We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely spot for a weekend away”
Review of Shanklin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shanklin Hotel
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A lovely spot for a weekend away”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Although the common areas of the hotel are a little dated our room was lovely - modern, light and airy. I suspect it has been recently done up. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. The inclusion of a cooked breakfast in the rate made it good value.

The hotel is in a good location for those (like us) without a car - it's a short walk from the railway station and bus stops.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    143
    64
    27
    19
See reviews for
56
168
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
worthing
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This was our third visit with a group, this time 80 people, our room was newly refurbished very clean and comfortable. Food was plentiful and menu choices were good. Staff very helpful and pleasant though sometimes service was a little slow. Entertainment varied, you can't please everyone, but one performer was outstanding (Dave Graham) There is plenty of space to sit and relax in the lounge, bar and foyer. Short walk to the seafront and not too far from busses and shops, The hotel does cater for a lot of coach parties which may put off some independent travellers, but single people, couples and small group are usually seated in a quieter part of the restaraunt. Our short break was good value for money and we would go back again.

Room Tip: Room 67 has a very good view over east Shanklin to the sea and distant cliffs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doreen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed the weekend and as usual, we have no complaints! The room was clean, the bathroom was clean and had hot drink making facilities. We had dinner included in our stay and the 3 course choice was superb. When the starter, main and pudding arrived - all 3 were LUSH! We don't usually eat alot, but we managed to clear every plate, both nights.
The staff were ever so welcoming, as usual, and even remembered us from previous visits. It was lovely to feel at home, away from home!
We could vary our stay and try somewhere new, however, we always return back to The Shanklin Hotel. The service, the food, the family run business establishment has been faultless to date and there is no reason to want to try somewhere different!
I've got family visiting from abroad in August and looking so forward to treating them to a weekend at the Shanklin Hotel in August again!!
Cannot wait!!!!
Thank you to all at the hotel for a FAB weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Wanted a reasonably priced hotel for an overnight group birthday celebration stay. The hotel were very helpful and efficient in taking our requirements and nothing was too much trouble. When we arrived, check in worked like clockwork. Rooms very comfortable. Evening meal was good value and again the service was good. The evening entertainment were very good - a duo and got us up dancing! Breakfast the next morning was also very good. Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SW46_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed for 5 days as part of a coach tour. Service at meal times was very efficent, thought we may be in for a wait as there was another coach party staying as well. Food was excellent and we never saw a miserable member of staff. A credit to the management.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rdw774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Heard so much about the Shanklin Hotel. When we were in another Hotel, near the Shanklin & about the Food. We were in dispair !! That was two year's previous.
In February this year, we had a chance to arrange a Five Day break. Which is what My Wife & Myself required
We really enjoyed our stay. ESPECIALLY AS IT WAS " OUR DIAMOND WEDDING ANNIVERSARY " WITH A CANDLE LIGHT DINNER ON THAT EVENING.
It was splended. Nothing was to much trouble. Service at the restaurant, alway's with a smile
and fast.
The bedroom was Large Clean & Warm,& Facing the Sea. It was Great except for the sea mist. There was a Lovely basket of Fresh fruit on the table. Which We eventually enjoyed.
The Shanklin Hotel " WAS A DELIGHT "To Spend A Few day's
Many Thank's To all The Staff. Also to Mr. G. Palmer. " The Manager " for everything.
Diolch Yr Fawr.
J.H.& V.D. Davies.

Room Tip: Fitness room & spar Not Used Due To Health. Wish we Could Have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Johndavies31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We certainly did like to be beside the seaside at the Shanklin Hotel ... once we could find it! In spite of the hotel's size, its poor signage made it difficult to locate. Even our sat nav gave up! We spent up to half an hour on an unwanted tour of the town, until we managed to follow some fellow guests who already knew the location.
Once there, we found the staff welcoming, polite and efficient. Although we were "mob-handed" - 134 of us for a ladies' night - the catering, service and bar staff coped without a hiccough. The food was good, and well up to the hotel's three-star standard.
Our sea-view room was newly refurbished, clean and airy and the beds comfortable. It was a pity we were roused by a false fire alarm at 8 a.m. the night after our big celebration.
The substantial breakfast was served at the table, which is a luxury in these days of buffets. If you are a lover of kippers, perhaps it would be wise to avoid the pallid poached efforts on offer.
What has happened to newspapers being delivered outside your door?
I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tovarisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
1.7 mi away
Bayshore Hotel
Bayshore Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#36 of 52 in Shanklin
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#16 of 52 in Shanklin
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#43 of 52 in Shanklin
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanklin Hotel

Property: Shanklin Hotel
Address: Clarendon Road, Shanklin PO37 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shanklin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanklin Hotel - Isle of Wight.(3 Alpha grading - AA Three star) One of the best known hotels on the island, the Shanklin is situated in Shanklin town with superb views from its magnificent Starlite Restaurant and many bedrooms. Shanklin Old Village is a few minutes' walk away and the beach is accessible via the nearby cliff lift. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shanklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing