We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in business”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great service, friendly staff and excellent breakfast. What could you expect from one B&B lodge.

The management what a team you have. You should be very lucky to have such lovely staffs.

Thank you very much making our holiday memorable.

Room Tip: Room number 23 was very good for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawaNepaliHyolmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    48
    13
    11
    2
See reviews for
59
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have just spent a long weekend here with my 11& 8 yr old sons and have found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating for our needs. The rooms are very comfortable and clean....the breakfasts and evening meals surpass for the price.

I can honestly say that we will definitely be returning but after a 6 month diet. The views are spectacular and very close to the the cliff-side lift which makes it ideal for those with mobility problems. The wee boys loved staying here, as did I
.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here last week and was well pleased with the hotel. It is a small hotel at the top of the cliff close to the cliff lift.There is plenty of parking and a cone to reserve your space if you go out. The rooms are on the small side and while we were there it was very hot and not much air came through the window. But you don't spend all day in your room. Lots of hot water although a small shower cubicle.It is very clean and looked as if it had just been refurbished. There are a lot of steps to some of the rooms but ground floor rooms are available.
Breakfast was fab, lots to eat and a super full English to fill you up for the day. Fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, eggs of every kind and lots of toast.
No evening meal included in the price but you could get a delicious meal at the bar for around £6.50 - 7.50 for a main and £2.50 for a delicious sweet with custard, cream or ice cream. I can recommend the steak and ale pie. All home cooked. This proved far better value and taste than a certain well known pub in the village!
I must just mention Rita who was full of banter and we had lots of laughs with her.
Over all a super holiday was had by all, nothing is too much trouble for the staff at this hotel and worth another visit.

Room Tip: Pay extra for one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyJannyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here with my wife and 2 kids in a family room over the Easter holidays. The family room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was good, always plenty to choose from, cooked and continental. The hosts were very welcoming upon our arrival and were very helpful, always had time to chat. Also, the staff in the bar and at breakfast were very friendly.

The hotel is above the beach on the cliff and is an easy walk to the lift or a short drive. There are parking spaces on the premises (5/6 spaces), but also free evening parking on the street around the hotel.

For the start of the booking process to paying upon departure, all went smoothly.

Many Thanks

Room Tip: Family room opposite the Breakfast room is large but is also down a set of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinpat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The staff at this hotel are very friendly nothing is too much trouble. The room was very clean and comfortable, food was great. Drinks prices were a lot lower than any of the local pubs. Dog friendly - sensible idea for breakfast sit where you want or take it out side - longer times for breakfast. We would stay here again. Great location. Sunday lunch was very nice even locals came to eat here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Right on the seafront of Shanklin this is a perfect place to stay! The bedrooms are extremely clean and tidy and although the bathroom was a bit small it didn't pose as much of a problem! The breakfast included is extremely generous and you get an option of a full English or continental every day, it's amazing value! It's about a 3 minute walk to Shanklin Old Town and Shanklin Chine so has a perfect location! Parking can be a bit of a problem but the staff are willing to move their cars to let you take their places.

Room Tip: Try requesting a room at the front of the building so you get a good view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The staff at this hotel are excellent, Gina greeted us when we arrived and nothing was too much trouble. The room was a little on the small size but very clean and the king size bed was very comfortable - in fact I would be happy to say that this hotel gave us one of the nicest stays in a hotel for years!!! The staff at breakfast were cheery and helpful - breakfast was great. Rita reigned queen over the bar and was as good a barmaid as you can get. Would we stay again. YES.

Room Tip: Ask Gina should you need a larger bathroom as the bathroom was very clean and adequate but very smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#12 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrow Lodge Hotel

Property: The Harrow Lodge Hotel
Address: & Eastcliff Promenade 31 Palmerston Road, Shanklin PO37 6BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#19 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harrow Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Harrow Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrow Hotel Shanklin
The Harrow Lodge Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing