We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly hotel and wonderful hospitality.”
Review of Holliers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holliers Hotel
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly hotel and wonderful hospitality.”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here for four nights last week over the Easter holidays with two children.

Our first impressions of Holliers were good, as the reception area was spacious and pleasant. The owner gave us a very warm welcome, and we felt comfortable straight away.
We had booked two rooms, a double and a twin. There was a slight problem with the first twin room, so my husband went back down to reception to report this. We were quickly given a lovely alternative room with no fuss, and we were pleased that the two rooms were next to each other and shared a beautiful enclosed balcony, which overlooks old Shanklin village, with stunning views.
The rooms we had ( 8 and 9 ) were lovely. Very light and bright, and had some beautiful period features as you would hope for in such an old building. I was surprised to read some of the reviews on here complaining about windows etc... but obviously some visitors just don't 'get' the charm of an old listed building, or it's beautiful original sash windows - you don't get double glazing in those!
Granted, the bathrooms were small, with some older fittings.. but very clean, and what we'd expect for the price we were paying.
Rooms were serviced daily with fresh towels etc..

Breakfast was great - very nice traditional English. The food was a good standard, and the hosts very cheerful in the mornings!

Part of the reason we booked this hotel was the fact that it had an indoor pool, and we had our young daughter with us. We were really pleased with this facility - the pool is lovely, pool area clean and well maintained, and we used it every day.
We were impressed with the facilities that this hotel offers for the price you pay. Having a carvery meal available in the restaurant every evening was very handy for when we didn't want to go out for dinner (and very tasty!) There is a nice little childrens play area with swings as well as the swimming pool. The bar area is very nice, and they often have entertainment there in the evenings. We thought the hotel offers brilliant value for money.

For us, the best thing about this hotel was the hosts. It is a proper family-run establishment, and from the moment we arrived, we felt that it was genuinely important to the owners that we enjoyed our holiday, and our stay at their hotel. They took time to recommend places for us to visit. Every member of staff we encountered was friendly, helpful, and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Thank you Steve and family for a lovely stay, and for really helping to make our holiday special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    128
    50
    36
    38
See reviews for
67
169
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a typical seaside hotel, set back in the village. Friendly staff, clean, very quiet room and nice view, (no.26). All a bit creaky and bobbly wall paper but that adds to the charm. We were certainly made welcome and its good value for money. However, one point they may wish to address is the lack of an overhead shower. Doesn't have to be an all sing/all dancing one but preferably not one of these hand held things. Thats just a preference though. Of real concern was the difficulty we had with the hot water. All hotels should have got to grips with ensuring that a shower's temperature is not immediately variable if someone turns the cold tap on in the sink. We had real problems with this and it could have posed a risk to kids or the less able bodied who can't move quickly enough to get out of the way of seriously hot water.

That said, we enjoyed our stay and would consider going there again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Ask if its got a shower. Second floor room may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelliebean2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My holiday to the Holliers hotel was delightful ! Best hotel I've been to on the island ! Steve the boss was very helpful and helped me get up and down the stairs whenever I needed to as I have a walking stick and I have difficulty with stairs ! The bar man Declan was very kind and polite. He is always up for a chat when he's working in the restaurant or bar. The entertainment was brilliant and end at a suitable time.i could not say one bad thing about the hotel it's self or the staff.i will defiantly be back some time this year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I visit the Holliers every year with family for a mini break and are always made to feel apart of there family.
It's great value for money with superb entertainment with something different on most nights.
The owners and employees always go that extra step further as one of my family members has difficulties walking so someone's always on hand to help her.
The location couldn't be any better next to a lovely beach and great cosy pubs.
Reading some of the reviews on here has shocked me and think some people have nothing better to complain about. It's a shame some people don't see good value for money.
Look forward to our next trip later in the year.
I would recommend this to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fozzy200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foggy in Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

In all of my previous reviews I have given an honest appraisal of my personal observations. This one is no different.Travelled here with a coach company for a Murder Mystery weekend. Looks quite attrractive when you first pull up. Appearances are truly deceptive.. First we were kept outside while the owner (allegedly a Napoleon reincarnate with the same SMS problem) gave us his spiel about the so called wonderful top entertainment Turns out the 'entertainer on the Thurs was trading on a win on a talent show from some 20 years ago. Stick to singing coz you just ain't funny. Entertainment on the next night resorted to rascist and demeaning patter. Should remember that he is here for the audience entertainment and not the other way round. Telling a male audience member that he looks like Peggy Mitchell is not funny and offensive, and the telling of Rascist, demeaning and stereoyypical Irish jokes is not funny either. Truly low brow HI de Hi and as dated.
This owner does love to hear his own voice. First the spiel outside as though we were errant children, (Lectures on hand washing aside; I never saw him using them). Then another spiel inside Truly patronising. Then all his little rules. Master of all he surveys he says,, which judging by the overall condition of the hotel/ B&B ain't much at all, with damp rooms, mould and a rotten window on the front.
OUR ROOM; First impression not too bad until you look at the single glazed windows. This is where thick black mould vies with the paintwork for dominance. The mould is winning. Gawd knows how many nasty lung infections are waiting to happen in that littlel lot.
DISABLED TRAVELLERS BE AWARE. If you show up using a stick or other aid YOU WILL BE SINGLED OUT FOR SPECIAL TREATMENT by this man. The stairs have apparently been assessed as a health and safety hazard, so he will DEMAND that you sign a waiver (in front of other guests.) How dare he say that people using mobility aids are a health and safety risk! A nasty little man owning a nasty little hotel, allegedly. What ignorance and arrogance!! Invest in some safety equipment, spend some money, dont denigrate your guests because of your own failings to invest.
If you even dare to suggest that this practice is discriminatory you WILL BE TOLD TO SIGN IT OR GET OUT in front of other guests. Such a nice chap. Allegedly this man is to hospitality what Herod is to a kindergarten. (you get my drift) After my contretemp with the owner on Thurs night over discriminatory practices the heating to our room only suddenly stopped working all day Fri and Saturday until we left. Quite a coincidence dont you think? However it did highlight how damp our room was, (the pages in my book all wrinkled and the walls damp and cold to the touch.) and the plug in air freshener did nothing to hide the smell of damp and mould.
Further to this as you go into the hotel from outside the smell of old grease will assail you and the floor is sticky..
Breakfast, Fried eggs were rock hard and swimming in oil, and because no staff were in attendance at the buffet, (and nowhere else for that matter) the top layers of bacon had congealed fat on them. Truly wonderful.. Bar prices exceptionally high compared to next door, combined with surly unsmiling waiting staff. Would have liked to attach my photos of the mould but a technical hitch prevented this
All in all the worst hotel/B&B I have ever stayed in 50 years of global travel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank smarticus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

....Out! Having found a brilliant B & B, we wanted some D(inner). Fancied one of the 'traditional' Pubs listed for Shanklin Old Town, and were thinking of the Village Inn, with its Carvery. Then spotted Holliers Hotel next door, with not only a Carvery, but FREE sweets - the clincher. Big mistake! Carvery advertised as 'until 7,30', but at around 6.30 only two of the four 'roasts' (that's what Carveries are about for the benefit of our foreign visitors...) were still on offer, and the beef was just about to yield up its last slice. So turkey it had to be: thank goodness there was plenty of cranberry sauce to help it down. Vegetables OK, roast potatoes v, good, Yorkshires (the puddings, not the county) huge and tasty, but gravy... almost chewy! The 'free' puddings were a tad on the small size, and I suspect I could have been tarred and feathered (or had my hands sanitised by the Manager...) if they'd noticed I'd added a couple of peach slices from a bowl I don't think we were meant to spot. Coffee to finish? Forget it! As soon as one laid one's eating irons down for a quick swill of beer it was 'have you finished?' from the waitress, and we noticed that the other tables were similarly harassed, leaving us as the last diners as they exited the room. Patently obvious that we had overstayed our 'welcome' and the last remaining member of staff's 'goodbye' as we exited (at 7 p.m....) rang a tad hollow. Did we leave a tip...what do you think?

As others have noted, the beer was cheaper in the Village Inn, and the welcome a lot warmer. Caveat Carvery Hollierensis.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is right in the middle of Shanklin Old Village, so a very picturesque setting. And although not one of the thatched buildings, the style is in keeping with the area.

Our room (a double) was very small, and would probably work better as a single. The door to the bathroom banged against the side of the bed when it was opened, which made manoeuvring around difficult – anyone with mobility problems would have struggled. And it would have been nice to have been provided with bath products and maybe a pack or two of biscuits in the room. But there was plenty of storage space, and the bed was reasonably comfortable. As for the hot water, there was plenty of it, but dangerously hot (no I’m not exaggerating) and the boiler must have been above our room as there was a constant sound of a kettle boiling whenever someone drew some water off.

There is a TV lounge, but barely any lighting in there. We managed to find a switch which turned on just two of the lights (there were several others, but no switches), and had to sit close to the only window in order to see well enough to read. Nor was there anyone around to ask about this.

Similarly, the indoor pool is supposed to have a Jacuzzi attached to it, but again we could find nothing to work it. The pool itself is small but perfectly adequate for a hotel of this size. There are two changing cubicles, each with a small table which takes up most of the available space – we had to push them out to get enough room to change. We were told NOT to take towels from the bedroom to the pool area, and were charged a hire fee for identical ones, which seemed a bit over-the-top, especially as they were not large in the first place.

Prices in the bar were not steep, although some of our group went to the pub next door and told us the drinks there were a lot cheaper than in the hotel, so that’s probably a better option for a drink.

Our evening meals were both carvery-style, and quite nice. There is a touch of officiousness, however, when it comes to the desserts: little signs tell you to only take ONE. Why? Can the kitchen not produce more if someone wants extra? Petty and unnecessary, we felt.

Breakfast again was very pleasant, buffet-style with tea and coffee served at your table.

All in all, a decent enough hotel, but little changes here and there (lighting, desserts, pool towels, etc) would make a massive difference to the quality of service offered. And it would help if the owner treated his guests as guests, rather than laying down rules and regs left, right and centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwt186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#30 of 52 in Shanklin
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#19 of 52 in Shanklin
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#12 of 52 in Shanklin
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#35 of 52 in Shanklin
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holliers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holliers Hotel

Property: Holliers Hotel
Address: 5 Church Road, Shanklin PO37 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holliers Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holliers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holliers Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing