We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Good although had better last year. The room was a let down to last year of a great bathroom, this year a cupboard of a trickle of hot water bad wifi!!! Dark and no balcony, disappointed in room 15, will not return although good good service !

Room Tip: Very poor although adverises its free bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned from a lovely holiday. The stay at this hotel was very relaxing. We had the family room (4 adults &1 child) and surprisingly we didn't feel too cramped & all amenities in room to suffice.
All staff were very friendly & accommodating and nothing was too much trouble.
Everything available from breakfast to packed lunches to evening or Bar meals + a bar to come back to if you wish to have a nightcap.
We would all definitely stay at this hotel again.....thank you.....

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

For the second year we have stayed at this hotel and highly recomend it is what everyone else has commented food is big portions and great but works on weekly basis which means same meals the second week room is basic and bed is comfertable bar open late and has a great view of the bay its a short walk to the lift and the town staff are great

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sutton007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Harrow Lodge is a very comfortable, friendly and welcoming place to stay with off road parking. Ideal quiet cliff top location for the beach and town, lift to the beach only a few yards away.A sun terrace outside the bar overlooking the bay a lovely place to sit as the sun goes down having a pre-dinner drink. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent with great choices, freshly cooked hot food served quickly, did not book dinner at the hotel so cannot comment. Wide variety of food offered to non-residents throughout the day. Twin room was tastefully decorated and clean, bathroom was a bit small but a good hot shower. Planning to go back next year for longer.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms opposite the bar and face car parking area, no lift to first floor rooms, front b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hbtraveller03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at this hotel we were booked in at the ocean hotel right opposite
But we eat here a couple of times at lunch time the food was lovely home cooked & very reasonably priced & the staff friendly

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maisie502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great service, friendly staff and excellent breakfast. What could you expect from one B&B lodge.

The management what a team you have. You should be very lucky to have such lovely staffs.

Thank you very much making our holiday memorable.

Room Tip: Room number 23 was very good for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawaNepaliHyolmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have just spent a long weekend here with my 11& 8 yr old sons and have found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating for our needs. The rooms are very comfortable and clean....the breakfasts and evening meals surpass for the price.

I can honestly say that we will definitely be returning but after a 6 month diet. The views are spectacular and very close to the the cliff-side lift which makes it ideal for those with mobility problems. The wee boys loved staying here, as did I
.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ange H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrow Lodge Hotel

Address: & Eastcliff Promenade 31 Palmerston Road, Shanklin PO37 6BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#14 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £67 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harrow Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Harrow Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrow Hotel Shanklin
The Harrow Lodge Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing