We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with great, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Two night stay at The Belmont was all you could ask for. The rooms are spacious and clean with great facilities.
The evenings meal are superb and within easy walking distance to the sea front and high street.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Premier room is rather large as is our Superior Rooms for those that like to have space. We are pleased you enjoyed our meals that we offer. Maybe see you in the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

Our first visit to the Isle of Wight and I booked it for a valentines break.

I was amazed at the price of the standard room, very reasonable so I paid a bit extra for a larger room and wasn't disappointed.

The building is what would be described as a "period" building but it is well kept, very clean and tidy, the decor fits well with the building.

We ate in the first night of our stay and the food was lovely, the restaurant / bar was Nic, well stocked with local ales and the host was very jovial.

The Belmont is located within walking distance of shackling town and the promenade, the cliff top lift down to the prom was closed during our visit so we got a good workout getting back up to the hotel after our stroll, although it helped us work off the well cooked breakfast we had at the Belmont!

A big benefit for us is that the Belmont is adults only, I don't want to sound selfish but I've had my kids, they're all grown up and left home so I don't really like putting up with anyone else's!

Overall I would recommend a stay at this hotel, great prices, great food, great location and great hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad we made your valentines stay a pleasure. We are so glad you enjoyed the food for breakfast and the evening meal. Hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very clean, comfortable hotel. Only stayed one night but we were made to feel very welcome. Great quality food. We had an evening meal prepared at very short notice. Very friendly hosts. We would definately recommend staying at the Belmont.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are glad we made your short stay enjoyable. Perhaps we will see you for longer in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

old fashioned but very friendly and welcoming, allocated seating at breakfast, tinned tomatoes, sea view as advertised, quite a lot of steps at the front and indoors for a gammy knee. Clean and perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AEK32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for your review. we always show the building with the 14 steps up to the front door on all our advertising, we also have an access statement on our website which describes all steps with in the Belmont. It was a shame you didn't mention you didn't like tinned tomatoes at the time as we always have fresh tomatoes available if prefered, we stopped doing fresh as a large majority were being wasted which is why we changed. The Belmont is a large Victorian Building with "modern comforts", we have to finely balance the comforts with the feel of the building anywise it will lose its character. The Belmont is 150 years old as described in our website. Again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

As this was our first trip to the Isle of Wight, we didn't know really what to expect. We booked the Belmont as our base to walk around the Isle, and we felt at home from the very first night, upon our arrival.The Belmont is a very nice victorian house in Shanklin, at walking distance from the old village, the town centre and the beach. But the most important, is the very way you are treated by the owners Des and Linda. We got a very warm welcome from Des, who showed us around the place and suggested some possibilities nearby to have dinner (as we arrived rather late and the bar was closed).
The next morning we experienced the same friendliness from Linda at our breakfasttable, with view on the garden. This was the most various breakfast we could have so far, prepared to all your wishes. Most of the days, we even skipped lunch, regardless our daily walks and visits to interesting places (Carisbrooke Castle, Osbourne House, The Julia Margareth Cameron Trust,...).
Every day they made some time to talk about what we hade done and our plans for the day after.
Although it was a rather "wet" holiday in therms of weather, we never regretted to have come in winter. Especially with a daily session of "dr. detox" infrared sauna, it was all wearth it.
The only thing I missed was a strong jet of water in the shower, but well, you can't always get wat you want...
So it was with a sad feeling that we left the Belmont our last morning, without seeing Des or Linda, because we had to take an early Ferry at Fishbourne. We enjoyed the "on the go breakfast" you prepared for us the night before.
Thanks for making our trip so enjoyable!

Sofie and Raoul, Belgium

Room Tip: As we only stayed once, we can't compare rooms...We had the small room 16 with a nice view on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so glad we made your first visit to the Island an enjoyable experience. Our Breakfast's are designed to suit most tastes, and our continental has a comprehensive choice. Even our cooked has most things offered for those who look forward to Breakfast. Thank you again and perhaps a return visit in the summer months when all attractions will be open for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This small hotel has everything you could need for a relaxing stay in The Isle of Wight. The place is immacualte and has a good bar, breakfast, well appointed rooms and is located close to Shanklin beach and the town centre. Above all else, this place is run by a lovely couple who make you feel very welcome and do all they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

There is a pool, but even in August it wasn't hot enough to use it. As good as this place is, it can't control the British weather!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surbytonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us back in August. We are really pleased with our new buffet area, which has been upgraded since you came, it is now very slimline and we can display our range to its full advantage now. We have up dated our photos on our web site www.belmont-iow.co.uk. The pool is awaiting its make over this spring all we have to do then is pray for a long hot summer, so we can make the most of it this year. Again Thank you, and hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome. Although the hotel was full of other quests we always received what felt like special attention. Nothing was too much trouble for Linda and Des...

...Well done to you both. It was a wonderful break, sadly only for three nights, but it felt much longer. We returned home delighted in our choice of hotel, and will definately be returning later in the year. We defy anyone to beat your breakfasts.!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, we are happy to hear that we made your stay an enjoyable one. See you again in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 8 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £61 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where comfortable hotel meets staying with friends, the Islands Premier Adult Accommodation, the Belmont is an imposing and unique Victorian building in Shanklin which has been receiving guests since the late 1800's and was built as a gentleman's residence. The Belmont Hotel is independently owned and is AA 4 star Silver guest accommodation and is well known for our warm welcome, friendly efficient service and the relaxing atmosphere. Combining Victorian elegance and modern comforts, we offer Classic and Luxury rooms in an excellent location close to Shanklin Old Village, the Chine, Railway/Bus stations, Lift and the beach. The Belmont enjoys a suntrap garden, unheated outside pool, Dr Detox Cabin, licensed bar and restaurant. There is also free off-street parking covered by CCTV, Infinity fibre optic hi speed Wifi, lounge area with TV, games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing