We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, comfortable and friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have just stayed at the Belmont for a 4 night break on the island. Des and Lyn go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable and relaxing - really excellent hosts. We ate in the bar 3 times - choosing from an extensive menu. The food is freshly cooked and very tasty -and the portions are huge! Breakfast was excellent with a huge buffet to choose from as well as a delicious full cooked breakfast. It was lovely ending the day in the lounge enjoying the complimentary coffee & cake and chatting with Des and the other guests. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrystopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so glad we made your stay enjoyable and relaxing. We are lucky our lounge is so inviting as it is the heart of the hotel and is not enclosed as a seperate room, so you don't feel awkward if you are the first ones there, and others quickly join you. Thank you for your compliments on our food we like to make sure you don't leave the table feeling hungry, we do do smaller portions on request. Now we have the new buffet area we can really go to town on the choices we can offer our guest's. Again thank you and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

A great stay. Linda and Des very welcoming. Very clean and loved the breakfast. Linda kindly gave me her recipe for Spiced Bread which was gorgeous and cant wait to see if I can make it as only used my breadmaker once!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Good luck with the recipe. Hopefully we'll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Had a three-night stay. Linda & Des very welcoming and glad to offer local advice. We were on the ground floor (Room 20) - very spacious with plenty of room for a big sofa, comfy bed, etc. Nice powerful shower from the bath taps, though the floor at the far end did get rather wet! Lounge had coffee on tap pretty much all day with cake in the afternoon (all free!) and was spacious and relaxed with big TV, board games, etc. We ate in on one evening - lovely grub, reasonably priced and very generous portions.
Fantastic breakfast - wide variety of cereal, fruit, juices, cold meats, rolls, croissants, waffles, crumpets, muffins, and several home-baked breads of various kinds. Cooked breakfast too - really tasty and freshly cooked to order, including the sausage (so often the great let-down of a cooked breakfast away from home). With a breakfast like that we just didn't need lunch!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timsmithmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for writing your review. Room 20 our Premier Dbl/Twin is a lovely room and in the summer has direct access out on to the veranda which catches the morning Sun. It is a very popular room and gets booked up quickly by returning guest.
The tea/coffee table in the lounge is also popular, and we get guest racing back just to have the cake in the afternoon.
We think our meals are very attractivly priced and are value for money, we are glad you enjoyed them. We show our menu on our website and also have a picture gallery, every meal is different as you choose which potato and veg you would like with your meal.
We have a lovely supplier for our sausages who have them specially made for them using their own recipe, which you cannot buy in the shops.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We selected The Belmont purely on-spec for a short, 3 night break for three couples. Every October we try to get away to different places and the Isle of Wight was our first visit since our children were young and we weren't disappointed.

From making the booking over the phone, directly with the hotel to the reception on arrival and the whole trip we could not have been more satisfied and were welcomed like 'old friends' by the hosts Lyn and Des.

Lyn was welcoming on arrival, showing us round and explaining the services on offer. This included complimentary tea or coffee along with biscuits or homemade cake, which was available in the television lounge. She showed us the nicely set out dining room and also 'Dr Detox', which was a hot room used twice by my wife for a very small charge.

Our rooms were comfortable, spacious and clean along with being well maintained throughout the stay.

We used the bar on all three nights, prior to going in to Shanklin town, which was very convenient to the hotel and also on returning. Des generally looked after the bar, which was well stocked with a good selection of drinks.

Both Lyn and Des were around the hotel, no matter what time of the day or night and were always welcoming and helpful.

My work takes me away and requires me to stop over in all types of hotel and I can honestly say I have never seen such a large selection of food at breakfast. There was a wide range of cereals, fresh fruit salads, juices etc. The menu included a choice of breakfast grill or kippers along with the continental option. To accompany these were a good selection of breads, muffins and crumpets with some of the breads being home made and very nice.

There is ample car parking space and a nice verandah to sit out on and watch the world go by, in a nice peaceful setting.

Should we choose to visit the island again, which I hope we do, there would be no hesitation on contacting The Belmont again. The two couples we travel with complimented me on finding such a good hotel, not that we normally have problems, but in their opinion this was one of, if not the best to date.

Room Tip: We had rooms 10, 12 and 14 and all were suitable. Out of choice I would choose 14, which overlooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Dr Detox is complimentry for sole use by our guests the small charge was for the hire of the dressing gown.
We try to cater for most peoples taste with our breakfast buffet and there is a vast selection.
The Veranda is a very peaceful area and I have come across a few people nodding off out there in the soft chairs.
Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again if you return to the Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Got to the hotel early and our room was ready and waiting, we were shown around and taken to our room straight away.
The hotel was immaculate.

We felt right at home !

Breakfast was fantastic, cooked to perfection and set us up for our day exploring the island.

Des and Linda were fantastic hosts, we are definitely booking again VERY soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 785richc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our check in time is from 2pm, but we do let you have the rooms before if they are ready, we can't see the point in making our guests wait for the checkin time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a very pleasant stay, the hotel has a central location, just a few minutes walk to Shanklin Old Town and beach.
Des and Linda were helpful and very welcoming.
Superb cooked breakfast in the morning with a hugh choice of both cooked and continental.
Good value for money

Room Tip: room was small although well equiped. Some rooms only have a bath, we had a shower but it was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We recommend phone bookings dealing direct with the Belmont, as we can talk you through the different rooms available and allocate the best one to suit your needs. When you book online you do take your chance for what room your allocated. We have just had our annual AA Visit and our pleased to report we have maintained our 4 star rating, and we have just gained the Breakfast award from them. Again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had almost a week at The Belmont. A warm welcome from the owners and we were very well looked after. Nothing was too much trouble. A nice room overlooking the garden. Very peaceful and just what we wanted after a hectic summer.
A wonderful breakfast every morning, the evening meal was also very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NigelMountford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and felt relaxed by the end of it, that's what holidays are about. We like our guest's to have a good breakfast to set you off for the day. We are looking forward to getting our new buffet area fitted next week. Hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
899 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
486 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 8 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £70 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where comfortable hotel meets staying with friends, the Islands Premier Adult Accommodation, the Belmont is an imposing and unique Victorian building in Shanklin which has been receiving guests since the late 1800's and was built as a gentleman's residence. The Belmont Hotel is independently owned and is 4 star adult accommodation and is well known for our warm welcome, friendly efficient service and the relaxing atmosphere. Combining Victorian elegance and modern comforts, we offer Classic and Luxury rooms in an excellent location close to Shanklin Old Village, the Chine, Railway/Bus stations, Lift and the beach. The Belmont enjoys a suntrap garden, unheated outside pool, Dr Detox Cabin,licensed bar and restaurant. There is also free off-street parking covered by CCTV, Infinity fibre optic hi speed Wifi, lounge area with TV, games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing