We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COULDN'T FAULT IT!!”
Review of Snowdon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Snowdon House
Ranked #31 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Have just returned from Snowdon, what a lovely hotel! First impressions upon entering, smells lovely and very clean. Sally is a lovely lady and very helpful.We had been upgraded to a luxury room, with a seating area which was immaculate. Exceptionally clean and fresh. Hotel is in a lovely quiet location, not far from the beach and also Old Shanklin town. Breakfast was fab, best ever had in a B&B! All home cooked and fresh. Would definitely recommend and will stay here again should we return to Shanklin

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
Thank beeniecrew-182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2009

This is our third stay at the Snowdon and as always we have recieved a warm welcome with excellent service, good quality breakfasts and superb spacious rooms that are clean and well presented.
The location is ideally suited for both beach and town as they are short walk away and also close to local transport links to the rest of the island for those that dont drive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_OGormans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

After reading the reviews, we were quite disappointed with our room, which had just about enough room to walk around the bed (One at a time!) The shower room was tiny, the sink barely big enough to wash your hands in. As for filling the kettle, you had to keep filling a glass and tipping it into the kettle. Maybe we were just unlucky, as I think we got the last room available, but all these tales of spacious rooms were misleading. The bar looked nice but there was never anyone in it. Breakfast was OK, not spectacular (eg one mushroom and one rasher of fatty bacon!) and Sally was friendly enough, but on balance I don't think we would go back. We're not normally complaining types but this place didn't float our boat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnowdonIOW, Owner at Snowdon House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2009

We take our guest views and opinions very seriously here at the Snowdon Guest House, we are disappointed that your stay with us did not meet up to your expectations, we are always improving our accommodation on an "on-going" basis including our Guest Rooms and Public area's.

We have in place a refurbishment plan for the room you stayed in and commented about, this refurbishment will commence over the winter period and will increase the overall size of the bedroom by over 100%.

These improvements will include amongst others a larger en-suite bathroom, solid Oak four poster bed and a large screen digital TV, these improvements together with the already stunning view out to St Martins Down will really appeal to our new and regular returning customers.

We sincerely hope you return to us once these improvements have been completed and give us a chance to "Float your Boat".

Mike & Sally Beston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

My wife and i had the pleasure of staying at Snowdon House for 10 days,from late June 2009.Sally,Mike and their daughter provide 1st class accomadation with a friendly atmosphere .Nothing could be faulted throughout our stay.The room we had,no.2,was spacious and very comfortable with a 2 seater settee as a welcome bonus.The bathroom was spacious,with an excellent shower cubicle.As mentioned by other reviewers,the daily breakfast will put you on for the day.We did not require anything substantial until around 8pm! Please note,we chose to have the full English Breakfast every day.There are enough options to please everyone,i am sure.Sally and Mike recommend the Plough and Barleycorn for an evening meal,only a few minutes walk away.We found this newly refurbished establishment to be excellent value,with truly great food and friendly staff.We had a lovely stay at Shanklin,and look forward to returning to Snowdon Hotel,in the future.Elaine and Alan B.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunburnkid09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

very clean and tidy, room very spacious with small sofa to relax on, with tea and coffee making facilities.

very nice grease free breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nevanddella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and are hoping to return this year, Mike & Sally the owners are very friendly and helpful. You get a good breakfast to set you up for the day. Rooms are nicely decorated and clean. The hotel is in a great location for walking to Shanklin village so you don't have to use the car.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We found the hotel accommodation very comfortable, especially as we had decided to pay extra for a room that had an additional seating area. It's location was in a very quiet area but was within very easy reach of the beach and coastal path and the town itself (a few minutes at most). Although the hotel was full whilst we were there there was no noise at all from other guests. The breakfasts, taste, presentation and service was excellent and we were always asked if everything was to our liking and did we want anything else. The room had an excellent supply of tea/coffee etc although we did have to ask for more shower gel rather than it just being provided. But it was given freely when requested and was not an issue.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentEuropeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#22 of 51 in Shanklin
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowdon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowdon House

Address: 19 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £43 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Snowdon House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowdon House is a family run 4 Star guest house, situated just some 100 metres away from the spectacular cliff walk and views of Sandown & Shanklin Bay. We have an excellent reputation for great quality home cooked breakfasts using locally sourced food, our full and varied breakfast menu choice will certainly set you up for the day. All of our seven bedrooms are individually decorated with en-suite facilities. We can offer single, twin, double, superior double rooms & a four poster room, we have one ground floor room. Hospitality trays and towels are provided in all bedrooms. Free WIFI is available in all bedrooms & public rooms. We also have free off street & on street parking (when available) to the side of the building. Mike & Sally Beston have been resident proprietors at Snowdon House since January 2001. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Snowdon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowdon House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing