We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I made the decision to book the Belmont as I loved the look of the building's charming exterior and because of the excellent reviews. My husband and I usually prefer larger hotels and are not fans of the guest house type of hotel so were a little dubious. I think I made an excellent choice. The hotel isn't big only having 13 rooms but in no way does it feel like a guesthouse. Our room had a view of the sea from the large bay window and although overlooking the street, was quiet at night. It was clean and well decorated with a very comfortable bed and, what is usually lacking in hotels, plenty of clothes hangers! The hotel is clean, tidy and beautifully decorated in a style that befits and compliments the building with good size lounge, bar and restaurant area and parking space, which is important and is within easy walking distance of the beach, coastal path and town. Breakfast at the hotel has a large choice' they seemed to have thought of everything you could possibly want, where you can help yourself, the cooked breakfast is very good, the service was swift and staff always pleasant. We only ate at the hotel on one evening but the choice is good, as is the food, with good portions and very reasonably priced.The hosts are charming, helpful and always cheerful and friendly. If I should return to the island I would not hesitate to book The Belmont as we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank patricap482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and and found the bed comfortable. Travelling around our selves we are aware of the importance of ample coat hangers to hang enough clothes for 2 people, so we always try to main ample in the wardrobes. Hope fully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was our first stay at the Belmont and we will be going back. The owners Linda and Des bend over backwards to make you welcome and are very very helpful. If you are into cars and Bond Movies then you will have loads of entertaining conversations with Des. The breakfast served in the morning is one of the best, you have a choice of a continental buffet and a full English. The full English is cooked to perfection and waiting staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel has a carpark and is location is ideal for walking to the beach and the main shopping areas.

The room - If you are used to 4/5 star then you might be a little disappointed. The rooms do have a flat screen free view TV but the furniture are somewhat dated and not the best quality (the bed made a loud creaking sound getting in and out of it which was a little of putting if you know what I mean!) There is free Wi-Fi available. Nice touches were the quality bathroom toiletries and the free coffee facilities.

The hotel also has nice gardens and a small pool (weather was not hot enough for us to use) and the room we had overlooked the gardens and was very quiet at night.

Things that would have made it nicer - a large pedestal fan or celling fan to help cool the room down and a little fridge so that you can keep some drinks cool, and somewhere to hang your coats apart from the wardrobe.

Overall, a very pleasant stay, beautiful Victorian building, great location and wonderful people running it. (please don't let my fussy negative's put you off, this is a nice place to stay).

Room Tip: we stayed at the rear of the hotel but the front of the hotel overlooks a Church so I would imagine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for your review and we will take note of your comments for when we refurbish that room at a later date. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was my wife and my first visit to IOW. After very thorough review of all accommodation
on Tripadvisor I chose The Belmont. Bingo,hit the jackpot first time! Great host, Great breakfast
and Great Room...No 20 Premier was well worth the modest cost. The hotel was very clean, tidy and everything worked as it should have. Linda and Des were first class and always on hand for anything we needed. Parking good and free and Shanklin was a delight and I would highly recommend Morgans for seafood it was brilliant and The Village Inn for great pub food and atmosphere. Shanklin has best beach on the IOW. We were very surprised how nice and laid back the IOW was and the weather was wonderful. Don't muck about, stay at The Belmont and give yourself a treat!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but if you want 4 star then choose 19 or 20 Premier rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank garricklah44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you so much for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was the 2nd time we have stayed at the Belmont and we will return again, its the nice little details that make the difference compared to others we have stayed at.
Linda & Des are friendly, welcoming and helpful with high standards, the rooms, food and service were excellent.
Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ianrickwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your second stay with us. We continually try to improve and maintain our standards. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Great location, neat clean & tidy rooms, great bar area & really good breakfast. Very friendly atmosphere to unwind in. The surrounding area of Shanklin is one of the prettiest areas of England i have ever seen. Des pointed out all the local spots to visit & we had a very relaxing & enjoyable stay. Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazza05BigG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we do take pride in the Belmontl and we are very lucky we have staff that also take pride in their jobs and the Belmont. We all want you to enjoy your stay with us and we are glad you want to return. Thank you and see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have stayed at the Belmont many times and it just gets better, des and Linda are great. The rooms are well presented and very clean. Food in the bar is very good. Staff are very friendly and polite. Always plenty of tea and coffee to help yourself to in the lounge

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing the Belmont, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Having just returned from a 4-night stay at The Belmont, I have nothing but praise for its two owners, Lin and Des. The room was immaculate and well presented, the choice at breakfast was second-to-none and they were always more than happy to assist. The only one small downer was that the shower head had to be held rather than being fixed to the wall and also lacked a shower curtain, but this was of small issue considering the rest of the service was exceptionally high. Very much a recommended choice of accommodation for future trips to the Isle.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ash_and_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for your review, we are so glad you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Belmont. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 8 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £61 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where comfortable hotel meets staying with friends, the Islands Premier Adult Accommodation, the Belmont is an imposing and unique Victorian building in Shanklin which has been receiving guests since the late 1800's and was built as a gentleman's residence. The Belmont Hotel is independently owned and is AA 4 star Silver guest accommodation and is well known for our warm welcome, friendly efficient service and the relaxing atmosphere. Combining Victorian elegance and modern comforts, we offer Classic and Luxury rooms in an excellent location close to Shanklin Old Village, the Chine, Railway/Bus stations, Lift and the beach. The Belmont enjoys a suntrap garden, unheated outside pool, Dr Detox Cabin, licensed bar and restaurant. There is also free off-street parking covered by CCTV, Infinity fibre optic hi speed Wifi, lounge area with TV, games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing