We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As another poster said Faulty towers”
Review of Langham Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langham Court
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The holiday stared off ok, everybody was polite, I had arranged for a birthday cake for my partner and this enabled her to have an enjoyable evening, she asked if the remains could be wrapped up and it dissapeared never to be seen again, It was a cheap holiday so cant really complain about the food except it seemed either frozen or out of a packet, Everything went pearshaped on the last night, we were informed to settle our bills, bar tabs etc, there were a few coach passengers staying at the hotel and the driver had put up a poster saying that because of an early departure they would be having breakfast at 7am, normal breakfast time was 8.30-9am.
The manageress came round the dining room and informed us that breakfast would only be served from 7.15 to 7.45, now the majority of people had arrived by car and had booked their ferry crossing to coinside with the 10am checkout time, When i complained the manageress became very rude and said we were all classed as coach passengers.

Room Tip: Choose a differant hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerry60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamCourt, Manager at Langham Court, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Firstly we would like to thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not completely satisfactory.
In regards to breakfast, the travel company advised us that a 7am breakfast was required for the group. We decided that to serve until 7.45am for the last serving was appropriate and this was duly arranged. This information had been posted on the notice board all day and no-one who was self-drive came to reception before the last evening meal to inform us that a later breakfast would be required. We were then informed that there was an ex-chef on the premises who would be willing to cook a later breakfast, the offer was very kind but we refused as it would be against any good safety and hygiene practices.
A mixture of fresh and frozen vegetables is served to give a variety of colour, taste and texture.
The cake that you requested was supplied free of charge. You asked for it to be wrapped to take home/eat later and this was done. Unfortunately it was never asked for and therefore thrown away Monday afternoon.
We try our upmost to make sure that everyone has an enjoyable stay at Langham Court and are sorry that these issues seem to have spoilt your last day.
Regards, Langham Court.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

We recently stayed here for one night and the owner was a lovely lady who couldn't be more helpful but this b & b has def seen better days and needs an overhaul, it is very tired and dated. On the plus side hot water was in abundance and heating was on the in the room, but our room was on the busy main road, and also the b & b is situated at traffic lights - so getting off to sleep took longer that anticipated.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetravelling1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Just ended yet another great week at the Langham court in Shanklin. . As always we were given a warm and friendly welcome by the manager and her staff. The only thing was the amount of food put in front of us. We could not move after the meals. A previous review (since removed) said that the food portions were poor and that hot water was not available until after 12 noon.
What a load of rubbish, the water was always piping hot 24 Hours a day. Food was excellent. I often wonder if some of the people who write such reports only stay in 5 star hotels!!!!
Oh and i am bemused at how anyone can write a review on a hotel unless they have stayed there themselves. As far as myself and my family are concerned, you will not get a more homely and friendly welcome than at the Langham Court.
Dave

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamCourt, Manager at Langham Court, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The decor is poor, the rooms are small, the room lights kept tripping out, the water supply to the showers is dangerously variable. The food, whilst plentiful, is unimaginative and often overcooked although the wait staff were as helpful as the petty rules allowed.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Bigeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Just returned from our new year break at the Langham Court in Shanklin.
From the minute you arrive you are made welcome. The owner Mrs C is a lovely person and goes out of her way to make sure guests have a comfortable stay, Most of the rooms have now been refurbished to a high standard and the food is excellent. ( keep hold of the chef ) . We have stayed here a few times and never have any reason to moan. (apart from the amount of food we had to eat at new year, ) WOW. Get tourselves to this hotel for a very warm and friendly atmosphere, and a great stay. WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed here from Friday to Monday. Outside did not bely the rest of the hotel. No lounge (only a bar which was not open all the time), minute bedrooms with shabby furniture, stained carpets and well worn/scratched furniture. Bathroom was tiny (but clean) and bath was chipped, shower hose was found hidden behind pipes behind loo. Food was more than adequate, and plenty of it. However, the receptionist (Bronya?) and various other members of staff were helpful, cheerful and very willing. On returning from walk from Sandhown to Shanklin was surprised that there was nowhere in the hotel to get a drink. On overhearing my comments Bronya went and fetched another member of staff and they offered to make me a cup of tea or coffee or fetch me a drink from the bar - could ask for no more - and these offers were genuinely made - it was not lip service. Could not honestly recommend this run-down, tired hotel but the staff were wonderful.

Room Tip: Although opposite a chinese restaurant, the hotel was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

stay away from this hotel its the worst hotel ive ever stayed in terrible food everything about this hotel is nasty

Room Tip: choose a front facing rooms they might be better than the back one we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattie2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Villa Mentone Hotel
Villa Mentone Hotel
#26 of 51 in Shanklin
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
#18 of 51 in Shanklin
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#32 of 51 in Shanklin
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Court

Address: 48-54 Atherley Road, Shanklin PO37 7AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: £65 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langham Court 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Langham Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Court Hotel Shanklin
Sherwood Court Shanklin
Langham Court Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing