We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“belmont - central peace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“belmont - central peace”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of August using the hotel as a base for our IOW costal walk. The place was centrally positioned and quiet. We loved the the breakfasts and afternoon tea. The hosts Des and Linda were very friendly. If you can afford a premier or deluxe room you may wish to consider this if you like more space.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jan5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    63
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
297
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked the day before on a last minute trip. Had seen the room on LateRooms but booked directly with the owners. Very helpful telephone booking, friendly welcome and great hospitality. Breakfast was freshly cooked, there were cereals, fruit, pastries, toast,muffins, etc, etc! At 4pm there was fresh coffee, tea and cakes/biscuits provided - lovely wrap-around deck at the front of the hotel to sit out and unwind. The hotel is in a great location to walk down to the sea front (down the steps or along to the cliff lift), is in a good spot to get to Old Shanklin with its thatched restaurants (we had a great meal at The Village Inn). If you like walking this is an excellent spot - just around the corner is the coastal path - very well marked. We walked to Steep Hill Cove, just past Ventnor one day, and out to Culver Down through Sandown the other. The Belmont is a great location - we had a standard double, room 14 - looking over the church but also views of the sea. Everything was clean and comfortable - a lounge and bar - we didn't use the pool or sauna but they were readily available.

Room Tip: We stopped in room 14 - lovely front room with bay window, on the right as you look at the hotel pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liney1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so lucky to be in the position we are in as we are centrally placed for Sandown and Ventnor. Our Tea/Coffee is very popular and welcome with our guest's. The Old village is just a few minutes walk where there are good places to find entertainment as well. Again thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Absolutely terrific place to stay. We had a 4 poster bed room and acres of space. Breakfasts were fantastic and had dinner there one night and the best food in IOW. Hosts were so helpful and friendly we cannot wait to go back there asap. Will not stay anywhere else on the island.

Room Tip: Try the 4 poster rooms Terrific space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review us. We are delighted that you had a terrific stay in our Superior 4 Poster room. Our Superior rooms are much larger than our standard doubles for those who like to have space. Again thank you and we await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is a perfect example of how a hotel should be.However fussy you are you will not be disappointed staying here,wether it be for one night or more.It was our first time on the island and at this hotel but the hosts made us feel like regulars.The breakfasts are excellent and they cater for everyone whatever you eat.You don't even have to go out and look for your evening meal as the hotel menu has an excellent choice.We where there for five nights and we ate in every night.Would stay at this hotel again as it is a perfect location for touring the island,will be recommending to family and friends and anyone else who asks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your first time on the Isle of Wight and decided to stay at the Belmont. We do have quiet an extensive menu, which can be viewed on our website; www.belmont-iow.co.uk/menus. Thank you for recommending us to friends and relatives we appreciate that. Hope fully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

After booking just weeks before our stay, we arrived to a friendly and helpful welcome and some useful knowledge of the area. Every time we arrived or vacated the hotel we were met by the friendly owners/staff who couldn't have been more helpful. The breakfast was always served fresh and hot with a wide variety to choose from including a buffet. Ideal location with easy access to the old village, high street and sea front. Would recommend to anyone looking for a short break whilst also looking for a more personable service as the hosts really couldn't do more to welcome you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BennyBoi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again if you decide to revisit the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Beautiful views from the upstairs room facing the sea, The binoculars by the bay window were much appreciated. Breakfast was superb, freshly cooked to order and included an extensive buffet that covered all tastes and needs. Another extra touch was the coffee and cakes available in the comfortable sitting area throughout the day.The staff were friendly and there when needed. At the same time it felt like home, coming and going as we pleased. The rooms were spacious and very clean and lots of goodies were available in the bathroom. Easy access to public transport-which in the main is very good on the island. The beach is literally 'down the road' and the Old Village is very near too. The hotel was recommended to us and we will certainly pass on the recommendation.
N and D

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms for the perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NandD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased you found the recommendation lived up to expectations, and are going to recommend to others. Our breakfast is freshly cooked and is not precooked then hot held. we are glad it felt like home and you were relaxed. Again Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was a perfect location - central to everything - beach, pubs and shops. The hosts were excellent - very welcoming and made us feel at home. Lovely room, with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was great, lots to choose from and a great start to the day. Will definately recommend to friends and family and will be going back next year !

Room Tip: Enquire about rooms with 4 poster beds - there are some available if you want a more luxurious break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sylvie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is good to know that you had a comfortable bed, and enjoyed our food. we look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#42 of 52 in Shanklin
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 8 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where comfortable hotel meets staying with friends, Shanklins Premier Adult Accommodation, the Belmont is an imposing and unique Victorian building in Shanklin which has been receiving guests since the late 1800's and was built as a gentleman's residence. The Belmont Hotel is independently owned and is 4 star adult accommodation and is well known for our warm welcome, friendly efficient service and the relaxing atmosphere. Combining Victorian elegance and modern comforts, we offer Classic and Luxury rooms in an excellent location close to Shanklin Old Village, the Chine, Railway/Bus stations, Lift and the beach. The Belmont enjoys a suntrap garden, unheated outside pool, Dr Detox Cabin,licensed bar and restaurant. There is also free off-street parking covered by CCTV, Infinity fibre optic hi speed Wifi, lounge area with TV, games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing