We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clifton(Shanklin)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luccombe Hall Hotel(Shanklin)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fawley(Shanklin)(Great Value!)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fernbank(Shanklin)
US$120
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Channel View Hotel(Shanklin)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
349
65
16
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
65
16
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold villageisle of wightwell stocked bargreat hostshome from homelittle extrascomfortable bedlovely roomsea viewred squirrelsbreakfasts were excellentthe ground floora lovely staytea and coffee making facilitiesnight breakquiet locationfantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have just arrived home from a lovely three days at The Belmont.
Linda and Des are excellent hosts and made us feel very at home. Our room (No 15) was very comfortable and spacious. We ate in the hotel every night and the meals were beautifully cooked,presented and large!!! Unfortunately we never had any room for what looked to be delicious puddings. Next time Linda, I promise.Thank you both again for providing a haven for a restful break. We hope to return very soon.
Lin and Andy

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LindaAnnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Room 15 is one of the Superior Dbl/Twin rooms and is a large room. They are no longer available on some booking sites until the last minute, so you need to phone the Belmont to check availability now. In saying that they are on the Belmonts Redfunnel Live website where you can book the room and receive discount on your ferry travel to the Island. We did warn you the meals are filling, I'll save the puddings till next time! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

On arrival I parked my car in a well lit and safe car park. I then got met with very friendly staff and a warm welcome. I got shown around and was very impressed with the facilities, especially the breakfast room. The rooms were warm and cosy and extremely clean, something i am very fussy with. The ensuite toilet and shower room was clean and fresh with laundered towels and shower gel, soap etc. The TV had a very good picture and my daughter and i were able to lay on the bed after the most amazing full english breakfast and chill out together watching TV until checkout time arrived. I would seriously consider coming back to visit the Belmont, I would like to thank the owners Linda and her Hubby for a wonderful couple of days and the perfect stay! xx

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you so much for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I love Shanklin as I grew up here. I needed somewhere to stay as I was coming down to the IOW on business for a few days. The Belmont turned out to be a wonderful choice. Lovely cosy room overlooking the sea and the church and wonderful breakfasts. Am happy that I will be coming back for another 2 nights next week.A big thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 711Megan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you are enjoying your stay with us and thank you for choosing to stay with the Belmont.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had a short 2 night stay at the Belmont, having never stayed on the IOW before and we couldn't have wished for a better hotel. Linda and Des gave us a very warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The room was superb, excellent breakfasts with a wide choice and a good menu for evening food if you so wished. The hotel is situated in a good location for an easy walk either to the promenade or to the old village. We had a very good relaxing break and look forward to staying again! Thank you! Sandy & Ray

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your first stay with us at the Belmont for your first trip to the Island. We look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We've recently returned from the Belmont, travelling as two couples. When we read the reviews we wondered if it really could be that good? It was better than that!
Lyn and Des welcome you as old friends, and nothing is too much trouble. We had Room 17 which was superb, as was the Four Poster booked for my parents as a belated anniversary surprise.
We ate in the hotel on the first night due to our teatime arrival. Food was sooooooo good that we then ate in every night. Breakfasts were equally as good, plenty of choice, and freshly cooked/prepared.
Tea & Coffee in the lounge and cake, was a lovely gesture and very welcome after returning from touring the Island.
All in all a wonderful few days, would have no hesitation in recommending, and will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: We had two excellent rooms, number 17 (on the front) and number 8 (Four Poster at the back overlooking the garden).
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenTwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for writing your review, we are so glad the Belmont lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the compliments on the food, we do only use quality ingredients for our breakfast and dinner choices. See you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews