We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clifton
Nearby Hotels
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fernbank(Shanklin)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fawley(Shanklin)(Great Value!)
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Channel View Hotel(Shanklin)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
364
119
20
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
119
20
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier suitesea viewsnug barisle of wightshanklin chinethe clifflovely hotelexcellent locationold villagecold buffetshort breakpretty gardenfull englishcooked foodbreakfasts were excellentcoastal pathtop floor
Filter
Updating list...
466 - 471 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We enjoyed a short stay at the Clifton Hotel. It was comfortable with friendly staff who always made us feel welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. Our bedroom was spotless and the food [ we had breakfast only] was extremely filling and enjoyable.
A superb position overlooking the coast and most of the rooms had sea view.
The hotel is extremely convenient for the beach, village of Shanklin and surrounding areas. On site car parking is very convenient with access day or night. Due to the hotel's location there is no noise and it is very peaceful. No disturbances whatsoever.
I would recommend this hotel as ideal.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are mainly on the front. Excellant location
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollybobs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Firstly the new owners had only been here 10 weeks but are well versed at making you happy, nothing is too much trouble, David the owner welcomed us to our room, explained all the hotel times, gave us some pointers where to go and we were off. The room, a twin, was very clean and tidy, the beds comfortable and not a bit of noise perpetrated from either upstairs or the road. Shower was good, very hot but totally controllable and adjustable. The breakfast food was a good mix of fruit cereals and a darn good choice of cooked breakfast fare. For me unlimited pots of coffee from the superb Glennis was brilliant, and so was she.
We only had one evening meal in our hotel a set 3 courses for about £16 and each course had 3 - 4 different choices. There is a Bar on site which is well stocked and David is always prepared to rustle you up a snack at short notice if you come in late with the bar open.
One of the staff did mention that there were plans to replace all the mattresses with Memory foam, take note other hoteliers if this happens then David will get my custom year in year out, a good nights sleep is so important that it should never be underestimated by hotels.

Room Tip: There is so much to do on the island that any room here is perfect no need to opt for a seaview as you won't be in it long.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoblePasimov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed here towards the end of Cowes week. Excellent staff. Beautiful grounds & positioning with wonderful views of the sea and 5 minutes walk from the Shanklin beach. Was taken over 6 weeks prior to my stay, and new owners are planning on improving already pleasant surroundings. Great value for money and wonderful breakfast! Many thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuildfordAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We have stayed at the Clifton as an extended family group, booking three rooms at a time, on several occasions and this year's visit did not disappoint. The new owners greeted us by name on arrival and were extremely friendly and helpful. We immediately noticed the new signage and the generally smartened up image of the hotel. They now offer a comprehensive and well thought out evening menu. Breakfast is excellent-good food and individual choices accommodated. The hotel is extremely clean. The bedrooms have comfortable beds, modern shower rooms and lots of wardrobe/drawer space. The panoramic view of the bay is wonderful. We quite like the quirky old feel to this lovely hotel but look forward to returning to a new look. We feel confident that the owners will be sympathetic to the character of this great building.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hedgehog001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed here for a night in early August on a tour of South UK. Were pleasantly surprised with the room for the price we payed and the views from the lounge were spectacular. The breakfast was superb, delicious bacon and mushrooms. On site parking and easy access to the village. New owners were very friendly and gathered they were in the process of renovating.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews