We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanklin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shanklin Hotel
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
kings lynn
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

What a great hotel the Shanklin is, last year stayed at a Sandown Hotel that was very bad ,loved the isle so we came back this year, the Shanklin Hotel is of the best standard for its rooms, food that dont come out of the freezer, and the service, all i can say is very well done to all the staff for making our stay a great one.

Room Tip: We stayed in room no.7 nice size room, just a few steps down from reception, sea view if you are tal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingsLynnPiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Shanklin Hotel. I am very pleased you had such a great stay and that you loved the room, the food and the service! Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the Shanklin Hotel on a future visit to the Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    142
    62
    27
    18
See reviews for
52
164
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We had seven nights here,went with a coach party.When we arrive we were welcome by a lovely receptionist,given a cup of coffee,and then shown to our room.When it was time to come down to dinner,which was 1845 promp,not a minute before or after, my wife asked for a table for two but was told by this so called restuarant manager oh no your on a table for five,two elderly gentlemen and the coach driver. we were shown to a table by a stern looking waitress and told this is your table for all week,it would have been nice if she had smiled and been pleasant,but it was obvious to me that she was only friendly to the (private guests).It made us feel like second class guests.The bathroom floor was peeling up where it hadn't been sealed at the edges. Oh then there was breakfast went to go in at 0807 was blocked by this manager and told we are not ready for you yet,although all the tables were laid and ready,and was told to wait in the reception area till they were ready for us.The kingsize bed was very comfortable indeed,although the waterproof sheet underneath was a bit clamy, very nice flat screen telly as well,which was just as well becuase the atmosphere in the starlight room was sending us to sleep,only one show was worth watching all week.Will we be back,Isle of white yes, shanklin hotel NO!!!!

Room Tip: upper floors tend to be a bit on the hot side,try to get a sea view,becuase of the elervation of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamieandsue_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Shanklin Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the Isle of Wight and the welcome to the Hotel you received as well as your accommodation. We aim to be a friendly and welcoming hotel who will accommodate our guests needs and I had arranged with your coach driver to be as flexible with seating times as possible in the restaurant. I hope you do return to the Isle of Wight one day and hope that you may also give us another chance to make things right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel. the first visit was great which is why we were happy to return for the weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had e-mailed the hotel before to say it was our anniversary. Not once did any staff member acknowledge this. It would have been great if they had, even if it was just at check in.
The room was lovely with a great sea view .The receptionist was friendly and helpful. We had a bad experience in the restaurant on our second morning with poor customer service from the waitress.This marred what was a lovely weekend. Shame, because after this experience we will not be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Many thanks for writing a review of your stay at the Shanklin Hotel. I would like to sincerely apologise that your anniversary was overlooked by us during your stay - we want our guests to enjoy their breaks with us and like to help our guests to celebrate any special occasions. I am also sorry that you experienced poor customer service in the restaurant - being a friendly and welcoming hotel is what we strive for, so that is disappointing. Finally, I am pleased that you enjoyed the room and the reception service. I would like to talk to you more about your stay at the Shanklin Hotel and if convenient for you, could you please contact me at the Hotel? Many thanks and I hope to speak to you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed here for 7 days on a "half board" basis from 13 - 20 July 2012 and met on arrival by a very pleasant and helpful Receptionist who,allocated us to a spotlessly clean sea view room which had clearly been recently refurbished and proved to be most comfortable and very acceptable. Throughout our stay my wife and I were more than happy with all meals in the restaurant which were of a high standard in taste and presentation served by equally good restaurant staff. Although Dinner was a "Set Menu" there was more than enough choices to satisfy most people which was also true of breakfast as well. My only criticism of the restaurant was the difficuly in trying to order a bottle of wine as there rarely seemed to be a Wine Waiter around. Indeed on several occasions he had to be "found" by the waitress only to arrive at our table to take our order "after we had finished dinner"!! . On another evening he did not arrive at all !! The hotel must surely be losing a lot of wine sales because of this absence and I know that several others had the same problem. (Hotel Management -please note!)
Evening "entertainment" consisted mostly of a female singer and male guitarist who can only be described as "average" and "nothing to write home about", although some of the older guests seemed to enjoy them. It should be noted that this hotel seems to cater mainly for Coach Parties (3 coaches while we were there), so if you are looking for a high night life or disco dancing until the early hours, this hotel is probably not for you ! Nevertheless,overall the accomodation, food and service were very good and our stay was well worth the amount paid. We would happily stay here again and would recommend this hotel to other discerning guests.

Room Tip: The best rooms seem to be on the 2nd (top) floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgioGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at the Shanklin Hotel. I am really pleased to hear that you had a lovely time and that you enjoyed your accommodation, the restaurant and food. I will also pass on your comments regarding the wine table service to the bars team and we will seek to improve this and we are also beginning to review the entertainment for 2013. Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Our room had been recently refurbished and was quite modern, tasteful and relatively spacious, but the bathroom was a bit iffyn and needing some TLC - grotty floor and an intermittently hot and cold shower. The common areas were tired and old-fashioned. We came in early from dinner and decided to have a few drinks in the Starlight bar/ballroom. Mistake. There was a sad-looking party of around 8 complete with balloons who didn't speak for the whole hour we were in there, plus two other people and us (a group of 5). The cabaret act tried very hard, but in an almost empty and cavernous room they had their work cut out. On the plus side the wine was relatively inexpensive and there was plenty of choice on the breakfast menu the following morning. Can't say we'd rush back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Many thanks for writing a review of your stay at the Shanklin Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room, breakfast and the wine!! I was also interested to hear that the bathroom floor and the shower needed some attention and I will pass your comments onto the team as I'm sure they can be resolved immediately. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Just returned from 7day holiday with our coach company Coach travel 4u. and we all really had a good time. Food excellent especially breakfast, rooms spotless and clean entertainment very good.staff friendly and very helpful, swimming pool and jacuzzi lovely in fact would highly recommend it and will certainly return. Even the weather was good

My only little moan really is that I didn't find the groups booking staff very helpful I think they need
to be a little more flexible.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely but you do have to pay a little more
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DudleyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Many thanks for reviewing your stay at the Shanklin Hotel - it certainly sounds like you had a wonderful time!! It is always nice to read such lovely comments regarding the food, staff, bedrooms and entertainment and I'm pleased you enjoyed the swimming pool and jacuzzi too! I look forward to seeing you again in the future and hope we can provide some sunshine again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Firstly: We're 35 and the youngest by 30 years!

Secondly: it smells like my nans house !

Thirdly: the room is very basic for the price!

Fourthly: the starlight bar is like a scene from benidorm!

Lastly if you are 60 with no taste or sense of smell you'll love it but other wise avoid it like the plague!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S7evenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Shanklin Hotel. I am sorry to hear that your break wasn't what you had hoped for. It is also a shame that I didn't get to meet you while you were with us - maybe we could have resolved one or two of your issues. We have many guests who stay with us of a variety of age ranges and have received excellent feedback over the years so it is disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay. We are also refurbishing many of our bedrooms and have so far completed 57 to a high standard. I wish you all the best for your future holidays and once again, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Shanklin Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
1.7 mi away
Bayshore Hotel
Bayshore Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanklin Hotel

Property: Shanklin Hotel
Address: Clarendon Road, Shanklin PO37 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shanklin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanklin Hotel - Isle of Wight.(3 Alpha grading - AA Three star) One of the best known hotels on the island, the Shanklin is situated in Shanklin town with superb views from its magnificent Starlite Restaurant and many bedrooms. Shanklin Old Village is a few minutes' walk away and the beach is accessible via the nearby cliff lift. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shanklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing