We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab weekend”
Review of The Clifton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Toddington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fab weekend”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Had a girls weekend in May 2013 and had a lovely break. On arrival we had a warm welcome, the rooms were spotlessly clean and the complementary bathroom goodies were fab. The bedding was crisp white and the selection of tea's, coffee's and hot chocolate was a pleasant treat. The one and only niggle was there wasn't a coat hook on the back of the door, but this is just a minor detail. The Clifton has spectacular views over the solent and is within walking distance of the very pretty Shanklin old village, everything is at hand. We had our evening meal at the Clifton and the menu combined traditional with something a little different, presentation was excellent as was the service. In the morning we woke to a very inviting breakfast, the choice was superb and the cooked Full English is a must. Already making plans to return this summer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Clifton, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thanks for a fab review. We are delighted you had a fab weekend with us!.
The bathroom goodies were implemented this season so it's good to hear that they are appreciated. The hooks on the back of the doors is something we will definitely look into.
Carys always ensures the menu has traditional and eclectic choices so we can cater for everyone's tastes, the same with the wide variety at breakfast, we are pleased you enjoyed it.
I will certainly pass on your comments to the rest of the team.
We hope to see you soon. Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    106
    16
    3
    8
See reviews for
60
308
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed for two weeks around the Late Spring Bank Holiday and booked through the internet. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - David, Carys, Graham and all the other staff were wonderfully welcoming and attentive, even catering for my wife's allergy to man-made fabrics with the bedding. The room was very clean and comfortable and if we have one small niggle, in retrospect, this relates to the wardrobe and drawer space, which we felt was a little too limited (keeping some clothes in our suitcases and nowhere to keep books and magazines tidily). Nevertheless we managed and this did not spoil our stay at all; we didn't even mention it at checkout (sorry!). The help with moving our luggage up and down the stairs was much appreciated.

We liked the terrace and garden - spectacular sea views over the Channel. The food at both breakfast and dinner was 'to die for' and we have already made a provisional return booking for next year.

Thanks again David, Carys, Graham and all at the Clifton for a wonderful, relaxing holiday. We shall certainly recommend you to our friends,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Clifton, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the food and views. We take on board your comments about the storage, normally our guests stay for shorter period's of time than yourselves and the storage has always been adequate although we will be looking into this for next year.
I will pass on you comments to the rest of the team and Graham will be ready and waiting to assist with your luggage in May!.
See you in 2014, hope you have a good summer. Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I visitedthis hotel on a business trip late may 2013. Straight away I got a great welcome and got told that they had upgraded my room as the hotel wasnt busy. Got shown to my room which had a balcony with fab views over the solent along with its own telescope. The room was really comfortable but I did have major problems with the bathroom. I couldn't get the shower hot for however long I ran it for and ended up having a 10 second run through.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Clifton, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologise for the problems you had with the hot water this was due to the boiler being on a timer, we have now adjusted the settings for them to come on earlier enabling early morning showers.
We hope to see you again. Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Although we are lucky to live on the Isle of Wight, we decided on a night away for our wedding anniversary and chose the Clifton. It is a lovely hotel, great views of the sea and a garden and deck where you can relax with a drink or a meal. Great staff, a lovely room, great food and we'll be going back next year. Thank you :o)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Clifton, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you for choosing the Clifton as your anniversary treat and thank you for the great review.
We are so pleased you had a relaxing time with us and enjoyed the food and the views.
Why wait till next year, we are open to non residents for light lunches, evening meals or even just drinks in the garden!.
We hope to see you again soon, Sara & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Clifton Hotel and want to say a big thank you to David, Carys and the rest of the staff for making our stay most enjoyable. We had a standard room which was very clean and welcoming, with everything you could wish for. We booked on a half board basis and were very happy with the breakfast choice and the evening meals offered. The staff were attentive and friendly and tried their best to please. We would definitely return and next time book a sea view room. We only booked at the last minute so took the last room available. David kindly sorted out booking the car ferry for us at very short notice - very impressed! Have stayed in other hotels in the area and this is by far the best. You will not be disappointed!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Clifton, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
What a great review, thank you.
David & Cary have certainly turned this place around since taking it over last year and have really gone out of their way to ensure our guests have the best possible stay and be able to relax, revitalise and enjoy the delicious food on offer, as do the rest of team who go that extra mile. I will certainly pass on your lovely comments.
We hope to welcome you to The Clifton again and don't forget your 10% discount.
Sara & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Booked for 2 nights as going to Shanklin Theatre on Saturday evening. The staff were very polite and efficient and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and comfortable and the food and service excellent.
Would not hesitate to recommend to others a delightful hotel with superb sea views.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Clifton, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased you had a great stay with us and found the food and service to be excellent. The Bistro is open to non residents so feel free to come and dine with us again. I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team.
Sara & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Had a great weekend at the Clifton Hotel, 6 of us were travelling together we booked the standard rooms which were fine for the base we wanted. All very clean, staff extremely friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. Great breakfast and food as mentioned in many of the reviews. Would def go again and recommend to others. location on the cliffs onlooking the beach was fantastic.

The local town of Shanklin was only a few minutes walk away, great little pubs and shops. It was one of the nicest towns on the island to be honest.... We went to Fine Nemmet for dinner one night, ( in the toen centre) very new but the food was absolutely fantastic, you can tell the chef was originally form the Dorchester Hotel, only down side was that we had to vacate the table early for 2nd sitting and we did have time to finish really... One thing to check if your booking, but it is really worth it for the food.

All in all a great weekend.

Room Tip: Standard room is fine for a base, if you want the whole experience upgrade to get a view it's we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at The Clifton, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thanks for the great review. The team work very hard to ensure all our guests are happy, shame you had a not so good experience at the other place. I will pass on your comments to the chef and team and we hope to see you again maybe with more friends!.
Sara & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
387 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton

Property: The Clifton
Address: 1 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#12 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clifton 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton's privileged location on the Shanklin cliff top offers an amazing sea view and makes it an ideal retreat for those in search of tranquility. The stunning view of Shanklin bay can be enjoyed from the lounge and bar, where light meals are available all day. We also cater for gluten free diets. In the award winning cliff top garden you can also take advantage of the fabulous sea view, warm Isle of Wight sunshine, wonderful sea air, and refreshments from the licensed bar. Local is Best……with prime farming land all around us and a host of specialist growers and producers making the most of it, we usually have access to plenty of fresh seasonal fruit and vegetables, as well as quality fish and meat. The garden opens out to Keats Green and the lovely walk between Shanklin and Sandown (part of the Isle of Wight Coastal Path) with fantastic views across Sandown Bay. This also leads to the famous Shanklin Chine with a pathway down to the sandy beaches. Within easy reach by foot are the picturesque Shanklin Old Village with its thatched roofs, and the beautiful Rylstone Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Shanklin
Clifton Hotel Shanklin
The Clifton Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing