We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our expectation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanklin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shanklin Hotel
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded our expectation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Rooms were warm and comfortable, food was amazing and served HOT, staff were friendly and very helpful. The amenities were excellent and the prices more than reasonable. Off the main road and with a seaview location I would recommend this hotel whether you want a quiet family get away or a large group visit like we did and we hope to be returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheeljammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review - I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    142
    62
    27
    18
See reviews for
52
164
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Rooms are spacious and comfortable, food is amazing, staff are friendly and helpful. The amenities are excellent and the prices more than reasonable. With a seaview location I would recommend this hotel whether you want a quiet family get away or a large group visit like we did and we will definitely be returning

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the Shanklin Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you and your group had such a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

The staff are lovely. The rooms were spacious. I was in a single. Great place for a large venue at great prices.....Can't complain really! Shanklin could do with more tourism. It's a little tired, but good for charity shops. The hotel is very near the cliff which leads down to the promenade, that has some nice pubs and restaurants. If you like cazy golf.. It's a must! Location wise it is brilliant. Be warned the cliff lift is out of action during winter months.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christinawilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your very kind review and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll be very happy to pass your comments onto the staff who looked after you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

a large party of us was there last weekend (21/2/14) and I have to say the staff were very helpful ans friendly the food was lovely and the rooms very comfortable. The hotel has an indoor pool which is very clean along with a jacuzzi and steam room. I would highly recommend this hotel to people wanting to go to the isle of wight

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimwhestley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you so much for your stay over the weekend and for your review. I am glad you all enjoyed the weekend and hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have just got back from a long weekend break here and i cant fault the hotel, we found the it was excellent value and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, the food was excellent too, would advise anyone to book here and we will be going back again.
Thank you to all the staff who made our weekend so good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Many thanks for your review of your stay over the weekend. It was a pleasure to have you all and so glad you enjoyed your weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our 2nd visit to the Shanklin Hotel was two years ago, and was as good as we remembered it from the first time. The food was excellent, as was the service, not one thing I could criticise.
Nice pool/Jacuzzi Bath, and Sauna, which was made full use of.
I understand some, if not all of the Hotel has had refurbishment, so look forward to another visit hopefully in April (2014).
2/3 minutes walk from the cliff top Lift (elevator) this operates on a seasonal basis....unless things have changed from our last visit two years ago (doubt it) it will take you down to the promenade and all that is on offer there. Also just a few minutes walk from the High St.
Never had any problem parking in the Hotel grounds, but if it were in the height of the season "maybe" there could be problems.
As ever with the Isle of Wight, you are never far from a totally different Town/Village. Get fed up with one place or just want a change of scenery, then hop in your car or onto a Bus and sometimes Within minutes you are somewhere totally different. Attractions, of which there are many, from Carisbrooke Castle/Osbourne House (Queen Victorias getaway) Wildlife Park/Blackgang Chine, very good for the Kids, and a host of other things to see and do.....Some "Seasonal", check before visiting.
If you have never been to the Isle of Wight before, then this Island is a must see place, excellent for Kids as well, plenty to keep them entertained, all day everyday throughout the Island.
This Hotel like many others on the Island offers "Free" Car Ferry included on the price of your stay, usually on their "Special Offers", always check before booking.

Room Tip: We had a room that was in the block over the Pool, therefore away from the main area. However this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gormsgast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind and very thorough review of your stay! I am glad you enjoyed yourself and I'm pleased that you seem to love the Isle of Wight as much as we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed for 5 days from 23rd to 28th December 13. 2nd year and planning to return for Christmas 2014. Food and service superb, hotel decor possibly a little dated but clean and roomy. Comfortable beds and rooms. Take my 86 year old father who required assistance one evening, couldn't fault the attention from reception, fortunately nothing too serious but fully confident that all the help we could have needed would have been offered. Entertainment for the older generation but every night and reasonably lively.
Pool, sauna and whirl pool are an added bonus great for extra relaxation, couldn't think of anything I would rather do over Christmas.
Can see sandown bay as well as Shanklin from lounge and dining room, lovely walk into Shanklin but quite a climb back up the hill!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review and for staying with us over the Christmas period - I am really glad you enjoyed your stay and are coming back to us again this Christmas. We hope to make this one even better than the last!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
1.7 mi away
Bayshore Hotel
Bayshore Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanklin Hotel

Property: Shanklin Hotel
Address: Clarendon Road, Shanklin PO37 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shanklin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanklin Hotel - Isle of Wight.(3 Alpha grading - AA Three star) One of the best known hotels on the island, the Shanklin is situated in Shanklin town with superb views from its magnificent Starlite Restaurant and many bedrooms. Shanklin Old Village is a few minutes' walk away and the beach is accessible via the nearby cliff lift. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shanklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing