We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay”
Review of Langham Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langham Court
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just returned from coach tour staying at this hotel which I found clean and comfortable. Agreeable some areas were a bit dated but not everyone likes mdern furniture. The bedroom was spacious and very comfirtable and although our room was to the front we did not find the traffic noisy after 11pm, therefore did not prove to be a problem. Food was basic, plentiful and we did have several choices for each meal. I felt it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Betty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed recently with family for 4 nights. This is a cheaply priced hotel which is handy for a quick break and you get what you pay for. The good points :-
Staff very friendly and helpful. Nicely presented indoor swimming pool with loungers and towels provided. Very clean throughout. Handy position for beach, bus and rail stations and, short walk to old town.
Not so good points:-
Food plentiful but, quality and range could be improved. Needs a downstairs, cosy, quiet lounge area instead of the chairs in reception. Also, reception area could be upgraded. Coloured bathroom suites are somewhat dated and white suites would be a big improvement. Bar area needs modernising. Noise from road traffic but, not hotels fault.
Overall, we enjoyed our break and got what we expected for the price paid. The negative points above are things which should be given consideration to improve the hotel and are not meant as undue criticism.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

my husband and i stayed here as we were attending a wedding and the option to use a coach company ,travelstyle , was based on price and convenience .i would not say I was completely happy with the hotel as it is dated ,but must add it was very clean .the bedding and towels were old but again very clean .I think the hotel is caught up in a budget trap ,,,cheap holiday stay with probably little profit for the hotel .Had no issues with deposit for remote control as its not the hotels fault people steal !!! This hotel must have been lovely in its day ,the pool is good but some areas just need money spent on them ,having said that I probably couldn't afford to stay there if they improved it .I enjoyed my stay and must applaud the staff for their welcome and service. their approach was professional and courteous and would put a more exclusive establishment to shame .

Room Tip: we stayed in room 106 above the bar at the front of the hotel ,but it was traffic noise that was a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank treacle65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamCourt, General Manager at Langham Court, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Langham Court. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

weve just had a few days on the Isle of Wight, we had a great time. The hotel was very good good food and the staff was very happy to do anything for you. The coach driver was great his name was Andy, he took us to loads of different places.first we went to Osbourne House, which was lovely then onto a steam train ride.we also went to the needles. there is lots to do in Shanklin so please try it for yourself.

Room Tip: anywere is good we were on the ground floor nobody complained about anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Florence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have just returned from the IoW (my first visit) staying at the Langham Court Hotel and I my surprised at the reviews that I have just read on Trip Adviso.
DO PEOPLE EXPECT THAT THEIR STAY WILL BE COMPARABLE TO THE BELLAGIO IN LAS VEGAS, THE SAVOY IN LONDON, THE GRAND IN BRIGHTON OR THE ECO MERIDIAN IN LAGOS FOR THE AMOUNT THAT THEY ARE PAYING,
Having stayed at these and other 4 and 5 star hotels (plus a 7 star in Dubai) throughout the world
I THINK NOT.
I Travelled with a Coach Party and arrived at about 3.00pm and went straight to the Bar where we were greeted by the "BOSS" (What a pleasant lady) who served us with pride in her establishment and a sense of humour.
I was given a room that was both clean and comfortable (if I was paying prices of the hotels previously mentioned then I might complain about the size but HEY HO)
The food at both Breakfast and Dinner was plentiful and good value for what we were paying,
Staff throughout the hotel were very pleasant, polite and took pride in the establishment and the jobs that they were doing,
The entertainment in the bar area in the evening may not be to everybodies taste but what do you want Michael Buble, Paloma Faith, Coldplay or Sir Elton John (FOR THIS MONEY YOU ARE LUCKY TO GET ANY)
This Hotel represents very good value for your money and should be seen as such.
The answer to the question Would I return=====Definately

If the BOSS reads this WHERE'S MY BELL .

Room Tip: If you are unhappy in any way ASK THE BOSS before you return and write a BAD review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just come back from Isle of Wight with a coach tour from Coventry. Our driver was great being as he had never been to the I O W before, he found his way round really well, and we had a couple of days out. As for the hotel, never stay in room 215, the bathroom was disgusting, flooring coming up, black mold all around the bath, the bedroom was mouldy and paper coming off the walls, it was so noisy as it was on the main road, wish I had listened to the other complaints. Paid £5 for the remote for the tele which we got back, but most of the time you couldnt see it for the picture breaking up. The food wasnt very good either, it was a though it had been sitting under heat lamps and was verydry and tasteless, as for the entertainment, well dont bother! Will never go to this hotel again.

Room Tip: room 215 was very noisy and all the rooms facing the road was noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamCourt, Manager at Langham Court, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your review. Some of the rooms are on a main road which is quiet of a night. We did say we would move you to the only the room we had but you declined. Funny how you never reported any faults to us until you went onto trip. Yes we do ask a £5.00 deposit for remotes it is not a charge just a deposit so that they are in the hotel for the next person. When reported TV's are not working well we go to the room within a short while obviously you did not report your TV so how can we help you. Out of 96 guests only 3 complained regarding the food (perhaps that says a lot).
We have many good reviews regarding the entertainment at the hotel but we cannot cater for everybody's taste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were part of a coach party and not expecting too much. But we were pleasantly surprised by the room, staff,food and lovely swimming pool. Our room was pleasant and very clean, but was on a busy road so a bit noisy No 4. There were plenty of choices at meal times and a very good standard. The entertainment was good for a small holiday hotel but the best thing was the lovely staff. Every one was smiling, helpful and happy to go the extra mile. We will look forward to returning.

Room Tip: If a ground floor room is required, request not on road, although the other ground floor rooms will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doreen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.4 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#32 of 51 in Shanklin
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensmead Hotel
Queensmead Hotel
#19 of 51 in Shanklin
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Court

Address: 48-54 Atherley Road, Shanklin PO37 7AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: £64 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langham Court 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Langham Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Court Hotel Shanklin
Sherwood Court Shanklin
Langham Court Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing