We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Impressed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harrow Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
CAMBERLE, United KingdomY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in April with my 7 year old daughter. The first time I have taken her away on my own. The staff were so friendly and welcoming nothing was too much trouble. Food was lovely, the breakfast was amazing, I dont think I have had such a nice English or Continental Breakfast before. Rooms were spotlessly clean and fresh and beds very comfortable. We had such a great stay I am hoping to bring my daughter back again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAULA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    46
    13
    11
    2
See reviews for
57
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for on night during May 2014, the hotel was spotless though out, the carpeting and furnishings were all of good quality and rooms looked extremely well cared for. Room 8 has a very comfortable double bed with a road view but quite a good size. Will stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank oebep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We took two friends who have not been to the Isle of Wight before to stay last week for three days. We were all delighted with the hotel which provided comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast, served by a cheerful, smiling waitress. The bar area is somewhat lacklustre, but again the staff were friendly. We dined out in the town at night at some of our favourite restaurants, but for those staying in, there was a range of very good value meals on offer. Parking is good and the hotel is perched above the sea. Walking into the town centre takes less than 10 minutes. We would happily return when next on the island.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony or sea-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornwallJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

must say that i was a bit unsure about this hotel when i arrived as floors were literally down the hill, but iam happy we stayed. v peaceful and relaxing stay. great, considering it's 2 star hotel and i didn't get the same impression with the 4star hotel we stayed in later on in southampton. owners are very helpful and they value you and make you feel like at home. room was clean with new bathroom. these people will go for extra mile if you are polite and realize you're in 2 star hotel before you start complaining... the food was great and they met my requirements (vegetarian) well. even cooked what wasn't on menu!
location is great. so if you're looking for small affordable hotel near the beach this is it :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hathor1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

First impressions are very telling and from the moment we turned up was made to feel like we had just arrived home . This is a spotlessly clean hotel and showed how hard the staff work . As for all staff very friendly and always smiling ( do you at work ? Lol ) the food was very good even little johns cheese sandwich thx little man lol . Take a tip try this hotel we very much recommend .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed for two nights in room 12 . Paid £55 B&B . No problem parking . The hotel is right on the Cliff top and nicely situated . I had booked a twin room and the room was set out as a twin but it was really a double and was not suitable as a twin . because of this the flex from the kettle to the socket was behind the pillow on the bed and when sitting up In bed reading my head rested on the wall reading light . We moved the bed back to double position for the second night .
The shower was spotless and worked perfectly . No bath in this room . The walls were on the thin side but the neighbours were quiet folk thank goodness .
The staff were pleasant . The food at dinner was limited in choice and on the pub type model .
It was passable and not expensive . Breakfast was adequate and the chef did an immaculate fried or poached egg . Very nice SE facing sitting out areas when the sun is shining .

Room Tip: Sea view rooms look to be the best and sunnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barmest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

After reading about how good this hotel was despite its 2-star rating we booked the last room in the place (3) which had an excellent terrace with sea view. We wanted to have dinner here too but they stopped serving food at I think 7 or 7.30 which was a bit early for us. My boyfriend had the full English breakfast in the morning though which he said was very nice. The room itself was lovely & tastefully decorated, bathroom was very small, shower was very small indeed & not very powerful. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, even saying we could bring a takeaway back to our room if we wanted, & giving us a key for the front door if we stayed out til late.

Room Tip: Rooms with a terrace have a lovely sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank indeanna_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#10 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrow Lodge Hotel

Property: The Harrow Lodge Hotel
Address: & Eastcliff Promenade 31 Palmerston Road, Shanklin PO37 6BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#19 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harrow Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Harrow Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrow Hotel Shanklin
The Harrow Lodge Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing