We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food great hotel”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

For the second year we have stayed at this hotel and highly recomend it is what everyone else has commented food is big portions and great but works on weekly basis which means same meals the second week room is basic and bed is comfertable bar open late and has a great view of the bay its a short walk to the lift and the town staff are great

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sutton007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    50
    13
    11
    2
See reviews for
61
70
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Harrow Lodge is a very comfortable, friendly and welcoming place to stay with off road parking. Ideal quiet cliff top location for the beach and town, lift to the beach only a few yards away.A sun terrace outside the bar overlooking the bay a lovely place to sit as the sun goes down having a pre-dinner drink. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent with great choices, freshly cooked hot food served quickly, did not book dinner at the hotel so cannot comment. Wide variety of food offered to non-residents throughout the day. Twin room was tastefully decorated and clean, bathroom was a bit small but a good hot shower. Planning to go back next year for longer.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms opposite the bar and face car parking area, no lift to first floor rooms, front b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbtraveller03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at this hotel we were booked in at the ocean hotel right opposite
But we eat here a couple of times at lunch time the food was lovely home cooked & very reasonably priced & the staff friendly

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maisie502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great service, friendly staff and excellent breakfast. What could you expect from one B&B lodge.

The management what a team you have. You should be very lucky to have such lovely staffs.

Thank you very much making our holiday memorable.

Room Tip: Room number 23 was very good for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawaNepaliHyolmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have just spent a long weekend here with my 11& 8 yr old sons and have found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating for our needs. The rooms are very comfortable and clean....the breakfasts and evening meals surpass for the price.

I can honestly say that we will definitely be returning but after a 6 month diet. The views are spectacular and very close to the the cliff-side lift which makes it ideal for those with mobility problems. The wee boys loved staying here, as did I
.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here last week and was well pleased with the hotel. It is a small hotel at the top of the cliff close to the cliff lift.There is plenty of parking and a cone to reserve your space if you go out. The rooms are on the small side and while we were there it was very hot and not much air came through the window. But you don't spend all day in your room. Lots of hot water although a small shower cubicle.It is very clean and looked as if it had just been refurbished. There are a lot of steps to some of the rooms but ground floor rooms are available.
Breakfast was fab, lots to eat and a super full English to fill you up for the day. Fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, eggs of every kind and lots of toast.
No evening meal included in the price but you could get a delicious meal at the bar for around £6.50 - 7.50 for a main and £2.50 for a delicious sweet with custard, cream or ice cream. I can recommend the steak and ale pie. All home cooked. This proved far better value and taste than a certain well known pub in the village!
I must just mention Rita who was full of banter and we had lots of laughs with her.
Over all a super holiday was had by all, nothing is too much trouble for the staff at this hotel and worth another visit.

Room Tip: Pay extra for one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyJannyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here with my wife and 2 kids in a family room over the Easter holidays. The family room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was good, always plenty to choose from, cooked and continental. The hosts were very welcoming upon our arrival and were very helpful, always had time to chat. Also, the staff in the bar and at breakfast were very friendly.

The hotel is above the beach on the cliff and is an easy walk to the lift or a short drive. There are parking spaces on the premises (5/6 spaces), but also free evening parking on the street around the hotel.

For the start of the booking process to paying upon departure, all went smoothly.

Many Thanks

Room Tip: Family room opposite the Breakfast room is large but is also down a set of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinpat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
706 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrow Lodge Hotel

Property: The Harrow Lodge Hotel
Address: & Eastcliff Promenade 31 Palmerston Road, Shanklin PO37 6BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#19 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harrow Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Harrow Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrow Hotel Shanklin
The Harrow Lodge Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing