We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IOW in the sun”
Review of Shanklin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shanklin Hotel
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I booked direct with the hotel and was offered the ferry crossing as part or the deal, dinner bed & breakfast. I travelled with my 85yr old mother, who needed the lift up and down from the excellent 2nd floor bedroom, which was a 50 meter walk to other end of hotel. The view was outstanding, and high enough not to be disturbed by passing traffic. The beds (twin) were very comfortable and we woke each morning to the sun shining in, could disturb some, we enjoyed the good weather that end of July offered.
We travelled out each day after breakfast and the room was cleaned upon our return. The food at dinner was made in great quantity for the full dining room,(also a window table over looking the sea view), which compromised the quality, but certainly tasty and hit the spot after a days venturing about.
The bar prices were reasonable which was the only thing we had to pay extra for, ohh, also the morning paper, which was normal shop price.
The 1 disabled parking spot was always taken, so had to drop mum near the entrance and then find a parking spot.
Wifi was only available in the lobby, but holidays are to get away from these computers.....
A very enjoyable stay in the Shanklin Hotel, helped by the weather.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SchoolTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

just got back from a lovely stay at shanklin hotel, coach party of around fifty we had a very good welcome and enjoyed our stay , staff were friendly waiters / waitresses / bar staff food was very good bar could have stayed open bit later, could do with some seating area out side as the weather was good i would have liked to sat outside.there was a coach party of us and i never heard anyone complain about anything in the hotel everyone enjoyed well done shanklin hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas_r681385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We recently spent a couple of nights here after a gap of about 5 years, still like going into a time warp on the ground floor, but we don't mind that, very happy that the rooms have been refurbished (although would have like to see the doors painted white) to a fair standard and we had a lovely sea view. We always go out in the evenings to eat and usually get back around 10.30 to see the last hour of the entertainment, sadly its not very well supported it could be a good night if more people were there, mainly "60's" era music which we love but might not suit everyone! Breakfast was fine, only thing lacking really is outside space it would be nice to have a garden area to sit in if the weather is good.

Room Tip: go for sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Overall this is a very good value hotel - to summarise:-
Room - we had the biggest family room that we have ever stayed in. Great to find a king size bed and sea view. It was cleaned daily but I would have preferred the room to be cleaned earlier than it was. My son would go to the local gym and return at midday but the room still hadn't been cleaned so he was unable to use a clean dry towel for a shower. Also, there was an occasion when the toilet roll wasn't replenished and glasses/cups weren't washed. Plus the bedroom doors are fire doors and have a hinge on them. Consequently guests just let them bang shut and I was woken every night during the night with loud bangs from bedroom doors shutting - not the hotel's fault I know but very annoying.
Staff - very friendly but there were not enough staff serving in the restaurant due to 2 coach parties residing when we were there, service was too slow. The waiting staff were very busy and the male waiter was very stressed. He was polite but you could see he was stressed and racing around like 'a headless chicken'. They also need to be briefed better on the description of the dishes and if they don't know don't guess but go and find out. For example the male waiter was asked what a veloute sauce was and said he couldn't describe it in case the customer didn't like it - a most odd response. There are several foreign waitresses who don't speak English that well which then made service even slower as they had to seek help from an English colleague. For example, I heard customers asking if the curry contained nuts and the waitress couldn't understand what I thought was a relatively simple question. I suggest you stipulate on your menu any meals that contain nuts. I must add that the menu choice is very good especially if you are a vegetarian and the food quality is good. One constructive criticism - have a portable chiller for the yoghurts at breakfast. My son eats several at home a day but yours were disgusting as they were warm due to being left out so long.
WIFI - only available in the lobby and bar and EXTREMELY SLOW
Leisure facilities - excellent swimmng pool although very cold. We only discovered the table tennis table on the last night. Why don't you have a sign in reception saying where it is as you do for the short mat bowls? The bats are broken and the balls squashed. Why don't you ask for a deposit and then customers would respect the equipment more? You do this for the bowls. They also have darts but there is no room to throw them due to boxes being stored nearby. The room in question is very depressing. It needs a face lift. This could easily be done by getting rid of the storage, putting up a few pictures/plants and not having all those chairs down there.

Room Tip: Ask for room not above the restaurant as people asked to be moved due to the volume of the entertain...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank WINSTONSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Where to start, firstly i don't normally write reviews but felt it necessary for this Hotel. The Hotel is very very dated dark and like stepping back in time, the breakfast was really poor and the tables were all worn and rocked about.

The staff were not friendly, The bedroom itself was ok apart from stains on the ceiling from an old leak and holes that had been filled but never painted

We paid one hundred pounds for one night and felt ripped off

location was good but there were lots of other hotels around, this would have to be a last resort !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay at the hotel, but what a shame that the hotel didn't meet your expectations! We have had many, many excellent reviews from the young and old who have stayed and enjoyed our breakfasts, rooms and our excellent service, so it seems a little unusual that what you experienced was so different.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Hotel is in a good location, a 5 minute walk from Shanklin Beach which has a few quiet pubs and restaurants dotted along.

Hotel room was clean, modern and well equipt with towels and toiletries.

The hotel itself I would say was more suited to the 'older' generation, my boyfriend and I felt a little out of place when entering the bar area, we were just going out and other guests seemed to be winding down and ready for bed :) !

Shanklin has a lovely beach but we found was a little too quiet, we headed in to Newport for the nightlife but got very stung on taxi fares, be careful who you get a taxi with because we were charged £21 to Newport on the way there but on the way back charged £46!! Complete nightmare, even the hotel staff were in shock.

Hotel staff very pleasant. Breakfast nice, usual fry up and cereals etc.

Overall had a great one night stay and made the most of the glorious heat wave!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us, what fantastic weather we have had!! I'm very glad you found the staff to be pleasant and enjoyed the breakfast, rooms and Shanklin itself. We will hopefully see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The hotel was a wee bit run down and the room was a wee bit poor and small as well. The food was ok. but the area was fine place to go to get around by train and bus but the bus fares were to pricey. And easy to get around shanklin and I know the place well..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Many thanks for your review of your stay at the hotel, although its a shame you didn't seem to have been able to enjoy yourself as much as you could have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bayshore Hotel
Bayshore Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#12 of 51 in Shanklin
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanklin Hotel

Address: Clarendon Road, Shanklin PO37 6DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: £67 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shanklin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanklin Hotel - Isle of Wight.(3 Alpha grading - AA Three star) One of the best known hotels on the island, the Shanklin is situated in Shanklin town with superb views from its magnificent Starlite Restaurant and many bedrooms. Shanklin Old Village is a few minutes' walk away and the beach is accessible via the nearby cliff lift. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shanklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing