We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit like Fawlty Towers!”
Review of Langham Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langham Court
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 1 July 2011

From the outside this place is terribly dated and looks in disrepair. Our room was clean and comfortable, but dated again. Also the twin beds were the smallest singles we had ever seen! The TV was v basic with bad reception. The chap on the desk was rather over familiar at times and we tried to aviod him wherever possible. BUT...the breakfasts were splendid and well worth staying for. On the whole, no frills place to stay that does the job. They need to spend some money on the place however because the outside really put us off!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaztin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2011

The hotel itself seemed ok. Dated decor but comfortable enough bed and facilities, although they were tight with their biscuits!
The freaky thing was the owner. He was gloating over the weather forecast to anyone going to the IOW festival and chose breakfast to very loudly tell one poor couple what he thought he saw on the CCTV of the swimming pool! Causing great embarassment to the rest of us trying to have a quiet start to the day. It was not the way to deal with things and left us all with an comfortable feeling of voyeurism.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saintstatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We booked the trip through our local coach company, very nice coach and very obliging driver.
The hotel was clean, the food was very good, the service was exellent and the staff were very friendly. For the price I paid absolutely no complaints at all. It is situated about five minutes from the beach, the town centre and the railway station.
First time I have been to the Isle of Wight, what a lovely place, I shall certainly be going back there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stokie200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We arrived and found out that we did not have the rooms we brought. Then told that we booked different rooms until an email I produced proved otherwise! We booked for the £10 per head evening meal. Awful food- like that you would have in a nursing home. All produced from a freezer and was slapped in front of you with no care, attention or service. Breakfast was ok but no fresh fruit or extras, just toast, cereal and a cooked breakfast. There was also a notice that if you had second helpings of cereal or juice, you would be charged extra!

Very poor decor and hotel bedroom very dirty. Room noisy and although we had tea/coffee in room, biscuits were not filled again when eaten. Some staff were friendly but sevice/standards were not that of a hotel or even a B and B. Shanklin where hotel located was lovely though.

Worse hotel I have stayed in my a long shot and I will be complaining to the Manager. Pool ok but cold. Staff were ironing in the public areas! My friends shower was not working and my Sisters water from her bath was leaking in the room below. Apparently the staff knew about this!! Almost pretty expensive. Should be closed. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Misshonest12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This hotel was a complete shambles!

We had booked a long time ago for 4 rooms to celebrate a special birthday of my Mums. We were paying nearly £50 each per night for b&b so were expecting a niceish quality hotel.

Upon arrival we had all of our rooms mixed up and did not get sorted - half the party were then sharing when had wanted single rooms that were booeked etc.

Food was abysmal for the evening meal - breakfast was reasonable.

The rooms and whole hotel were filthy dirty. Our bathroom leaked and everytime used shower the people in the room underneath ours got leaked on as the tile sealant was all missing between bath and tiles. The rooms were filthy dirty and in dire need of at the least a thorough clean if not complete refurbishment.

Other members of our party had no shower and live electric wires showing behind plug but I will leave them to review their own room!

All in all - if you were paying £10 per night or on a budget coach break without being rude it would probably be acceptable. Given what we were paying we were expecting a little bit more - cleanliness at the very least!

The staff were all very pleasant and you could tell most were embarrased by the hotel.

Location was good but I would recommend there are far nicer hotels in the same road even that are far superior and also a lot cheaper!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cornishgirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Was on the same coach trip with National Holidays as the Darwen Boys who have already left a review below. Stayed for 4 nights Monday and left Friday morning with my 12 year old son who equally enjoyed his stay. We had the family room with en suite bath/shower and it was clean and spacious for our needs.
Choice of cereals and juice followed by cooked breakfast with toast tea or coffee was a good start to the mornings, and 3 course evening meals brought back the feelings of home, the evening meals were choosen during breakfast of which you had a choice of starter, main course and pudding. We thoroughly enjoyed them all throughout the week!
There is a bar area with evening entertainment each night.
We had to ask for pool access in person for health and safety reassons as there was a special needs party staying at the hotel the same time we arrived. This did not bother my son and we had no problems with the other party in the course of our stay. The pool is pleasant tastefully decorated with neo classical statues and a roman feel about it was relaxing, towels are provided pool side, the jacuzzi however was out of order.
I applaud the staff for their outstanding customer service, they were very curtious and nothing was too much trouble! I asked for a fan on the first evening of our stay as I have asthama and found it hard to breathe because it was a warm day, and it was put in our room the next morning. Our suitcases were taken up to our rooms for us on arrival and then taken back down to the lobby when we left. I really appreciated this service indeed!
Shanklin is so ideal if you have children, its a 5 minute walk down to the beach and has various activities and attractions like mini golf or is called crazy golf, along with other fun seaside favourites and cafes looking out on this beautiful stretch of sandy beach. If you get tired of walking along the beach there is a lift near the end that takes you back to the top for a small fee, but we decided to use leg power to work off the calories after our evening meal.
The hotel is close to all amenities including the train station which is 2/3 minute walk away from the hotel, a few takeaways nearby and close to Shanklin town centre and Old Shanklin village "very pretty" picture postcard thatched cottages and shops, lovely area in all and I would go back to this hotel again. Obviously this is a seasonal area, the hotel closes from January to March for repair work and maintenance.
Before we left I made a point to generously tip the various members of staff that served us including the chap that took our cases up and down for us, and I hope you'll do the same, as it is great way to show them how much of a difference they have made to your stay, and is the only way to show personal appreciation and gratitude! I would indeed recommend this hotel.
The staff are a great credit to this hotel! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prettypolly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

very impressive
all staff helpful and courteous
we arrived wet on bicycles which they let us store safely inside the hotel
came to our room to tell us our taxi had arrived
and lent us books and gave us advice about cycle routes

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbyshorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.4 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#32 of 51 in Shanklin
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensmead Hotel
Queensmead Hotel
#19 of 51 in Shanklin
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Court

Address: 48-54 Atherley Road, Shanklin PO37 7AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: £64 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langham Court 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Langham Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Court Hotel Shanklin
Sherwood Court Shanklin
Langham Court Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing