We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant stay”
Review of The Clifton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have just spent a very pleasant two nights at the Clifton and would highly recommend this perfectly located and run establishment.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and very stylishly furnished and the dining area has wonderful sea views - although not enough to distract from the very good cuisine!
There are unexpected and very welcome touches in the bathroom with dental and shaving kits and shower caps - and a very generous hospitality tray on request and at no extra charge.
A very good selection at breakfast and pleasant and smiling service at all times - who could ask for more?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi Bev. Thank you very much for such a marvellous review - who could ask for more?! Best Regards. David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    103
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
55
297
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel is perfectly located, its a few minutes walk to the Old Town which is a very quaint area and 2 minutes walk to the sea front. Its also very close to the Chine. Our room (Bay View) has a fantastic ocean view, it faces east so the sunshine came pouring in each morning. The room was extremely clean and had a little table and chairs. The shower was not the most powerful, we couldn't actually get any hot water to come out if it at first but the owner came up and it turns out it was just a switch the had been turned off. There was a good selection of breakfasts. Staff were really nice.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi Steph. You are absolutely correct, we are so lucky to be in such a perfect location - yet it is still so tranquil in this little corner of Shanklin. Glad I could help with the on/off switch! Hopefully we will welcome you back again to soak up the ocean views. Regards. David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Back for a second visit - and every bit as good as the first. Beautiful location, a warm welcome, breakfasts to die for and an extensive and interesting bistro menu. Someone in the kitchen certainly knows what they are doing. If you are lucky enough to get a sea-facing room the view is stunning. A charming hotel, efficiently run with lots of smiley faces.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view. Worth its weight in gold. The sea-facing 'cosy double' is perfect for a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athlete9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi athlete9. Glad you enjoyed your second visit this year, Carys certainly appreciated your comments on her cooking - her face is now even more smiley! Hope your builders have finished now. We look forward to you making it a 'hat trick' this year. Kind Regards. David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is a very friendly, spotlessly clean hotel situated on the cliffs in Shanklin about 100 yards from Shanklin Chine. It is also very close to Old Shanklin Village, a couple of minutes walk. The food is excellent with a good choice served in a delightful dining room overlooking the sea and it also has its own bar. My husband and I spent a very pleasant 3 days there in a lovely bay windowed room overlooking the bay. Binoculars in the room is definitely a nice touch. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the additional fee for a bay windowed sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J6tarot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hello J6tarot. Thank you so much for your kind words. Our housekeepers were very happy when I showed them this review - they really appreciate it when their hard work is noticed. Best Regards. David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Clifton.We were made very welcome and were upgraded to a beautiful sea view room which was much appreciated. The location and views were fantastic,the owners very friendly and the food amazing.We would like to return sometime soon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hello Susan G. Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed the views from our Bay View room - it really is stunning isn't it. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards. David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at the Clifton Hotel having read reviews on the internet.

We had a room with balcony overlooking the bay which was great even though the fog prevented a 'sea view' at all times!! The room was tastefully decorated, had a smart ensuite with bath robes and a roomy efficient shower.

The hotel is in a fantastic location, close to the beach and the town. Beautiful views across Sandown Bay from the dining room and the patio.

The food is freshly prepared and well presented. The menu has a good variety of choices and every meal we ate was well cooked and delicious.

David and Carys made us feel very welcome. They are a friendly, hospitable couple who work hard to ensure their guests' comfort.

Well done to you both - keep up the good work.

'WE WILL BE BACK'

Peter and Hazel Corney

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hello Peter and Hazel. It was a pleasure to meet you both, we really enjoyed your company here at The Clifton. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, it is really appreciated when our guests like what we are creating here in our little corner of Shanklin. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Clifton. Regards. David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Clifton. Lovely breakfast, friendly staff. The location was excellent and the standards of hygiene were the best we have encountered. We will certainly stay here again .

Room Tip: All the rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hello Christine and Brian. Glad you enjoyed your stay so much, we all look forward to welcoming you back to The Clifton in the future to our peaceful little haven. Regards. David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton

Property: The Clifton
Address: 1 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#12 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clifton 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton's privileged location on the Shanklin cliff top offers an amazing sea view and makes it an ideal retreat for those in search of tranquility. The stunning view of Shanklin bay can be enjoyed from the lounge and bar, where light meals are available all day. We also cater for gluten free diets. In the award winning cliff top garden you can also take advantage of the fabulous sea view, warm Isle of Wight sunshine, wonderful sea air, and refreshments from the licensed bar. Local is Best……with prime farming land all around us and a host of specialist growers and producers making the most of it, we usually have access to plenty of fresh seasonal fruit and vegetables, as well as quality fish and meat. The garden opens out to Keats Green and the lovely walk between Shanklin and Sandown (part of the Isle of Wight Coastal Path) with fantastic views across Sandown Bay. This also leads to the famous Shanklin Chine with a pathway down to the sandy beaches. Within easy reach by foot are the picturesque Shanklin Old Village with its thatched roofs, and the beautiful Rylstone Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Shanklin
Clifton Hotel Shanklin
The Clifton Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing