We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Clifton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Clifton
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

We came to the Island to get married and stayed at the Hotel Clifton. Tracy, Steve, Graham and Pauline, the Proprietors, made our Wedding Day extra special.

The Hotel was lovely and the service was way beyond our expectations.

We would recommend this Hotel to anyone of any age, as our party covered 3 generations, and all felt comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iain98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    98
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
52
293
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

We stumbled upon this Hotel, almost by accident as we had booked another (which will remain nameless) but knew we had to change as it did not suit us. It is situated in a quiet road overlooking the esplanade. The owners of the Clifton were friendly and courteous to us from the moment of arrival. The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and looked to us as if they had been recently refurbished. If you can choose then book a seaview as it is worth every penny of the supplement and the thoughtful owners provide binoculars to enjoy it even more. The breakfasts are big with plenty of choice and cooked to your order. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

We booked late on a whim thinking we would end up with the dregs. Not so. I was smiling as soon as we got in the room. Straight out to the balcony, what a view. The bed was big and comfortable. Two mattress zipped together. The en-suite shower was big with good presser and water as hot as you like.
We walked down to the sea every day and into town to eat at night. Nothing was to far to get too. A bit hilly but it was easy.
Breakfast plenty of choice and good size portions provided. Always came out having eaten to much. Good quality as well.
We didn’t want for anything and can't wait to go back.
Owners very friendly and good humored.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thruxtonrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

Booked in a rush and didn't realise it was a two star until I got the confirmation so with a liitle trepidation we turned up. What a surprise. Warm welcome. Spotlessly clean room, good size and with a side view of the sea. Lovely family atmosphere, with the staff always on hand to help.They had a fantastic sense of humour and that made the stay even more enjoyable. Breakfast is good wholesome and cooked to order. Some odd comments about Graham have been made. Just ignore them, he is very attentive and has a wicked sense of humour - gets your day off to a smiley start! We would thoroughly recommend the Clifton. If you can, make time for a drink in the garden - views are fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

My partner and I have just returned from a long weekend at The Clifton Hotel What a great find. We booked a premier seaview room and were amazed with the beautiful view and the size of the room. Well worth the extra money to gaze out and watch the cruise ships and container ships going by. The staff are fantastic, so friendly and they really made us feel welcome. The breakfasts were great with lots of choice. My only 2 gripes are that that the room did get quite hot at night and we couldn't open the windows, hence they were dripping with condensation inside when we woke up, we had to open the french doors and also the tv reception was awfull, but apart from these minor things, we would definately go back.
We ate at the Purple Mango Indian restaurant and had a brilliant meal. Don't know what all the negative comments about this place were about, as we found the staff to be really good, and it was cheaper that what we normally pay for an Indian meal.
We also ate at Pavarotti's {Italian] and this was also excellant.

Don't bother going to see The Needles as this cost us £4 just to park the car, the chairlift wasn't working which is the one thing we went there for, and you couldn't even walk to the beach as that was all closed off. The place is a rip off and very tacky. Nothing there for adults at all, and what there is you have to pay extra for. A real rip-off!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahd0rset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

We first visited the Clifton hotel in July and returned again for a visit in August. The owners are just wonderful friendly and hard working people. (This is a family run hotel.) They are there whenever you need anything, but also leave you to relax and enjoy your stay in such a beautiful and peaceful location. Breakfast is top class, Everything is fresh, cooked to perfection and comes out hot! Coffee is freshly made and topped up as you require. No need to ask. We stayed in a seaview room and the sunrise was amazing.. Lovely clean hotel. Other guests were all friendly and just as happy with their stay as we was. Rooms cleaned daily, Tea and coffee in ample supplies was topped up daily in the room. Lovely garden to sit out and enjoy a glass of wine in the evening, or a coffee after breakfast. The hotel is in an excellent location, Shanklin is a very pretty village and the beach is gorgeous. The steamer inn on the seafront has great food, in huge portions at reasonable value, The tea room in Shanklin old village is a taste of time gone by, cream tea in the garden is divine. The crab pub in the old village is also lovely but in high season you need to eat early as they sell out quickly due to limited amounts of food on the menu. The food is very good though.
If you go to visit arreton, try and go to arreton village and the shops there, the dairymans daughter pub is very good for an ale, or two!, some great craft shops and some old style penny machines to play. Very entertaining. The isle of wight has plenty to offer to all ages and there is always something going on . Dont miss the steam railway, It`s like going back in time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

We just had to return to theis wonderful Victorian house that is now a hotel. Some of the features remain but it was for the friendly owners who still seem to be able to manage when it is full. We saw, for the firat time an origonal fireplace in the room. We seem to be able to do the rounds staying in a different room each time. Breakfast continues to be far more than either of us can eat and with the evening meals too we managed to put on a few pounds, but that is what a holiday is for. The beach has got a blue flag once again, so we can go in the sea with confidence. The sun shone every day as usual, forget the weathermans reports. Not a lot of places were green, so it shows how good the weather is. The greens are kept in good order though and golf is really like a foreign country with the scenic views. We have booked for next year so we are already looking forward to that visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The Mekon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton

Property: The Clifton
Address: 1 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#12 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clifton 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton’s privileged location on the cliff top offers an amazing sea view and makes it an ideal retreat for those in search of tranquility. The Conservatory Bistro offers a stunning view of the bay which can also be enjoyed from the lovely garden offering the perfect visual tonic to relax and revitalise, perhaps with a good book and an English Cream Tea, or refreshments from the licensed bar. Local is Best……with prime farming land all around us and a host of specialist growers and producers making the most of it, we usually have access to plenty of fresh seasonal fruit and vegetables, as well as quality fish and meat. The garden opens out to Keats Green and the lovely walk between Shanklin and Sandown (part of the Isle of Wight Coastal Path) with fantastic views across Sandown Bay. This also leads to the famous Shanklin Chine with a pathway down to the sandy beaches. Within easy reach by foot are the picturesque Shanklin Old Village with its thatched roofs, and the beautiful Rylstone Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Shanklin
Clifton Hotel Shanklin
The Clifton Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing