We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christine and Brian”
Review of The Clifton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Christine and Brian”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Clifton. Lovely breakfast, friendly staff. The location was excellent and the standards of hygiene were the best we have encountered. We will certainly stay here again .

Room Tip: All the rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hello Christine and Brian. Glad you enjoyed your stay so much, we all look forward to welcoming you back to The Clifton in the future to our peaceful little haven. Regards. David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    106
    16
    3
    8
See reviews for
59
308
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Clifton is in a great location offering invigorating views from the cliffs over the sea. The hotelier was friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was in a charming sun-room with a good variety of options on the menu. Overall an enjoyable experience I would recommend to anyone planning a beach or walking holiday on the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunston84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hello Dunston84. Thank you very much for your super review, I'm glad we played a part in your enjoyment of our Island. You are certainly correct about the walking - the Isle of Wight is very well known for it's various walks, with the May Walking Festival always popular. Regards, David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South England
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had an amazing 3 night stay at The Clifton for our honeymoon, February 2014. View from our suite over Sandown Bay was stunning, what a way to wake up! Breakfast in the sunny restaurant was nice with plenty of choice for us. The hotel was spotlessly clean and we liked the tasteful decor, which was modern but sensitive to the period of the property. We particularly liked the old maps and old pictures of The Clifton and Shanklin.
Ideally located on the cliff top and also near Shanklin old town and centre. We didnt have the car and got around no problem, bus stops nearby as well as the station. David also knows the local taxi companies who were fine. Unlike previous reviews we found the staff at The Clifton helpful, friendly and made our honeymoon special. Perfect way to spend a relaxing few days, thanks David and Carys.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandESouthEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hello you Honeymooners. So glad we were able to make your special time even more special. We have to agree with you, the Premier Suite is perfect for celebrating a special event together. Hopefully we will welcome you again in the future when you are celebrating an anniversary. Best Regards. David and Carys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here before so when looking for a couple of nights away on the IOW checked the website. The offer plus our previous experience made it a no brainer for us.

Parking is good. Location is perfect with rooms and the breakfast/dinner area overlooking the sea. Situated on a cliff there is a steep path down to the front which is fine. Getting back up is a bit harder!

Most things were closed during our visit but that didnt hurt our stay as you can still appreciate the views and it is a short walk into Shanklin and a short drive to anywhere else you want to go.

Breakfast has plenty of options allowing you to be good or a bit naughty. We didnt eat dinner here this time as there are nice Indian and Chinese restaurants close by.


Rooms are cosy and clean and the bed very comfy. Shower was also very good.

I also recommend the afternoon scones :)

Staff are friendly and helpful.

We would stay here again whether paying full price in season or with a special offer out of season.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi Katrina. Thanks for taking the time to give us such a brilliant review. Great to hear we have kept the standards up from your first stay, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Clifton when you are in need of another break from the mainland! Regards. David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Although the photos on Trip Advisor and the hotel's own website weren't great, we decided to take a risk based on the great reviews and hotel location. So we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to find a very homely vibe in a quality hotel, which has been renovated to a high standard.
Amazing views, good breakfast and a lovely host, this hotel really made our stay!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hello Sarah. Thank you very much for your super review, you are right about the photos - in fact we have a professional photographer coming in April for a couple of days (hopefully the sun is shining!) to put together a complete portfolio of images both interior and exterior. Book now if you want to be in our photos!! Regards, David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was our first visit to clifton hotel the receptionist was great and very welcoming the room was great and the views were amazing. cary was friendly and happy.we came back in the evening after a great evening at a local attraction and was looking forward to coming back to the hotel thats until we met victor meldrews brother (aka) David.where we had a frosty and cold reception from him and made us feel we should be here, i asked if we could have a table but was told us he just sent the chef home as there was no bookings but said about a local place 5 mins walk away which was fine.but we love the hotel and the views and the 2 female staff but sadly David has dampend our stay here. After you pay a £144 you would think he could be a bit more customer friendly instead of being victor meldrews brother. not happy with him at all and he is the reason i will not be back to the hotel again.sorry carys you and the receptionist were great.breakfast was very good.just 1 thing let it down and felt not welcome....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkerbell73593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Hello Tinkerbell. You seem to have mistaken my being upset that we were unable to offer you dinner as being 'frosty and cold' - sorry if I gave the wrong impression. We weren't expecting you back for dinner as you had informed our receptionist Olivia earlier that you would not want dinner that evening as you were going to be out late at Robin Hill. I am pleased that you enjoyed our Premier Suite for your stay, we are quite proud of having such a lovely room in The Clifton. Regards, David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was our first stay at the Clifton and stayed for four nights, David and Cary were very helpful and nothing was too much bother, even helping with our cases. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the views across the sea from the balcony were superb. The food was well prepared and well presented and the menu varied, of course this included the breakfast which was more than ample. David and Cary's easy attitude made our stay very pleasant and we have hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hello Gordon, thank you very much for your very kind review. We try to ensure that all our guests leave us happy and relaxed, and obviously we succeeded with yourselves. Both us and our hard working team look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards. David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
387 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton

Property: The Clifton
Address: 1 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#12 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clifton 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton's privileged location on the Shanklin cliff top offers an amazing sea view and makes it an ideal retreat for those in search of tranquility. The stunning view of Shanklin bay can be enjoyed from the lounge and bar, where light meals are available all day. We also cater for gluten free diets. In the award winning cliff top garden you can also take advantage of the fabulous sea view, warm Isle of Wight sunshine, wonderful sea air, and refreshments from the licensed bar. Local is Best……with prime farming land all around us and a host of specialist growers and producers making the most of it, we usually have access to plenty of fresh seasonal fruit and vegetables, as well as quality fish and meat. The garden opens out to Keats Green and the lovely walk between Shanklin and Sandown (part of the Isle of Wight Coastal Path) with fantastic views across Sandown Bay. This also leads to the famous Shanklin Chine with a pathway down to the sandy beaches. Within easy reach by foot are the picturesque Shanklin Old Village with its thatched roofs, and the beautiful Rylstone Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Shanklin
Clifton Hotel Shanklin
The Clifton Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing