We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable,clean hotel with good food.”
Review of Shanklin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanklin Hotel
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Newport, S.Wales.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable,clean hotel with good food.”
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We stayed at the Shanklin Hotel for 3 nights during June 2010. We had booked a special deal for bed and breakfast with free dinner. The ferry fare was also included for the total price of £384 which we thought was good value for a 3 star hotel. When we arrived the car park was quite full but you can also park on the street next to the hotel if you need to. We weren't expecting the hotel to be as nice as it was as some reviews had mentioned that the decor was dated. The furniture isn't old. It just seems to be the look the hotel is going for with a slightly art decco feel. There is no musty smell as some reviews had mentioned. The reception area is nice with comfy chairs and a really good piece of artwork made with nails. The staff were really friendly and helpful and we were asked if we needed help with our bags. The bedroom was very clean and presented nicely. The furniture looked ok and it all seemed to be quite new but it wasn't great quality. Nonetheless it did the job. The bathroom was quite nicely fitted and it seemed quite newly done. The shower wasn't exactly a power shower but it was ok for what we needed. The room did get very warm in the night and we had to open the windows wide and leave the curtains open (there were blinds though) but we did manage to sleep fairly well until the seagulls woke us up. The food was really good. Breakfast offered continental (including porridge), followed by full English Cooked or a choice of eggs or kippers and then toast. The dinner was a good standard with nice starters (choice of 3), a choice of mains including veggie and gluten free options (although they did say gluten free food was prepared alongside other food) and a nice selection of desserts which were quite traditional e.g trifle and cheesecake. The entertainment was ok for what it was and it seemed to appeal to the older guests. We chose to go for walks after our meals. The sea front wasn't too far and there is a public lift to take you down from the cliff. We'd recommend walking into old Shanklin village and taking a look at the Chine (a gorge) which is lit up with coloured lights in the evening. It was quite spectacular. Other attractions we enjoyed were the Owl and Falconry Centre, the Needles and the Zoo in Sandown. Make sure you visit the Old Thatch Tea Shop in Shanklin and have a cream tea in the garden. It was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GladysWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    143
    64
    27
    20
See reviews for
56
168
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aussie in London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Stayed at the Shanklin Hotel over the Bank long weekend. Prices do go up over the long weekend but i still feel that £120 per night at the Shanklin Hotel is a bit much. The rooms are serviceable but nothing special. The bath was a bit grimy, the vacuuming could have been better and there were greasy hair spots above the bed. The sea views were lovely and the walk down to the beach was short. We did not eat in the hotel so i'm not sure what the breakfast was like. The hotel is dated- you do feel like you are in a time warp there but it's serviceable. I would have been happy if i had paid around £50 a night.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daggy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

There was a large group of us on a walking break. I had such a fab time (the good weather had much to do with it). My main praise was for the hardworking and polite catering staff. The food was superb. It was clean but in need of updating. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2010

This hotel was really lovely , i went with my partner and even though we were the youngest there by atleast 40 years we had a really nice time . we werent expecting anything flash with the price we paid and it wasnt but what it was , was a really clean and friendly hotel that tried there best to please we were a little young to enjoy the entertainment but they did cater for the majority . The food again wasnt anything flash but was really nice my partner did moan he didnt get enough but he is 6 foot 2 and could consume his own weight in food at 1 sitting . all in all a really clean and friendly hotel and a very pleasent holiday . oh with very comfy beds n soft towels

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
1.7 mi away
Bayshore Hotel
Bayshore Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#31 of 52 in Shanklin
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#16 of 52 in Shanklin
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanklin Hotel

Property: Shanklin Hotel
Address: Clarendon Road, Shanklin PO37 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shanklin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanklin Hotel - Isle of Wight.(3 Alpha grading - AA Three star) One of the best known hotels on the island, the Shanklin is situated in Shanklin town with superb views from its magnificent Starlite Restaurant and many bedrooms. Shanklin Old Village is a few minutes' walk away and the beach is accessible via the nearby cliff lift. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Shanklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Hotel Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing