We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Langham Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langham Court
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at the Langham during the May Bank Holiday 2013.

This hotel offers accommodation of a reasonable standard. Soft furnishings and furniture in the rooms are tired but functional nevertheless. The linen/towels were clean and there was no mould in our bathroom. What do people expect for the price they paid for their room? Our room, 109, wasn't the brightest room (due to the choice of decor), but we were very comfortable during our stay. My mum's room, 110, was much nicer! The pool area was fabulous - quiet and unspoilt. The breakfasts were plentiful and a good standard too. How anyone can complain about a hotel based on how they cooked the eggs amazes me!!! ...you only have to ask! ..or the noise in the lift - it clunked as it arrived at the floor - big deal!

The Manageress was more than helpful, she went out of her way to ensure our stay was the best, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. They couldn't do enough for us.

The hotel is in a great location for the beach/shops, etc - quite a nice distance to amble in the evenings and only a few minutes in the car.

I am hoping to book another visit to the Isle of Wight for the Spring Bank Holiday and hope there will be availability at the Langham. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 110 was bright and sunny. Rooms on the front of the hotel could suffer noise from traffic and "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    48
    28
    18
    39
See reviews for
27
50
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London NW10
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Part of a David Urquhart Easter Weekend Tour, which was excellent value.
However as a single traveler, avoid room 115 as it must be one of the smallest rooms (and single bed) that I have ever stayed. I did not request a change in room as the en-suite had a very large bath, which I craved for, having only a shower at home.

The hotel was very busy, but the service and food quality maintained a very high standard.

This was my second stay at Langham Court, and would stay again, but in a different room.

Room Tip: Avoid room 115 if a single traveler, with a tiny bed and a view facing a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Visited the Langham Court Shanklin on a family New Year break. We arrived on Dec 30 to the warmest welcome from Mrs C and Mr O. Just as last New Year, the hotel was just short of full with two coach parties and many private guests, some whom were there last year (that says a lot).
As always, we found the staff very friendly, food very good and plentiful. Unfortunately, on arrival the heating in part of the hotel had gone down but this was very quickly sorted the following morning. Entertainment was good as always and all round we had a very comfortable stay. Having read the review from Zoe101991, i ask a couple of things, 1. if the room was that bad, did she not ask for another room? (i have seen this room , there is nothing wrong with it) 2. As the hotel is on a busy junction, does she not think that traffic will be moving outside?
3, Where did she go for breakfast? it certainly was not the Langham Court. The food is good and plentiful. We have been to this hotel both privately and myself as a coach driver and have NEVER found the staff anything but pleasant. Keep up the good work . WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Me and my partner went to this hotel on 23rd September till 28th September, we had room 117 on the first floor and can say the general consensus is not good. A long, very narrow winding and uneven corridor lead from the stairs and lift (lift was awfully rackety). The carpets were bad throughout, in places not even meeting. The floorboards were uneven and moved when stood on. The room itself again was horrible, we had a twin room and at first we thought it was great, the beds push together easily and we had a spare room however that's about where the good things finish.

The central heating was on constantly throughout the hotel on a high temperature, making the room and generally the hotel almost unbearable.

The bathroom was mouldy and the extractor fan caked in dust. The shower cubicle did not meet the wall (gaping hole) and the shower was a pathetic excuse of a shower. The bottom of the shower cubicle had poor drainage and was almost to the point of overflowing. The Toilet seat never stayed up without having to hold it.

The bedroom, again was caked in dust and there was a tissue on the floor when we arrived showing that the room had not been cleaned to the correct hotel standards. The bed sheets were not changed throughout the stay. The signal for the TV was rubbish and the slightest movement would knock this completely out. The general electrics in the room were fairly shoddy with lopsided sockets. Outside the room there was a lot of noise, We could easily hear people talking and walking down the corridors and outside we could hear people and traffic very easily.

We found the breakfasts (we only had breakfasts in the hotel for 3/5 mornings) were horrible. The eggs were undercooked, the toast stale and generally not nice. The selection of cereal was ok, not great but better than the cooked breakfast. We had seen several loaves of bread that had been in the car for more than 6 hours that was used towards the food in the restaurant.

The majority of staff were ok but some were in our eyes, rude and patronising.

The fire alarm went off twice during our stay for what appeared to be faulty equipment.

All in all, we had a good holiday but would not recommend Langham Court to our worst enemy's.

Room Tip: Avoid completely but if you have to go make sure you check the room is clean, the toilets and shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zoe101991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2012

my partner and i stayed here from the 21st sept 2012 to 24th sept 2012 first time i have ever been and i must say that it cudnt of been any better 10 out of 10 for the staff a very nice place to stay ..yes its not the ritz but cudnt fault it the room was clean and warm and the food was lovely very tasty and great value for the cost of our stay never had one single complaint ,the hotel even provided me with a surprise birthday cake which was great ,keep up the good work you all do ,

will just point out that the bathroom was very small not a lot of room

Room Tip: we had 208 a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paultylr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just got back from a 4 day stay & have to say that we loved the place .
The food was fantastic & staff were brilliant .
We stayed in room 208 and had no problems at all . We had a bath with a shower & the water was lovely & hot .
I would defiantly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We went on the 17th September till 21st September, we had room 121 NOT GOOD on first floor.
A long corridor very narrow to get to room,very very small room and not at all clean,carpets were bad,shower a dribble it was scalding or freezing would not work with both taps on.
No heating on in rooms when i asked at reception was told we will put it on for 1 hour and that's what they did we were COLD in our room never again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamCourt, Manager at Langham Court, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Thank you for your response I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. With regard tot he heating I agree it was put on for an hour as most guests did not want the hotel any warmer but, you were offered a heater for your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#37 of 54 in Shanklin
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#16 of 54 in Shanklin
414 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
#22 of 54 in Shanklin
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#23 of 54 in Shanklin
143 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 31 in Sandown
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Court

Property: Langham Court
Address: 48 - 54 Atherley Rd, Shanklin PO37 7AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Langham Court 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langham Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Court Hotel Shanklin
Sherwood Court Shanklin
Langham Court Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing