We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent visit!!”
Review of Snowdon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Snowdon House
Ranked #30 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed for 7 nights and again another fantastic stay at The Snowdon. As usual a spotlessly clean room with plenty of space to chill out and relax. A superb breakfast to 'set you up' for the day (plenty of choice - I can recommend the bacon and egg muffins). Good quiet location, only a few minutes walk from both town and beach. Can't wait until our next stay!!!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank philmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at Snowdon House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Many thanks for writing the review Phil, we always look forward to having you stay with us at the Snowdon, see you both again very soon, best regards, Mike & Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

Well the Snowdon is just like home from the minute you arrive to the time you have to leave you feel "at home" but the big bonus is there is no housework to be done!! We have had 5 stays there now over the last 2 years residing in various rooms and each and every stay has been our absolute pleasure, the rooms are always spotlessly clean and cosy with fluffy towels, tea/coffee tray,TV, hairdryer, clock radio. The beds are very comfortable and you can always find brouchers in the hall for many of the Islands attractions to visit. The breakfast menu is so good you have to try something different everyday but the "poached" eggs are always a winner!! Mike and Sally are always able to give sound advice on places to dine etc and nothing is too much trouble. You will never regret spending some time here.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if its available and you want a little bit of extra luxury try room 6 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules42Newbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Owner at Snowdon House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, we always endevour to make our guests stay at the Snowdon as pleasant as possible, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us once, we look forward to seeing you both again real soon, best regards, Mike and Sally, resident proprietors since 2001.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

spent 2 nights at the Snowdon house B&B at the weekend and had a very pleasant stay, my hubby and I stayed in room 6 which had a four poster bed with a tempar mattress, the room was big and had a nice bathroom with twin basins and a large shower, we chose the English breakfast which was cooked to perfection and consisted of one sausage one rasher of bacon one large mushroom one soft fried egg one hash brown and some baked beans tea and toast. You will need to take your own teabags if you want decaf as I do but they do have decaf coffee.
Everything was spotlessly clean and in good decorative order although a little outdated in the communial areas.
The location was a little disappointing as Shanklin town was a little run down and untidy but the Old town was quaint.
If we stayed again we would probably stay in Ventnor.

Room Tip: Room 6 had a four poster bed and generous sized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and judge accommodation primarily by cleanliness followed by food. Not disappointed at all. Excellent hotel & location.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank postureman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

really great night's sleep lovely beds and clean bathrooms

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tt g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Hotel location: Excellent location for those who do not have a car
Restaurants: 10 minutes walk from all the good restaurants
Beach: 10 minutes walk
Bus/Rail station: 10 minutes walk

Hotel Staff: Very friendly - the lady there was really nice
Breakfast: Decent -- we r veggie guys but the breakfast was still nice

Overall the hotel was nice and clean, and we liked it.

Only complaint: no tub in the bathroom...and very small bathroom

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prasad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Excellent stay, the room was exceptional and very clean.
Really good breakfast to set you up for the day!
Close to both beach and town.
Very very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#22 of 51 in Shanklin
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowdon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowdon House

Address: 19 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £43 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Snowdon House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowdon House is a family run 4 Star guest house, situated just some 100 metres away from the spectacular cliff walk and views of Sandown & Shanklin Bay. We have an excellent reputation for great quality home cooked breakfasts using locally sourced food, our full and varied breakfast menu choice will certainly set you up for the day. All of our seven bedrooms are individually decorated with en-suite facilities. We can offer single, twin, double, superior double rooms & a four poster room, we have one ground floor room. Hospitality trays and towels are provided in all bedrooms. Free WIFI is available in all bedrooms & public rooms. We also have free off street & on street parking (when available) to the side of the building. Mike & Sally Beston have been resident proprietors at Snowdon House since January 2001. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Snowdon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowdon House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing