We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing hotel , lovely place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanklin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shanklin Hotel
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“amazing hotel , lovely place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

we stay 2 nights , everything was perfect , amazing and professional staff , very nice views from our room , very good food , entertainment in the night was wonderful , we dance a lot .
our room was very clean an cosy with amazing views to the sea.
near town and sea promenade .
nice indoor swimming pool , sauna and jacuzy .
can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: try to choose a sea view room , you will not regret ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joao F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Shanklin Hotel. It was lovely to read so many good comments about your stay including your room, the food and the staff. I hope you can come back soon and carry on dancing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    142
    62
    27
    18
See reviews for
52
164
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Nothing to fault with this hotel, I have probably been to this hotel 5 times so far and each time it is as good as the last, as a coach driver I tend to listen to my passengers and have never had a complaint about this hotel. Food is always excellent, staff never changes and are always happy and helpful, rooms are very good and clean and the hotel position very good. My company can keep sending here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TerryMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Shanklin Hotel. I am pleased you have enjoyed so many holidays with us and that you would love to come back! It was also really nice to hear that all of your passengers were happy as well. I look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Back again for our second year as part of a large group (150+) of car enthusiasts. Very comfortable stay. Food very good. Room clean and quiet apart from corridor fire door closures which need could do with being damped.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GFW321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Shanklin Hotel. I am pleased you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the room and the food. I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

went back again for easter for 5 days same as we did last year (2011) and we were very happy to do so had heard that they had refurbished 55 rooms and it turned out to be true our room (53) had been decorated in nice neutral colours and had matching duvets carpets, curtains and head board along with crisp clean sheets.Food was up to usual standard and presented well staff friendly and helpful,facilities also good if i had one complaint room had no centre light and no make up mirror for my wife will go again if funds allow

Room Tip: top floor rooms less noisy from squeaky floorboards
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatterjack41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

This Hotel is a fantastic it is well located and the rooms are excelent and the food well if you complain you should stay its fantastic. the staff couldnt do enough for you, we will go again.

Room Tip: Pay a supplemant and you can have a sea view....but then you are not in the room long enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quitemystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We spent 4 days in this hotel last week, despite having read some very negative reviews. We found a beautifully clean, modern bedroom with great views. The dinners were excellent each evening as were the breakfasts. The staff, both Eastern Europeans and English were charming and helpful. Yes there were a lot of elderly guests, who were obviously having lots of fun; why are some people so negative about age? All in all - brilliant

Room Tip: We didn't pay extra for a sea view, but got one anyway (Room 67)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomoflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Spent Monday to Thursday last week (our 3rd visit) and found it to be possoibly our best experience to date. We had a newly refurbished second floor twin room. New carpets, curtains, very comfortable beds and chairs. The food was very good and the service excellent - fast and friendly. We enjoyed the evening entertainment on the Monday and Tuesday evenings although it was a shame the audience wasn't ;larger -( the Hotel was reasonably quiet last week) unlike our previous visits when it was full. Overall we couldn't fault anything and will certainly be paying a 4th visit, hopefully later in the year. Such good value too - with the Ferry fare included

Room Tip: We were in Room 86 - 2nd floor - no noise and even a side sea view - lovely to see the ships!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazelbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
1.7 mi away
Bayshore Hotel
Bayshore Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanklin Hotel

Property: Shanklin Hotel
Address: Clarendon Road, Shanklin PO37 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shanklin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanklin Hotel - Isle of Wight.(3 Alpha grading - AA Three star) One of the best known hotels on the island, the Shanklin is situated in Shanklin town with superb views from its magnificent Starlite Restaurant and many bedrooms. Shanklin Old Village is a few minutes' walk away and the beach is accessible via the nearby cliff lift. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shanklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing