We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem!”
Review of The Clifton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clifton
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Booked in a rush and didn't realise it was a two star until I got the confirmation so with a liitle trepidation we turned up. What a surprise. Warm welcome. Spotlessly clean room, good size and with a side view of the sea. Lovely family atmosphere, with the staff always on hand to help.They had a fantastic sense of humour and that made the stay even more enjoyable. Breakfast is good wholesome and cooked to order. Some odd comments about Graham have been made. Just ignore them, he is very attentive and has a wicked sense of humour - gets your day off to a smiley start! We would thoroughly recommend the Clifton. If you can, make time for a drink in the garden - views are fabulous!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyn1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

My partner and I have just returned from a long weekend at The Clifton Hotel What a great find. We booked a premier seaview room and were amazed with the beautiful view and the size of the room. Well worth the extra money to gaze out and watch the cruise ships and container ships going by. The staff are fantastic, so friendly and they really made us feel welcome. The breakfasts were great with lots of choice. My only 2 gripes are that that the room did get quite hot at night and we couldn't open the windows, hence they were dripping with condensation inside when we woke up, we had to open the french doors and also the tv reception was awfull, but apart from these minor things, we would definately go back.
We ate at the Purple Mango Indian restaurant and had a brilliant meal. Don't know what all the negative comments about this place were about, as we found the staff to be really good, and it was cheaper that what we normally pay for an Indian meal.
We also ate at Pavarotti's {Italian] and this was also excellant.

Don't bother going to see The Needles as this cost us £4 just to park the car, the chairlift wasn't working which is the one thing we went there for, and you couldn't even walk to the beach as that was all closed off. The place is a rip off and very tacky. Nothing there for adults at all, and what there is you have to pay extra for. A real rip-off!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahd0rset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We first visited the Clifton hotel in July and returned again for a visit in August. The owners are just wonderful friendly and hard working people. (This is a family run hotel.) They are there whenever you need anything, but also leave you to relax and enjoy your stay in such a beautiful and peaceful location. Breakfast is top class, Everything is fresh, cooked to perfection and comes out hot! Coffee is freshly made and topped up as you require. No need to ask. We stayed in a seaview room and the sunrise was amazing.. Lovely clean hotel. Other guests were all friendly and just as happy with their stay as we was. Rooms cleaned daily, Tea and coffee in ample supplies was topped up daily in the room. Lovely garden to sit out and enjoy a glass of wine in the evening, or a coffee after breakfast. The hotel is in an excellent location, Shanklin is a very pretty village and the beach is gorgeous. The steamer inn on the seafront has great food, in huge portions at reasonable value, The tea room in Shanklin old village is a taste of time gone by, cream tea in the garden is divine. The crab pub in the old village is also lovely but in high season you need to eat early as they sell out quickly due to limited amounts of food on the menu. The food is very good though.
If you go to visit arreton, try and go to arreton village and the shops there, the dairymans daughter pub is very good for an ale, or two!, some great craft shops and some old style penny machines to play. Very entertaining. The isle of wight has plenty to offer to all ages and there is always something going on . Dont miss the steam railway, It`s like going back in time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We just had to return to theis wonderful Victorian house that is now a hotel. Some of the features remain but it was for the friendly owners who still seem to be able to manage when it is full. We saw, for the firat time an origonal fireplace in the room. We seem to be able to do the rounds staying in a different room each time. Breakfast continues to be far more than either of us can eat and with the evening meals too we managed to put on a few pounds, but that is what a holiday is for. The beach has got a blue flag once again, so we can go in the sea with confidence. The sun shone every day as usual, forget the weathermans reports. Not a lot of places were green, so it shows how good the weather is. The greens are kept in good order though and golf is really like a foreign country with the scenic views. We have booked for next year so we are already looking forward to that visit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Mekon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We have stayed in many hotels and similar over the years and have at last found a very friendly and professional place to stay. We were half expecting employees that are the same the world over, but to our amazement, the owners run the hotel themselves. Any time any guest wanted something at breakfast, it was brought out. So many people wanted something out of the ordinary. Even asking for another towel was greeted with a smile and a "of course". The relaxed atmosphere is so refreshing, and a real eclectic mix of age and ethnicity, yet we all seemd to be able to communicate even if we didnt speak their langauge. This is a real gem of a place to stay, no wonder we had trouble booking in, they must be full virtually all of the time. When going to the isle of white, make sure you book into this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piper1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Stayed at the Clifton for a single night, which too be honest i felt was a little pricey as you cant check-in before 2:30pm and have to check-out by 10:30am, so you dont even get 24 hours. We chose a sea-view room and paid an extra £10, the view was good, but the room was one of the smaller rooms. The bathroom was very nicely fitted out, but there was no pressure from the shower and it was basically useless, this was very frustrating so needs to be sorted out.
The owners are very pleasant and the hotel has a general friendly feel about the place, although one of the guys serving breakfast could have smiled bit more!! But he did keep our coffee nicely topped up.
All in all a very pleasant stay, apart from the shower we would return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HedgeEndTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Stayed at this hotel in May along with 17 others. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful, The views are stunning and its not far to get to the village. The hotel had a homely feel and you felt comfortable from the minute you arrived. Breakfast was good and you were served at your table. The rooms had everything you needed including tea and coffee but when I stay again I will probably request a room overlooking the sea, we had a room overlooking the car park which was fine but with such fabulous views you may as well enjoy them! Wouldn't hesitate in reccommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
904 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
413 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton

Address: 1 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#12 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £73 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clifton 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton's privileged location on the Shanklin cliff top offers an amazing sea view and makes it an ideal retreat for those in search of tranquility. The stunning view of Shanklin bay can be enjoyed from the lounge and bar, where light meals are available all day. We also cater for gluten free diets. In the award winning cliff top garden you can also take advantage of the fabulous sea view, warm Isle of Wight sunshine, wonderful sea air, and refreshments from the licensed bar. Local is Best……with prime farming land all around us and a host of specialist growers and producers making the most of it, we usually have access to plenty of fresh seasonal fruit and vegetables, as well as quality fish and meat. The garden opens out to Keats Green and the lovely walk between Shanklin and Sandown (part of the Isle of Wight Coastal Path) with fantastic views across Sandown Bay. This also leads to the famous Shanklin Chine with a pathway down to the sandy beaches. Within easy reach by foot are the picturesque Shanklin Old Village with its thatched roofs, and the beautiful Rylstone Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Shanklin
Clifton Hotel Shanklin
The Clifton Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing