We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed”
Review of Langham Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langham Court
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Nice clean comfortable hotel, staff very friendly, Meals were good portions although some were not to my taste but then each to their own....the swimming pool was great although not very big, our group of 4 adults had plenty of room to swim. The entertainment was really good .I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldfinch95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

Just returned from a very enjoyable 5 day holiday staying at the Langham Court.
Yes the hotel is dated as are most of the buildings on the I.O.W. so no problem there.
The room was small but clean and tidy, the service was fine, the tv worked perfectly and the water was always hot for a shower etc. The evening entertainment was superb. The only complaint I had was one evening I was given a bad pint. after drinking a bit of it I took it back, they gave me a fresh drink and made me pay for that as well as the original pint even though they admitted that the first one was off. My wife and I made some good friendships during our stay and I must thank Travel Style with particular mention regarding our Driver (GLYNN) who was brilliant the whole of our stay.

Steve

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerseysideRelaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

found this hotel to be better than expected room was small but didn't spend much time in there bathroom quite large shower hit and miss.dining very organised no waiting for food. food ok nice concert room, indoor pool looked nice but never went in to busy on trips out .would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darlomag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

For the price we paid this was just right. The decor was tired, old-fashioned but clean and everything worked. The swimming pool was great. Quite funny over the top Greek decor in the basement with deckchairs. However, rather effective and we had a laugh there. Entertainment was alright and the location was just right inbetween the town centre of Shanklin and it's lovely beach.
Also, the hotel was right next door to three different take aways which was handy.
The bar was not overpriced for a hotel. There was a childrens room which was sweet for our 4 year old but probably not for anyone over 6. Apart from the pool it's basically a bed and breakfast. You get what you pay for and we had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Family room was unexpectedly good with a connecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinksasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I would just like to take the opportunity to say how much we enjoyed the stay at the hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful with all our needs and enquires. Although the rooms were quite basic they had everything that we required.
The rooms were very clean and tidy and had recently been redecorated to a good level. The food was very good, with a good choice of evening meals that were served on hot plates and in a timely manner.
We found the lady manager to be most helpful and knowledgeable and made time for the guests.
The indoor swimming pool is lovely, the room where the pool is, is heated as well as the pool.
All in all we enjoyed our stay there and would certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coachingman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Simple words of advice....DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

Ignore these words and you will be sorry

As of May 2011 I can assure you that this hotel has not been updated since May 1911.

Masking tape over holes in the carpets
leaking taps
Faulty TV's
No hot water
NO SHOWERS - NO SHOWERS - Just a bath which was COLD!
Food was disgusting

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AHar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

From the outside this place is terribly dated and looks in disrepair. Our room was clean and comfortable, but dated again. Also the twin beds were the smallest singles we had ever seen! The TV was v basic with bad reception. The chap on the desk was rather over familiar at times and we tried to aviod him wherever possible. BUT...the breakfasts were splendid and well worth staying for. On the whole, no frills place to stay that does the job. They need to spend some money on the place however because the outside really put us off!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaztin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Villa Mentone Hotel
Villa Mentone Hotel
#27 of 51 in Shanklin
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
#18 of 51 in Shanklin
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#32 of 51 in Shanklin
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Court

Address: 48-54 Atherley Road, Shanklin PO37 7AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: £65 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langham Court 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Langham Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Court Hotel Shanklin
Sherwood Court Shanklin
Langham Court Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing