We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend to remember!”
Review of The Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Avenue
Ranked #19 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Not just because of this hotel, my girlfriend and I had a fantastic time on then Isle of Wight. The Avenue is a great base to explore the island and the great breakfast was an excellent start to each of the three days we were there.

The added bonus of a wifi made up for the fact that the TV reception was very poor.

However the staff were always very helpful and the great value really made the difference.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for The Avenue
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2010

First time to the Isle of Wight. Really good location and with added benefit of parking walking to the town centre or beach made easy.
While the town and old town have some good pubs try and make the last one - or two back at the guest house. Steve is a really good host and we thoroughly enjoyed our evenings there. Breakfast isnt over facing and is enough to set you up for the day. Staff at breakfast were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon_allie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

me and my family stayed here for 3 days and we found this hotel to be just great. The staff was great and made our stay here very enjoyable. The hotel is clean and very quite which is good. the rooms were very clean and nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, is really close to the beach and the town and shops. there is actually nothing wrong with the hotel it was just fantastic and hope to be returning soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieAnn____x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Stayed here for Easter, and felt at home straight away! The hotel was great! Breakfast was cooked fresh and tasted lovely! The room was lovely too, and the hotel has a nice cosy little bar and lounge area, as well as a very nice garden. Shanklin railway station is only a few minutes walk away, and a bus stop that connects you tto bus services all over the island is even nearer! Steve and his staff were super friendly and fell over themselves to help you!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GIBlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2008

A comfortable hotel. Good breakfasts.
A short walk to down hill to the sea and the town.
The owner and staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
The room was large and well laid out.
A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alange2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#13 of 51 in Shanklin
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avenue

Address: 6 Avenue Road, Shanklin PO37 7BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £61 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Avenue you are assured of friendly, comfortable and quality bed and breakfast accommodation. We are situated close to clean sandy beaches, scenic coastal cliff top walks and the picturesque Shanklin Old Village. If you are arriving on foot Shanklin Railway station is less than a 5 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avenue Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing