We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a home from home (with extra treats!)”
Review of The Clifton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clifton
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Clifton in Shanklin for my boyfriend's birthday and had such a lovely time. We had a really nice room with a gorgeous sea view, it was very clean and comfortable, and we felt really at home throughout our stay. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the food absolutely delicious (especially the breakfast!) and we were sad to leave. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in the area.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend asking for a room with a sea view as this really gave a special touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you for giving us such a great review.
We are so glad you felt at home with us on your special occasion and so pleased you enjoyed our delicious food (unfortunately I have to taste it and I totally agree!!). We pride ourselves on clean, comfortable rooms and our wide variety at breakfast, so it's good to hear we are doing it right!.
We hope to see you again in the future. Sara & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had a lovely weekend break and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable with great views overlooking the sea. We enjoyed lovely a superb evening meal and a good selection for breakfast. A great relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you for leaving us a great review.
We are always happy to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us, it definitely helps when you have the sea view and the helpful, friendly staff we have here, I will pass on your comments to the team and Carys (the chef).
We hope to see you again at the Clifton. Sara & the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We received a friendly welcome from David who showed us to our lovely room,which was clean and comfortable, it also had a fantastic sea view.A very good choice of breakfast which set us up for the day.Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28sandrak28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are so pleased you found your room to be comfortable and clean, our team work hard to keep up the good standards. Breakfast certainly does set you up for the day, we ensure there is plenty of choice to cater for everyone's tastes. We hope to welcome you back to the Clifton in the future. Sara & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I am pleased to say that I can confirm the reviews. The location of the hotel is superb - wonderful views of the sea. It was very clean and the breakfast selection was excellent. We also had a very enjoyable dinner at the hotel on one of the nights of our stay. The service was friendly and the bed was comfortable. We were especially impressed with the lovely fluffy white towels! The only one slight niggle we had is that it did get quite cold in the room at night and first thing in the morning, although the weather was unseasonably cold for the time of year!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thank you for your great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your comments onto the rest of the team.
Sorry to hear you found it cold in the room on a morning and evening, we do have extra blankets and a heater on request, although we hope there will be no need for that for the rest of the season as the sun is starting to come out!.
We hope to see you again. Sara & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Great hotel; excellent quiet location; lovely sea view; high quality food with a range of choices; comfortable bed. Need I say more? We stayed 3 nights on a mini-break. We would definitely go back. The helpful and friendly staff added to a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - worth paying a bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

You need not say anymore!, that's a great review, thank you.We are so please you had an enjoyable stay with us and I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team.
We look forward to seeing you again. Sara & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Chose this Hotel for a three night break due to tripadviser reviews. Pleased to confirm the reviews were absolutely correct. Hotel is in an excellent position and our bay view room was lovely. View exceptional, especially to wake up to on a sunny morning. Bed was very, very comfortable and whole hotel spotlessly clean. Breakfasts first class with more choices than we have found before in other similar size hotels/B & Bs. Ate evening meal on one night - really, really good - can quite see why the hotel is getting such good reports about it's food. Staff were all lovely and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Kept us informed regarding ferries etc as very bad, windy, wet weather arrived for our last day and our journey home! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again whenever on the Island.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms worth every extra penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmik43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Thank you for leaving us a great review.
We are glad you liked your Bay View room and it certainly makes a good start to the day when you wake up to the sun shining (probably the only day that week it was!) followed by a wide variety at breakfast.
The girls work hard to keep the cleanliness up to a good standard, I will pass your comments onto them.
Dave insists we have the weather displayed at reception so our guests can plan their day and trip home accordingly, glad it was useful.
I hope the crossing was'nt too bad and has'nt put you off visiting us again.
Sara & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

Good location and lovely sea views from the dining room. Good selection for breakfast with a wide variety of cooked breakfasts as well as cereal, fruit and pastries too. Twin room was clean and suited our needs, however it was a little chilly, what with all the arctic weather recently, make sure you ask for extra blankets in room9. Would stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antigraviy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Thank you for leaving us a review.
We are pleased you enjoyed the views and breakfast experience, we try to cater for everyones tastes by having a wide selection of hot and cold food to choose from.
Sorry to hear your room was a little chilly, we do have heaters available on request for future reference and we have since put extra blankets in the room.
We look forward to welcoming you back at The Clifton. Sara & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
904 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
413 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton

Address: 1 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#12 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £73 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clifton 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton's privileged location on the Shanklin cliff top offers an amazing sea view and makes it an ideal retreat for those in search of tranquility. The stunning view of Shanklin bay can be enjoyed from the lounge and bar, where light meals are available all day. We also cater for gluten free diets. In the award winning cliff top garden you can also take advantage of the fabulous sea view, warm Isle of Wight sunshine, wonderful sea air, and refreshments from the licensed bar. Local is Best……with prime farming land all around us and a host of specialist growers and producers making the most of it, we usually have access to plenty of fresh seasonal fruit and vegetables, as well as quality fish and meat. The garden opens out to Keats Green and the lovely walk between Shanklin and Sandown (part of the Isle of Wight Coastal Path) with fantastic views across Sandown Bay. This also leads to the famous Shanklin Chine with a pathway down to the sandy beaches. Within easy reach by foot are the picturesque Shanklin Old Village with its thatched roofs, and the beautiful Rylstone Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Shanklin
Clifton Hotel Shanklin
The Clifton Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing