We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only thing missing was the sentry towers”
Review of Langham Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Langham Court
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 4 August 2013

just got back from a four night stay at this establishment and got to say it was the worst hotel me and my partner have ever stayed at.the room was just awful ,the stale smell hits you as you enter ,it never left.the bed was supposed to be a double,it wasn't.we had to boil the kettle on the floor as there was no sockets near the furniture. bathroom ,water either scolding or freezing .meals very very basic,ie pizza and chips.basically the hotel was full and the impression we got was get them in .feed them then get them out .the owners need to totally update the hotel and look at their customer care values or else they wont have many recommending this hotel

Room Tip: look before you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

We went to Langham Court as part of a Travelstyle holiday and loved every minute!

Our room was spacious, modern and clean. We had a bath and a shower. A little noise from the traffic but I'm not sure what the hotel could have done about that.

The food was fantastic and there was lots of it. We were late on the first day and they accomadated. I had to go to hospital on the first morning and they saved my breakfast and served me as soon as I was back. Really sweet.

The pool was lovely, the ballroom was great and the outside area was fab to sit in. The barman was v. helpful.

In fact all of the staff were great!

Location was perfect for the sea and esplanade and the town.

For me, this was the perfect hotel. We'll definitely be coming back. :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleanorB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just returned from a family 8 day holiday at the Langham court hotel in Shanklin I o w . Once again we were looked after from start to finish. We were joined by a coach party from Scotland which didn't arrive until late Friday but everyone from the coach were really chirpy . As usual.
Nothing was too much trouble for Mrs C and her staff . As always. A very big THANK YOU to all at the Lamgham Court for another great weeks break . See you all soon.
Dave mum and Julie .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Had a lovely stay here. Average rooms but a nice indoor pool to have a swim. Food was also lovely and just a short stroll to the beach and shops, this hotel was perfect for our stay in Shanklin. The evening entertainment also keeps you occupied on the nights with a little music and friendly service in the bar area. Great staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed for weekend 7th-10th June 2013.On arrival our room was not suitable for us,requested a change and was given different room.Had to stay first night in original room as all twin rooms were occupied,but that was ok.The move was done for us first thing on the Sat morning,so we didn't have to lift a finger (thankyou).How anybody can fault the food is laughable! absolutely yum,and the portion sizes were more than enough.Our main waiter M was attentive,polite,and everything else good.All other staff we came in contact with were much the same.Mrs C always had a smile on her face,no matter how early in the day or late at night it was.How she keeps going is a mystery!!!Thankyou to all you made sure our stay was as good as could be.The rest was up to us!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Just returned from a 4 day break at Langham Court in my opinion it is a good value hotel. Its not the Ritz but we did not pay Ritz price. The staff were very friendly and made our stay very welcoming, nothing was to much trouble for them. One guy was given a surprise Birthday cake from the staff which was very nice. Our room was 104 a twin room which was rather small but had a bath and shower and was clean and tidy. Tea and cofee facilities were provided on the dresser. The beds could do with a new matteress, they were noisy when turning over, but we got used to them by the end of the stay. The food was very nice, A full english to set you up for the day and a choice of 3 courses for dinner. On an evening their was entertainment of 60s singer Jim, Patsy a female impersonator, and a country western singer all very good. If you want good value and a simple clean room to lay your head without all the frills then the Lanham is for you.

Room Tip: 104 was quiet room but looked out on to somones kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettybo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The outward appearance of the hotel appears old fashioned but inside the staff are welcoming and helpful. The decor in the rooms is good and are equiped with all you need for a lovley stay, as well as being clean and comfortable.
The hotel has an indoor pool but no changing rooms so bring a bathrobe if you intend using it as you have to walk to the pool from your room in your costume! At the pool there are towels and loungers for your conveinence.
Breakfast was included with plenty of choice and very attentive staff. A lovley start to the day.
We had two requests while there and these were granted straight away, nothing seems to much trouble.
There is entertainment in the evening which appears to be local acts, and a bar, and free parking.

Room Tip: If you want to use the pool ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
459 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
334 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Court

Address: 48-54 Atherley Road, Shanklin PO37 7AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: £63 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langham Court 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langham Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Court Hotel Shanklin
Sherwood Court Shanklin
Langham Court Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing