We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel overall - although some contradictions!”
Review of Shanklin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanklin Hotel
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Somerset
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good hotel overall - although some contradictions!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Firstly, I would stay here again and I would recommend the hotel to others. However, although the staff were fantastic, the quality of the evening meals was superb and the room itself was clean and well decorated, there were just one or two niggles that let it down. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss - sometimes one rasher of bacon, sometimes two, sometimes a full grilled mushroom, sometimes half of one. The eggs were tasteless and the sausages were those nasty cheap full of rusk ones. Weird when evening meals were faultless and of great quality. The room itself was modern and clean, but the bathroom lacked towel rails and needed a good scrub around the edges. The pool was a tad on the cold side but the jacuzzi was great. Nothing too drastic, as I said, just niggles! Oh, and we could hear the live evening music from the bar *really clearly* despite being two floors up!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Henwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Many thanks for your review of your stay at the Hotel and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for the feedback on the 'niggles' you experienced and we hope we can resolve some of these for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    142
    64
    27
    18
See reviews for
54
165
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Great room with a seaview. Very clean, comfy bed and surprisingly spacious room. Staff very attentive and worked incredibly hard especially at the wedding. Good access for a walk along the coast, enjoyed the pool and the sauna as well. Would love to be there now!

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
I'm so pleased the wedding went well and it was a pleasure to have you all at the hotel. Congratulations to the happy couple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our third visit to The Shanklin Hotel , the last trip was five years ago .As soon as we gave our address the receptionist came back with our names,asked if we were Ok and would we like the room we stayed in the last two visits.To me it's little things like this that help to make a holiday.
The room (standard type) was clean and well appointed with double bed, large wardrobe , desk space, and wall mounted TV. The on suite was of good size with a shower over the bath.
At meal times you have a good selection of courses with table service and you keep the same table for your time at the hotel.You can stay at your table to watch the nightly cabaret
Every member of staff that we came in contact with were polite,pleasant, and nothing was to much trouble.

Room Tip: book direct with the hotel as you can get a better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenjunemason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review - I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us again and that you found the staff to be polite, helpful and pleasant! So lovely to hear that you are a regular with us as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral U.K.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I arranged this short break through Jones of Flint for a group of 41 pensioners, I Have used Jones before and never been disappointed not this time either. Hotel first class, rooms clean and well decorated, beds comfortable, plenty of hot water at all times,food and service first class, i had a sea view room but never saw the sea as most of the time it was too misty was it worth the extra ?? Evening cabaret very good different artist each night, good dance floor for the energetic.My only complaint was the small swimming pool was rather chilly for its size. All in all great 5 days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzyWirralU_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review. I am pleased that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Was checking for ferry inclusive breaks to I.O.W. and found The Shanklin Hotel. Phoned and booked within 15 minutes, after checking the weather forecast was good for the next week. What a good find. We had a sea view room, absolutely lovely view, large room, nice bathroom with a large porthole window( so unusual to have a window in the bathroom). Complimentary carafe of sherry in room, Never had that before. Break included dinner, and this was above expectation, really nice food, lots of fish, and choice wide. Staff were helpful and friendly. Weather helped because it was warm and sunny, and we loved Shanklin, village, chine and shore. Lovely break.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank librarianWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I went with a group of friends and nobody had any complaints we all enjoyed the food we had very comfortable rooms and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Include very nice weather for October and good entertainment in the evenings led to everyone having a very good holiday.

Room Tip: Crescent room was v. large
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 93cecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday with our coach group of 40 on Coach Travel 4u. Our group found this to be a really lovely hotel nice rooms several of us had sea views and excellent food with a very good choice. We were the last group of four coaches in to dinner each evening, but there was never any wait for our meals we were always served promptly. The staff were always helpful and pleasant. One of my group needed a special diet and she was very pleased with what she was offered even had her own varied menu each night.
The entertainment was good and the swimming pool a real bonus. Hope to return again next year. well done Shanklin.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views are lovely but sometimes you have to pay a supplement for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DudleyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
1.7 mi away
Bayshore Hotel
Bayshore Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 52 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanklin Hotel

Property: Shanklin Hotel
Address: Clarendon Road, Shanklin PO37 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shanklin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanklin Hotel - Isle of Wight.(3 Alpha grading - AA Three star) One of the best known hotels on the island, the Shanklin is situated in Shanklin town with superb views from its magnificent Starlite Restaurant and many bedrooms. Shanklin Old Village is a few minutes' walk away and the beach is accessible via the nearby cliff lift. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shanklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing