We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice !”
Review of The Clifton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clifton
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Excellent location with lovely sea views from the restaurant. Easy access to attractive countryside and places of interest.
Availability of good evening meals were an added advantage.
Well run by very helpful and friendly proprietors.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Hello Jeremy, thank you for making time to write a review, I am sure that Carys will be more than happy that you enjoyed her cooking. Hope we welcome you back to The Clifton in the future. Regards David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the start of September in a twin room on the first floor with a lovely view and right on the cliff top. Lots of parking. Very helpful staff who were very attentive though out our stay. Very comfortable beds with very clean sheets and towels. Tea/coffee in the room, which we had asked for. Large shower cubicle I the bathroom. Full English Breakfast was an excellent choice, with cereal, fruit and toast. Easy walk into town. Steep steps to the beach.
I would say that this Hotel is VERY GOOD and the only thing I could comment on was the clear grouting around the shower tray had started to come loose and was starting to show some mould which could be easily cleaned, but I do notice the small things. Did eat in the Hotel on the first night and choose a special of off the board we thoroughly enjoyed.
Will definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting the Isle Of Wight.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View Room with a Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Well Binkie, what can I say? Thank you very much for such a lovely review which I can only agree with in all aspects - even the grouting which we fell behind with over our extremely busy summer. We have only this week taken delivery of a powerful steam cleaner which has certainly been sorting out any little problems we had. We look forward to welcoming you back to our wonderful Island. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had never been to the Isle of Wight before and had no idea what to expect, and were very pleased that we had chosen The Clifton. It's clean, the bed was comfortable and all the staff were nice and very helpful. We had not expected fast Wi-Fi and a rocking bar in an area like this and feel these sorts of things shouldn't be an issue in a small hotel in the Isle of Wight. The food was outstandingly good - better than a lot of higher-end restaurants in the bistro and the breakfast was just as good. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 126DandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Hello D+P, thank you very much for such a lovely review, it is a great description of where The Clifton stands. Carys is over the moon that you enjoyed her food so much - she gets a lot of satisfaction from guestss' encouraging comments. David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Location very convenient, lovely view of sea from dining room. Although we were on a B&B basis we dined in on two evenings and the food and service was excellent. David and Carys, the owners were very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enaj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Hello enaj. Glad to hear that our menu and quality of food tempted you to dine with us for two evenings - we like to think that it is quite special and good value for the standard of food and surroundings. Thank you for the review. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed in single room which was adequate for my needs. Good location, very clean and bright. Staff very helpful and friendly. Very good choice for breakfast. Just one hiccup - bar was closed one night very very early - 8.20pm.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Patsy6646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Hello Patsy. Thank you for your kind review, and our apologies if you were let down by the bar closing early - everybody had gone out and we hadn't served a drink all evening! Hope it hasn't put you off returning to The Clifton in the future. Kind Regards. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

After a poor experience in a local hotel The Clifton was a breath of fresh air, lovely welcome, bags carried to the room which was fresh, clean and bright. The huge bed was extremely comfortable making it difficult to get out of in a morning, however the breakfast is not to be missed, good choice and prepared to your taste. We would definitely stay here again with a room looking directly over the sea. All staff are so friendly.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Two E' S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Location - important at the end of the day and there it was, up a few steps you mind, but very welcoming. Clean and fresh, with staff that made us feel that we were at a private B&B rather than a small hotel. Bags were carried, breakfast (Full English) outstanding, but best of a bright table with a sea view, what ay to start the next day of our round IOW hike. My congratulations to all staff and we would easily recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ganguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you indeed for such a 'charming' review. Being right on the Coastal Path means that it is a great place to stay for all the Ramblers and Walkers we have looked after here. As you are aware we are recommended to walkers by Visit England. Hope we get the chance to welcome you back again. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
871 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton

Address: 1 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#12 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £77 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clifton 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton's privileged location on the Shanklin cliff top offers an amazing sea view and makes it an ideal retreat for those in search of tranquility. The stunning view of Shanklin bay can be enjoyed from the lounge and bar, where light meals are available all day. We also cater for gluten free diets. In the award winning cliff top garden you can also take advantage of the fabulous sea view, warm Isle of Wight sunshine, wonderful sea air, and refreshments from the licensed bar. Local is Best……with prime farming land all around us and a host of specialist growers and producers making the most of it, we usually have access to plenty of fresh seasonal fruit and vegetables, as well as quality fish and meat. The garden opens out to Keats Green and the lovely walk between Shanklin and Sandown (part of the Isle of Wight Coastal Path) with fantastic views across Sandown Bay. This also leads to the famous Shanklin Chine with a pathway down to the sandy beaches. Within easy reach by foot are the picturesque Shanklin Old Village with its thatched roofs, and the beautiful Rylstone Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Shanklin
Clifton Hotel Shanklin
The Clifton Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing