We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere, Great facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanklin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shanklin Hotel
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere, Great facilities”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing weekend staying here. Lovely pool, nice staff. Clean & fresh decor.

We spent 2 nights. As a younger couple, the entertainment wasn't aimed at us so nothing for us to do here in the evenings but the var was well stocked for us to enjoy before and after our trips out

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    142
    62
    27
    18
See reviews for
52
164
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend recently.The staff were friendly and very efficient.The food was excellent,served promptly and on hot plates. The Saturday entertainment was good,the music mainly of our era which brought forth much discussion as to who could name the original artist. Saturday & Monday entertainment not of such good standard,most people migrating to the lounge As previously mentioned by Peter T a sea view room well worth it so shipping activity could be followed. The only downside was the shower which varied in temperature & pressure without touching the taps. We would certainly stay here again if we go to the island again. The only downer being the dreadfull state of many of the roads,not being ideal for our MGs.

Room Tip: Go for seaview on 2nd floor,sunny in morning and lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have been staying at the Shanklin hotel on our holidays for the last 12 years, and returned for our holidays again. On arrival we found that the hotel had been sold to a holiday chain called Leisureplex uk.
The hotel staff are very good and are always friendly, the food is also very good , but we were very disappointed with the entertainment , we have always regarded the acts which appear to be of very good quality , this was not just our opinion but the opinion of the other guests, one cabaret act had a lady singing to backing tracks on her mobile phone.
but if you want a good relaxing holiday with good food and friendly staff the shanklin is the place to stay.
We have not yet decided if we will return again we will have to give it some deep thought after over 40 stays at this hotel.

Room Tip: do not stay in any room near room 53 this room and the rooms close to it are above the generator for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cat1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was overt of a group of 22 who stayed here for 4 nights at the end of June. We were a private party and we received excellent service in spite of the fact they 2 coach parties were also staying here. Food choice was a little limited but the service excellent and the staff friendly .
Some reports say the hotel decoration is a little tired but we found it clean and everything worked as intended. If staying here upgrade to a sea view room, the extra cost is well worth it for the view alone. One niggle is that the biscuits in the room were not replaced after the first day and there were no tissues or water in the room. However we did have a small decanter of sherry & 2 glasses!
Evening entertainment varied greatly, some led to dancing & some to an early departure to another lounge!
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: An upper floor sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbighshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed for 4 nights on a coach trip (50 of us) and found the staff pleasant and efficient, breakfasts basic but full English freshly cooked. The rooms clean, beds comfortable and towels fresh and fluffy. The bathroom needed refurbishing, but was clean. There was a varied menu for the evening meal and considering it is a 3 star hotel, the food was good and freshly cooked. We even had the daily papers delivered. No complaints, other than for the seagulls waking us rather too early in the morning!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day coach holiday to the Shanklin Hotel. I am disabled and have to use a wheelchair, usually coach tour hotels have limited access, basic and not very helpful. Not so with this hotel. Access to our first floor room was quite easy although only one lift but hey, I could wait I am on holiday. Our room had a beautiful view out to sea, and for what television we did watch it was a lovely size flat screen TV.The dining room was easily accessed and after the first meal my place at the table was made available at every mealtime, so my husband could push my chair straight up to the table, The meals were excellent with a good choice and the puddings, well, my mouth is watering just writing about them. Four days went by before we went to the beach. Not realising there was a lift. What a surprise. a lovely promenade with small cafe's for a drink and the most delicious Ice Cream. The only downside with this hotel was the beds which I found very hard. But that again is just preference.Most of the guests appear to be in our age group Sixty several but we still appreciate a good hotel and this is one. All in all I had a very happy and memorable stay at the Shanklin

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunseekerYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

stayed 5 nights with coach party .very comfortable stay very pleasant helpful staff ,vegetarian menu was a little basic but otherwise good food would definitely stay again but would ask for sea view room .The entertainment was a little dated but nice seating areas around foyer where you could sit and chat. Hotel very near to sea nice to have a stroll after evening meal .

Room Tip: would have liked a sea view, could here entertainment above our room, and large tree outside window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
1.7 mi away
Bayshore Hotel
Bayshore Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#32 of 54 in Shanklin
454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#16 of 54 in Shanklin
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanklin Hotel

Property: Shanklin Hotel
Address: Clarendon Road, Shanklin PO37 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shanklin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanklin Hotel - Isle of Wight.(3 Alpha grading - AA Three star) One of the best known hotels on the island, the Shanklin is situated in Shanklin town with superb views from its magnificent Starlite Restaurant and many bedrooms. Shanklin Old Village is a few minutes' walk away and the beach is accessible via the nearby cliff lift. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shanklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing