We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely view shame about the hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Clifton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clifton
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Lovely view shame about the hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here for one night whilst on a touring holiday of Southern England and the isle of Wight. Booked and paid for a superior room via the internet only to be told when we arrived we had been given a free upgrade. For the price we paid ie £110 per night I would have expected a sea view anyway! True the view was spectacular but the room was shabby and dated and I felt we had travelled back to the 1970 s. When I compare the other guest houses and hotels we stayed in The Clifton fell far short in terms of value and service. Breakfast was adequate with a little fresh fruit but the new owner was so keen to point out his wonderful view I felt he neglected to see the hotel's shortcomings. The garden was beautiful but unkempt and the whole place felt in desperate need of fresh paint. Presumably these deficiencies occurred under the previous owner but we felt the new owner was either unaware or uninterested in customer feedback.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheshirecate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beesondave, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
I can in the main agree with this review, however it is a little unfair to expect us to completely correct years without proper attention to the decor after just a few weeks as new owners, as was explained at the time. It is very difficult to redecorate a hotel full of paying guests! We have a renovation plan in place and by next season I am sure that the hotel won't look so ''1970's'' In fact all the public areas will be transformed, and a start will have been made on the bedrooms.

We are rightly enthusiastic about the fabulous views, as given the deficiencies in decor this at present is our main selling point. As for the breakfast, ''a little fresh fruit'' consists of fresh pineapple and melon slices with strawberries and a basket of whole fruits for guests to enjoy all through the day, this is followed by the usual selection of grapefruit, prunes, cereals and pastries and a large menu of cooked dishes including scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, homecooked ham and eggs, a choice of omelettes, and of course a full English using local produce.
Hard guests indeed to please !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    98
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
52
293
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Been here before, but the owners have changed.

Bit over friendly, service different to previous, evening meals not really there.

Ok but will not return

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank The Mekon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
289 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were a family party with four rooms, staying two nights over the weekend mid July 2011, and the hotel was quite full. The new owners this year have renovated the hotel nicely, all rooms comfortable (some double rooms had bunk-beds for children) though there were some small teething issues such as no wifi broadband, not really a problem, and a blocked washbasin pipe which was quickly fixed. Breakfast was full English, or salmon omelette and other egg variations.
Nearby within walking distance are some great pubs for food, The Steamer Inn being particularly friendly and enjoyable with huge portions of beer battered cod.
Overall a very pleasant stay, and we would recommend the hotel to others as we believe the new owners are making great improvements.

Room Tip: Front sea-facing rooms with balcony are great if available, so book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beesondave, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for your honest review, we are starting to settle in a bit more now after a hectic first few weeks. You will be pleased to know we have had a new wi-fi router installed now along with a laptop for guests to make use of. It was a pleasure to have your family group here for a few days, hope we see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

Fabulous setting-some great sea view rooms, but Graham models himself too much on Basil Fawlty to be funny.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogawithmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

The friendly welcome, the spacious & clean room.
the lovely views from the restaurant & conservatory.
Breakfast was ample and tasty put us in good condition for our island exploration.
The thing we didn't like was leaving, like all good things they have to end.
we would strongly recommend this hotel for visitors to Shanklin

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stu007art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor we opted for the Clifton for a 1 night break to have a day in Shanklin and enjoy the beach.

The hotel is positioned beautifully on a hilltop overlooking the sea, the room was very clean and had everything you need (including a hairdryer which I always forget!) It is the perfect place for a wander down into Shanklin and a stones through away from a beautiful beach.

The breakfast was superb with a choice of ceareals/toast/tea/coffee/juice and a wonderful full English. I look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atafrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

We came to the Island to get married and stayed at the Hotel Clifton. Tracy, Steve, Graham and Pauline, the Proprietors, made our Wedding Day extra special.

The Hotel was lovely and the service was way beyond our expectations.

We would recommend this Hotel to anyone of any age, as our party covered 3 generations, and all felt comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iain98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton

Property: The Clifton
Address: 1 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#12 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clifton 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton’s privileged location on the cliff top offers an amazing sea view and makes it an ideal retreat for those in search of tranquility. The Conservatory Bistro offers a stunning view of the bay which can also be enjoyed from the lovely garden offering the perfect visual tonic to relax and revitalise, perhaps with a good book and an English Cream Tea, or refreshments from the licensed bar. Local is Best……with prime farming land all around us and a host of specialist growers and producers making the most of it, we usually have access to plenty of fresh seasonal fruit and vegetables, as well as quality fish and meat. The garden opens out to Keats Green and the lovely walk between Shanklin and Sandown (part of the Isle of Wight Coastal Path) with fantastic views across Sandown Bay. This also leads to the famous Shanklin Chine with a pathway down to the sandy beaches. Within easy reach by foot are the picturesque Shanklin Old Village with its thatched roofs, and the beautiful Rylstone Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Shanklin
Clifton Hotel Shanklin
The Clifton Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing