We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clifton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brunswick Hotel(Shanklin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aqua Hotel(Shanklin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Steamer Inn(Shanklin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
356
115
20
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
115
20
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier suitesea viewsnug barisle of wightshanklin chinethe clifflovely hotelexcellent locationold villagecold buffetshort breakpretty gardenfull englishcooked foodbreakfasts were excellentcoastal pathtop floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed from 9th july for 2 nights. Really good value and great service. Breakfast very good and selection impressive. Amazing views across the bay both from our room and restraunt/gardens. Overall excellent. Many thanks the Cooks from Swindon.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcook5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hello the Cooks, so glad you were particularly impressed with our Breakfast offering - we are great believers in all our guests having a proper choice for the first meal of the day as it puts a smile on everyone's face. Hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Clifton in the future. Best regards. David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

well appointed small hotel in beautiful location. staff very friendly . Good food in dining room with super sea views.
Good location.
Wifi a disappointment as many hotels have unlimied easy access.
would definitly stay again and recommend to friends

Room Tip: beautful sea views
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susie2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Susie. Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are extremely pleased that you are happy to recommend us to your friends. The wi-fi has been upgraded over the winter so that it complies with the latest security guidelines now being brought into law, this does make logging on a little more laborious but it does mean that all guest's devices are more secure. Best regards. David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a two night break at the beginning of June and we picked The Clifton because of the fantastic reviews on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed; the accommodation, food, staff & views were excellent. We will definitely stay at The Clifton again and would just like to say thank you for our lovely break :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarin279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hello Tarin. It is good to be reassured that our reviews on Tripadvisor are painting a true picture of The Clifton. Thank you. Best Regards. David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for a week from 11th June 2014. We hadn't stayed there before, and with so many hotels to choose from, we took a chance. We think we hit the jackpot. It was perfect!! The room, the staff, the food, the location for the view, and the town centre couldn't be beaten. If we were to revisit I.O.W. we wouldn't stay anywhere else. Sometimes we've stayed in hotels where staff and management shouldn't be anywhere near the public. Not so at this hotel, everyone is so nice and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 with s great view out across the sea.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank severn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Greetings - and thank you very much for your super review, never been called a 'jackpot' before. I like it! We find we enjoy our work so much more when we have a hotel full of happy customers, so a little effort from all our team means we have fun too. Hope you decide to revisit this fabulous Island in the future. David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We organised a surprise getaway for my Mum & Dad to revisit the hotel they stayed at 50 years ago on their honeymoon - The Clifton, Shanklin.

We would like to thank David and his team for making our parents feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The room with its sea view was lovely, the facilities spotless and the meals delicious.

Mum and Dad were overwhelmed by their 50th Anniversary getaway and the ferry, flowers, bubbly and cards were the icing on the cake, all organised by the hotel.

We will definitely recommend the Clifton to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hi Lesley. So glad your parents enjoyed their special break back here where they honeymooned, they seemed to enjoy the 'new' Clifton immensely. We hope to be able to welcome yourself to The Clifton in the future. Best Regards. David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews