We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holliers Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Daish's Hotel(Shanklin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clifton(Shanklin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
130
136
54
39
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
136
54
39
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano barsunday carverycoaching innlovely carveryevening mealcoach tripisle of wightshanklin old villagefamily run hotelbit datedfull englishowners and staffnightly entertainmentyorkshire puddingfriendly hotelindoor poollovely break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed here a few years back and I must say it was the Piano Bar that drew us back. Accommodation is fair to good but I know they were under renovation at the time. Restaurant was good quality and it was fight to get into the carvery at times. We had holidayed here as a couple and with children and again the family room was ok. I think if you remember that it is the age it is you will find it a reasonable stay for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bambi3537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I travelled to the IoW with friends for a 'Murder Mystery' weekend. What a disaster! On arrival at the hotel we were subjected to a 'speech' on the coach by the proprietor which rather resembled a school outing. The room allocated to us was disgusting with condensation on the windows which had congealed into black filth at the bottom. You had to walk sideways to access the toilet in the so called 'en suite'. There was a shower over the bath but no curtain or screen so it was difficult for anyone who did not wish to have a bath (there were no handles to help get out of the bath if you managed to get in anyway so consequently we had to use baby wipes to keep ourselves reasonably clean before we could 'escape'. The food was very, very average and the waiting staff in the so called restaurant were sullen and not very helpful. Drinks were excessively expensive for such a downmarket establishment. The entertainment was just a 'noise' and we did not stay very long as it was impossible to have a conversation with companions. The TV in the room was tied on to the wall fixing with, what looked like webbing but, at least it did work after a fashion. The proprietors were. frankly, rude and unhelpful and the whole ambience of the hotel was disgusting.

Room Tip: Just don't bother.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here for four nights last week over the Easter holidays with two children.

Our first impressions of Holliers were good, as the reception area was spacious and pleasant. The owner gave us a very warm welcome, and we felt comfortable straight away.
We had booked two rooms, a double and a twin. There was a slight problem with the first twin room, so my husband went back down to reception to report this. We were quickly given a lovely alternative room with no fuss, and we were pleased that the two rooms were next to each other and shared a beautiful enclosed balcony, which overlooks old Shanklin village, with stunning views.
The rooms we had ( 8 and 9 ) were lovely. Very light and bright, and had some beautiful period features as you would hope for in such an old building. I was surprised to read some of the reviews on here complaining about windows etc... but obviously some visitors just don't 'get' the charm of an old listed building, or it's beautiful original sash windows - you don't get double glazing in those!
Granted, the bathrooms were small, with some older fittings.. but very clean, and what we'd expect for the price we were paying.
Rooms were serviced daily with fresh towels etc..

Breakfast was great - very nice traditional English. The food was a good standard, and the hosts very cheerful in the mornings!

Part of the reason we booked this hotel was the fact that it had an indoor pool, and we had our young daughter with us. We were really pleased with this facility - the pool is lovely, pool area clean and well maintained, and we used it every day.
We were impressed with the facilities that this hotel offers for the price you pay. Having a carvery meal available in the restaurant every evening was very handy for when we didn't want to go out for dinner (and very tasty!) There is a nice little childrens play area with swings as well as the swimming pool. The bar area is very nice, and they often have entertainment there in the evenings. We thought the hotel offers brilliant value for money.

For us, the best thing about this hotel was the hosts. It is a proper family-run establishment, and from the moment we arrived, we felt that it was genuinely important to the owners that we enjoyed our holiday, and our stay at their hotel. They took time to recommend places for us to visit. Every member of staff we encountered was friendly, helpful, and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Thank you Steve and family for a lovely stay, and for really helping to make our holiday special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a typical seaside hotel, set back in the village. Friendly staff, clean, very quiet room and nice view, (no.26). All a bit creaky and bobbly wall paper but that adds to the charm. We were certainly made welcome and its good value for money. However, one point they may wish to address is the lack of an overhead shower. Doesn't have to be an all sing/all dancing one but preferably not one of these hand held things. Thats just a preference though. Of real concern was the difficulty we had with the hot water. All hotels should have got to grips with ensuring that a shower's temperature is not immediately variable if someone turns the cold tap on in the sink. We had real problems with this and it could have posed a risk to kids or the less able bodied who can't move quickly enough to get out of the way of seriously hot water.

That said, we enjoyed our stay and would consider going there again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Ask if its got a shower. Second floor room may be quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nelliebean2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My holiday to the Holliers hotel was delightful ! Best hotel I've been to on the island ! Steve the boss was very helpful and helped me get up and down the stairs whenever I needed to as I have a walking stick and I have difficulty with stairs ! The bar man Declan was very kind and polite. He is always up for a chat when he's working in the restaurant or bar. The entertainment was brilliant and end at a suitable time.i could not say one bad thing about the hotel it's self or the staff.i will defiantly be back some time this year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews