We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try elsewhere, IOW is great!”
Review of Shanklin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shanklin Hotel
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I think I must of been on the same trip as Paul T, see other reviews, and I agree with all he says although I think he is generous saying the Sunday Dinner was an improvement - I think the Roast Beef was straight out of a packet and so was the Chef's special - Chicken curry! The only food that appeared to be cooked fresh were the vegetables and the breakfast which I thought was very good!
The menu for the week ahead is on each table so you know what you have to look forward to!!!

The staff were very efficient and fed over 50 of us very quickly, on the first night no other guests were eating at the same time as us, perhaps they knew better! The restaurant manager seemed to be less than happy with his lot.

The room we had (68) was a side sea view with 5ft bed and had been recently decorated, the bathroom could do with tidying up a bit. Sound insulation between rooms and corridor is not great and you must turn your key in the lock to actually lock the door!!

Leisureplex have recently take over this hotel but I have no previous experience of their hotels.

Room Tip: Our room was quite reasonable for 3 star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mjderrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We visited as a couple, as part of a coach group. There were 4 coaches at the hotel and it was annoying that there were 4 separate breakfast/ dinner sittings. We were the last, meaning a late breakfast and late evening meal.This meant the hotel could use less staff, but it also meant we had to make special arrangements for outings, such as the half day mini cruise and the theatre visit.
Food was good. Service was a bit slow, especially at breakfast. Evenings staff were anxious to clear tables ASAP to reset for breakfast. Food quality was good and my only grumbles were fish laden with tiny bones and a 'seafood' cocktail which comprised chopped up cold smoked fish (kipper?) and chopped crabsticks on a bed of lettuce!

The seaview room was worth the extra but sadly needed modernising. The bathroom sink and vanity unit looked well used and desperately needed some TLC. Water supply was hit and miss and hot water came out in splashes and splurts. The shower was very difficult to control .... either cold or too hot.

Cleaning was good. Staff were helpful. Bar prices were a touch expensive. The cheapest bottle of wine with the meal cost over £14 and, as often with hotels, soft drinks were more expensive than alcoholic ones.

The indoor pool was small but adequate, although unsupervised, and a notice requested that the pool was only to be used when 2 or more people were present. There were no lockers available for clothes. The hotel supplied towels for pool use, free of charge.

Evening entertainment was ok.

Would we visit again? Overall our 4 nights there were good value for money, though we weren't too impressed with Shanklin town itself, and certainly not the promenade and beach areas which the local council barely maintains.

One other point. If your coach holiday offers a day trip to Newport market, don't bother. It comprises a dozen stalls haphazardly arranged around the town church.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grumpyg49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Booked the visit directly with the hotel who also booked the ferries which was helpful as we only paid one bill for the whole trip
The hotel was at best poor, lacking atmosphere and charm looked more like a 1960,s throw back with none of the nice bits just old fashioned which extended to most aspects of our stay
We booked and paid for a partial sea view guess what we got next door bedroom windows and a noisy extraction fan which was a disappointment and summed up the total package
The food on the Saturday night was straight out of an Iceland commercial and tasted the same bland and tasteless, but breakfast saved the day which was not a disappointment and shows when you try anything is possible. Sundays evening meal was much better and was a big improvement and made up for the previous poor fare offered
Quick tip have the soup starter you get a nice crusty roll otherwise no bread with evening meals

Saturday night has been cancelled by the new owners but guess what you get a Sunday Disco Dave with a drum machine and he tries to sing what a load of rubbish the guy was a total waste of breath and had no talent. Was as old as the songs he murdered and should have been put out to grass years ago if he had been a horse he would be glue by now

The staff work hard and try to make sure the place runs well but there is just not enough of them particularly customer facing staff one receptionist was run off her feet on reception and worked the bar no wonder they all looked tired. This looks like management maximising profits sacrificing service which is a shame as this is people we are talking about and they should be treated with more dignity

This place needs a full and comprehensive make over, after all how many Starlite rooms still exist and not just the buildings some of the management need to be more compassionate

Room Tip: First tip book some where else Second tip Do not book any room from 49 to 52 Noisy extraction fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in a sea view room which was nice, the view was amazing! Only problem was the building work going on opposite the hotel right outside our window, this woke us up every morning so not quite the relaxing break we were hoping for - I know this wasn't the hotels fault but we only booked a few days before arrival so I feel they could have warned us about this at the time of booking! we did ask if there was an alternative room but were told there was only a standard twin available and we wouldn't get a refund for the superior room we had paid for. Overall the hotel was nice, the swimming pool was good and the rooms clean. Meal times were quite limiting with breakfast only being served until 9am. The entertainment was aimed at the older audience so we went out every evening, which was fine as everything is in walking distance. Overall though it was a nice stay and the staff were all friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Now where do I start?!
I hope you are sitting comfortable this could take a while .
Arrived at the Shanklin Hotel looking forward to a relaxing and a pleasurable family weekend.
The room was clean and staff very friendly .
Good points made!
Unfortunately the hotel had changed ownership between booking and arriving.(booked after reading comments on trip advisor )
Now owned by a company called" leisure plex"
Breakfast is no longer buffet style and limited no croissants pastries etc or mushrooms with cooked breakfast.
Meal times are very limited evening meals between 6.30 and 7.30 last orders taken at 7.15 .
The evening meal I can only describe as canteen style food,and at £15 for 3 courses with no discount for a childs meal we where NOT impressed in the slightest.Could do better is an under statement!
The vegetables where over cooked and had obviously been kept warm for sometime.
My daughters food was cold on arrival and not much of it ! Adult portion supposedly!
Roast potatoes also over cooked brown in the middle. YUCK! as my daughter decribed them.
Dessert we thought you can't really go wrong with cheese and biscuits, oh how wrong I was grapes where passed their best on the way to being moldy! The cheese was dried out and scaley( is the only way I can describe it) like a snake.
I do hope leisure plex take note and do there best to bring this hotel back to if not a better standard than the previous owners, as I am sure guests who have spent their holidays here year after year would be very disapointed at the standard it as dropped to now!
All in all a disappoined family break which will not be repeated any time soon with any of the leisure plex hotels!
I do have to say again the staff are very friendly and did there best to make
Our stay as comfortable as possible.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
11  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel was part of a package coach trip which we decided to book after seeing the glowing write up in the brochure - a mistake we now feel.
The package was described as 4 star treatment all the way but this hotel is only 3 stars. Rooms were good size and clean beds and linen OK. No air conditioning or even a fan and it was very hot and humid- windows could not be left open at night for security reasons - due to flat roof right outside bedroom window, also street noise and noise from kitchen below room in early hours. Dining room was OK food average and staff all foreign they were attentive and were rewarded in the customary manner when we left. Entertainment each evening was generally good - if you could see it!!! The stage was in the same room as the dining area and as we were the last sitting none of our coach party could obtain comfortable seats to watch the evening's entertainment as only about 20 seats available with a guest compliment of some 100 plus!!! Management said they could have provided extra seats which I doubted as neither seats available of space to put them anywhere!!! Bathrooms were dated and in need of refurb. proper showers instead of the over bath / mixer tap type which is unsuitable for seniors and a slip hazard climbing in and out of the bath, no shelves or anywhere to place toiletries and inadequate ventilation. All in all a disappointing stay which will not be repeated.

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nobby69010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Had to wait for breakfast for 20 minutes and it was not even buffet! Had to ask for a bowel of fruit seriously? The member of staff was very stingy and i asked him for another bowel of fruit he completely avoided me!! There was no crossionts.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Shazia31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bayshore Hotel
Bayshore Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#11 of 51 in Shanklin
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#23 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanklin Hotel

Address: Clarendon Road, Shanklin PO37 6DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: £68 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shanklin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanklin Hotel - Isle of Wight.(3 Alpha grading - AA Three star) One of the best known hotels on the island, the Shanklin is situated in Shanklin town with superb views from its magnificent Starlite Restaurant and many bedrooms. Shanklin Old Village is a few minutes' walk away and the beach is accessible via the nearby cliff lift. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shanklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing