there was a fish option (on mash and cabbage!!) and twice ham/gammon and eggs and chips. No-one went hungry.
Dawn and Steve were really nice hosts, but Declan has a lot to learn. A bit cocky, didn't listen to customers and needs to realise that pensioners don't like being addressed as 'Pal'.
Evening entertainment was OK - cancelled one night, but a good alternative offered.
The hotel is situated in a good position for buses and visiting the beach and the town. Lovely looking on the outside with picturesque thatched buildings all round.
Rooms need refurbishing - then I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Only saw a couple of other rooms and they seemed better than ours (18 for singleton, 25 not bad)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My Husband friend and I have just had a wonderful stay at the Holliers with Just go holidays hotel comfortable entertainment good must say we won the quiz whow wee great night. The owners Steve and Dawn have a great charisma with the guests.
Food was wonderful all home cooked no frozen food excelent, will deffently be going again Mavis David And Rita big thank you

Room Tip: well we were in room 24 on the front was ok shut windows at night because of traffic noise but open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ann1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My partner and I have just returned from an Isle of Wight Delight Holiday from 7th to 11th February with Just Go Holidays.

Of all the holidays we have taken with Just Go, this was by far the most enjoyable despite the weather. This was due, in no small part, to the owners and staff at the Holliers Hotel.

The food was of an extremely high standard, plentiful and the entertainment excellent. Steve, Dawn and staff are proud of the service they provide and it is no surprise that they have received an award from Just Go.

The food is buffet style for breakfast and a carvery for dinner. Selection of veggies is varied and plentiful and the gravy is perfect!

The room size was large (room 9) with the addition of an enclosed balcony, complete with table and chairs. Ideal for sitting in the late afternoon sun.

Entertainment each night was of an extremely high standard with Simon Ledger and Glen Carroll being exceptionally good.

It was an excellent stay and one I shall be repeating.

Room Tip: Room 9 is large, has one double and one single bed and has the bonus of an enclosed balcony. As it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kenonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We returned today from Holliers after staying 5 days. We received a lovely welcome from the owners and staff. The hotel was clean and well run. Food was buffet breakfast and carvery or dish of day dinner, all very tasty, Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is in a lovely setting. We enjoyed a jacuzzi and swim in the indoor pool, there was also a sauna. We will return.

Room Tip: The hotel is a very old building and probably listed, it has character that newer ones lack. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.2 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Mentone Hotel
Villa Mentone Hotel
#27 of 51 in Shanklin
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#21 of 51 in Shanklin
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holliers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holliers Hotel

Address: 5 Church Road, Shanklin PO37 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: £53 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holliers Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Holliers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holliers Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing