We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is perfect.( good location - near the sea and near the old village) We spent 2 nights in the best room ( second floor with a nice seaview )
We had dinner there. the food is excellent. The hotel is not too big so we could speak ( and drink..) with other ghests. I will recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PENA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and the other guest's staying here. We have a relaxed atmosphere and seem to put people at their ease. We have stayed at places where no one talks to each other, so we know what you mean. Again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

really enjoyed staying at this hotel. staff were friendly, lovely clean room with a comfy bed. excellent breakfast with lots of choice. bar and food prices reasonable for a hotel. bit of a hill to climb to hotel but good location. would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kazzierob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for your review, we are glad your room clean and the bed comfy. We do try to keep our prices reasonable and competitive for our guest's. We are pleased you were happy with your stay and will recommend us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a friendly, clean & comfortable hotel with fantastic food and service, we have stayed at a number of hotels on the island and all have been good but the Belmont just goes that extra bit further in all aspects and that's what makes it stand out from the rest.
I have no reservations in recommending the Belmont to anyone, in fact my recommendation is give yourself a treat & book the Belmont for your break.
Thanks for a superb break & the excellent food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ANDY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments, it is good to know that our extra efforts are noticed, we like to go that extra mile so that you have an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our room was spotless and had everything you needed. The food was outstanding and always had a personal touch for all individuals. The staff were like one big happy family and were extremely friendly and caring. We would most definaty go back and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others. Thanks for a fabulous holiday Des and Linda xx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review, we all enjoy what we are doing, so it makes it a pleasure. We have a fantastic team here. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

You won't find a warmer welcome or indeed a better place to stay. Linda & Des were the perfect hosts.It is so obvious that they love what they do and put that care and attention to detail into what they offer.
The room was spacious, comfortable and the whole stay was a luxurious, peaceful splendour. Breakfast was great too. I would not hesitate in recommending this amazing place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are lucky that we do enjoy what we are doing. Hopefully we will see you again at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed just the one day , great deal for D/BB, Des and his wife run a great hotel , look after you and all your needs . Room 16 small and only double bed but who cares when your made so welcome , thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deancummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing us, we are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and felt you got a good deal with our dinner, bed and breakfast option.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel:
Cosy rooms with comfortable beds and everything you might need during your stay.
Excellent breakfast with a huge variety to suit every taste.
Very friendly staff and owners.
Looking forward to my next stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yvonne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
902 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 8 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £71 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where comfortable hotel meets staying with friends, the Islands Premier Adult Accommodation, the Belmont is an imposing and unique Victorian building in Shanklin which has been receiving guests since the late 1800's and was built as a gentleman's residence. The Belmont Hotel is independently owned and is 4 star adult accommodation and is well known for our warm welcome, friendly efficient service and the relaxing atmosphere. Combining Victorian elegance and modern comforts, we offer Classic and Luxury rooms in an excellent location close to Shanklin Old Village, the Chine, Railway/Bus stations, Lift and the beach. The Belmont enjoys a suntrap garden, unheated outside pool, Dr Detox Cabin,licensed bar and restaurant. There is also free off-street parking covered by CCTV, Infinity fibre optic hi speed Wifi, lounge area with TV, games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing