We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent staff”
Review of The Clifton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent staff”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

well appointed small hotel in beautiful location. staff very friendly . Good food in dining room with super sea views.
Good location.
Wifi a disappointment as many hotels have unlimied easy access.
would definitly stay again and recommend to friends

Room Tip: beautful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Susie. Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are extremely pleased that you are happy to recommend us to your friends. The wi-fi has been upgraded over the winter so that it complies with the latest security guidelines now being brought into law, this does make logging on a little more laborious but it does mean that all guest's devices are more secure. Best regards. David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    106
    16
    3
    8
See reviews for
58
308
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crawley Down, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a two night break at the beginning of June and we picked The Clifton because of the fantastic reviews on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed; the accommodation, food, staff & views were excellent. We will definitely stay at The Clifton again and would just like to say thank you for our lovely break :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarin279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hello Tarin. It is good to be reassured that our reviews on Tripadvisor are painting a true picture of The Clifton. Thank you. Best Regards. David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for a week from 11th June 2014. We hadn't stayed there before, and with so many hotels to choose from, we took a chance. We think we hit the jackpot. It was perfect!! The room, the staff, the food, the location for the view, and the town centre couldn't be beaten. If we were to revisit I.O.W. we wouldn't stay anywhere else. Sometimes we've stayed in hotels where staff and management shouldn't be anywhere near the public. Not so at this hotel, everyone is so nice and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 with s great view out across the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank severn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Greetings - and thank you very much for your super review, never been called a 'jackpot' before. I like it! We find we enjoy our work so much more when we have a hotel full of happy customers, so a little effort from all our team means we have fun too. Hope you decide to revisit this fabulous Island in the future. David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We organised a surprise getaway for my Mum & Dad to revisit the hotel they stayed at 50 years ago on their honeymoon - The Clifton, Shanklin.

We would like to thank David and his team for making our parents feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The room with its sea view was lovely, the facilities spotless and the meals delicious.

Mum and Dad were overwhelmed by their 50th Anniversary getaway and the ferry, flowers, bubbly and cards were the icing on the cake, all organised by the hotel.

We will definitely recommend the Clifton to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hi Lesley. So glad your parents enjoyed their special break back here where they honeymooned, they seemed to enjoy the 'new' Clifton immensely. We hope to be able to welcome yourself to The Clifton in the future. Best Regards. David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bisley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent a short break here in June and found the hotel excellent. We booked a cosy room as we were only staying a couple of nights and found it had all that we needed. The room was spotlessly clean as was the on suite shower room. Everything was obviously new or recently decorated; the bed was very comfy too and the room had all that one might need. The views from the front of the hotel where the garden, seating deck and dining room look out over the sea was excellent. The hosts and the rest of the staff at the hotel made us very welcome and worked hard to make our stay a very pleasant one. Breakfast was from a big choice and was simply lovely. We also ate dinner one night and the food was very good with a good choice on the main and specials menus - did not get to desert as the starters and main meals were both plentiful and very tasty. Overall a lovely and relaxing place to stay and we will hopefully be back when we have our next short break on the Island.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTSSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hello GTS, the whole team here really enjoyed reading your review, it makes it all worth the effort when everything is appreciated so much, and especially from a Top Tripadvisor Contributor like yourself. Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Clifton on your next visit to our wonderful Island. Warm regards. David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Fantastic location on the top of the cliff. presentation and cleanliness was spot on. All the staff were very nice and helpfull. Could not fault the breakfast and the evening meals were well cooked and interesting. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 8 and it was clean and a reasonable size but we were always out so room size did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hello Janis. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated, we are all glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your break here at The Clifton. Best Regards. David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here recently in the ( expensive ) premier suite which had a rather small bedroom and a tiny bathroom which could do with some updating. Nevertheless, the location is striking overlooking the garden and benefiting from sweeping sea views. David is an attentive and professional front of house host and Carys is an excellent chef - a winning combination. Lovely cooked breakfasts and decent range of evening meals beautifully cooked and well presented. All our requests were dealt with in a friendly and professional manner. A very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahne49uq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Greetings. Wonderful to hear that you found our location both striking and relaxing, and our food enjoyable - all descriptions we strive to achieve. The bathroom does indeed need updating, to keep it in line with the rest of the refurbishments we have been undertaking since we took over The Clifton. It is scheduled for this coming winter break. Hopefully we will be able to show it off to you if you return next year. Best Regards. David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton

Property: The Clifton
Address: 1 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#12 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clifton 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton's privileged location on the Shanklin cliff top offers an amazing sea view and makes it an ideal retreat for those in search of tranquility. The stunning view of Shanklin bay can be enjoyed from the lounge and bar, where light meals are available all day. We also cater for gluten free diets. In the award winning cliff top garden you can also take advantage of the fabulous sea view, warm Isle of Wight sunshine, wonderful sea air, and refreshments from the licensed bar. Local is Best……with prime farming land all around us and a host of specialist growers and producers making the most of it, we usually have access to plenty of fresh seasonal fruit and vegetables, as well as quality fish and meat. The garden opens out to Keats Green and the lovely walk between Shanklin and Sandown (part of the Isle of Wight Coastal Path) with fantastic views across Sandown Bay. This also leads to the famous Shanklin Chine with a pathway down to the sandy beaches. Within easy reach by foot are the picturesque Shanklin Old Village with its thatched roofs, and the beautiful Rylstone Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Shanklin
Clifton Hotel Shanklin
The Clifton Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing