We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is the 'little' touches that make the 'big' difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It is the 'little' touches that make the 'big' difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Beautiful views from the upstairs room facing the sea, The binoculars by the bay window were much appreciated. Breakfast was superb, freshly cooked to order and included an extensive buffet that covered all tastes and needs. Another extra touch was the coffee and cakes available in the comfortable sitting area throughout the day.The staff were friendly and there when needed. At the same time it felt like home, coming and going as we pleased. The rooms were spacious and very clean and lots of goodies were available in the bathroom. Easy access to public transport-which in the main is very good on the island. The beach is literally 'down the road' and the Old Village is very near too. The hotel was recommended to us and we will certainly pass on the recommendation.
N and D

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms for the perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NandD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased you found the recommendation lived up to expectations, and are going to recommend to others. Our breakfast is freshly cooked and is not precooked then hot held. we are glad it felt like home and you were relaxed. Again Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    61
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
289
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was a perfect location - central to everything - beach, pubs and shops. The hosts were excellent - very welcoming and made us feel at home. Lovely room, with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was great, lots to choose from and a great start to the day. Will definately recommend to friends and family and will be going back next year !

Room Tip: Enquire about rooms with 4 poster beds - there are some available if you want a more luxurious break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sylvie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is good to know that you had a comfortable bed, and enjoyed our food. we look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Very pleasant, quiet room on the ground floor, helpful for disabled husband. Good bathroom with everything you might need, including nice toiletries but no flannels, no hook on bathroom door and no grabrail in shower. Plenty of storage space, comfortable bed, attractive decor and excellent tea tray. Reading lights that actually shone on your book! Huge range of goodies offered for breakfast, including home-made bread, and hot breakfast choices freshly-cooked to order. Very friendly welcome and service going beyond the bounds of necessity. Dinner excellent too - large and well-presented dishes, but mainly catering packs rather than home-made. Still delicious though and very good value. Once up the many steep steps to the front door and attractive verandah, hotel very accessible for less able and if necessary our room could have been accessed through french windows leading to the garden with only two steps. We would certainly go again if staying on the Isle of Wight..

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook garden with small swimming pool and were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marjorie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our meals are good value and we only use quality products. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Fantastic !
We were made to feel right at home. The Hotel is very clean, comfortable with a good well stocked bar.
The food on offer was excellent, with good sized portions that were always served hot.
Breakfast was wide ranging, with lots of choice, both hot and cold.
Location is great, with the Old Village just a few minutes walk away.
The beach is also just a short walk away.

We'll be back :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. All our food is cooked to order, which is why it is hot, we do not hold food in a bain marie. see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatou, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is perfect.( good location - near the sea and near the old village) We spent 2 nights in the best room ( second floor with a nice seaview )
We had dinner there. the food is excellent. The hotel is not too big so we could speak ( and drink..) with other ghests. I will recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PENA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and the other guest's staying here. We have a relaxed atmosphere and seem to put people at their ease. We have stayed at places where no one talks to each other, so we know what you mean. Again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

really enjoyed staying at this hotel. staff were friendly, lovely clean room with a comfy bed. excellent breakfast with lots of choice. bar and food prices reasonable for a hotel. bit of a hill to climb to hotel but good location. would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kazzierob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad your room clean and the bed comfy. We do try to keep our prices reasonable and competitive for our guest's. We are pleased you were happy with your stay and will recommend us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTSMOUTH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a friendly, clean & comfortable hotel with fantastic food and service, we have stayed at a number of hotels on the island and all have been good but the Belmont just goes that extra bit further in all aspects and that's what makes it stand out from the rest.
I have no reservations in recommending the Belmont to anyone, in fact my recommendation is give yourself a treat & book the Belmont for your break.
Thanks for a superb break & the excellent food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ANDY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments, it is good to know that our extra efforts are noticed, we like to go that extra mile so that you have an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 8 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where comfortable hotel meets staying with friends, Shanklins Premier Adult Accommodation, the Belmont is an imposing and unique Victorian building in Shanklin which has been receiving guests since the late 1800's and was built as a gentleman's residence. The Belmont Hotel is independently owned and is 4 star adult accommodation and is well known for our warm welcome, friendly efficient service and the relaxing atmosphere. Combining Victorian elegance and modern comforts, we offer Classic and Luxury rooms in an excellent location close to Shanklin Old Village, the Chine, Railway/Bus stations, Lift and the beach. The Belmont enjoys a suntrap garden, unheated outside pool, Dr Detox Cabin,licensed bar and restaurant. There is also free off-street parking covered by CCTV, Infinity fibre optic hi speed Wifi, lounge area with TV, games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing