We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easter break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 50 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“easter break”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The stay was great form the beginning till the end. The staff is very friendly, the room was large, comfortable and with a beautiful view. The breakfast was full of choice. Thanks for a lovely stay and we know where to book when we'll come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad your enjoyed your stay over the Easter weekend. Our Luxury rooms are very large. See you again next time you visit the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    62
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
292
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Really enjoyable break. Friendly staff and comfortable place in good location made our stay very enjoyable and will make The Belmont our first choice for our next stay on the island. Thanks to all there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank a-dronsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing us on your stay at the Belmont, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at The Belmont Hotel. Des and Linday we great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The room was large and airy, the breakfast was a great choice and well cooked. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: As far as we know all the rooms are as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyboy3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much for choosing us for your holiday over easter and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Des and Linda are great hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them. They even loaned me a walking stick following a trip and hurting my ankle. The breakfast provided a great choice of everything, all dietary requirements were covered, gluten free, milk free. The rooms were very comfortable, covering all your requirements. The evening meals also offered something for all, and were eaten in the dining room, allowing you to enjoy a drink and night cap before retiring. The entrance include a lounge area were you could partake in tea/coffee and cake mid afternoon, when returning from your outings; there was always a greeting form either Des or Linda on your return. These extra touches made you feel it was your home for the duration of your stay, rather than just being a customer.

Room Tip: front of hotel for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k551_chambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing us and thank you for booking with us at the Belmont, it was a pleasure to meet you both. I hope your foot is well on the way to recovery now. Again thankyou and hopefully we will meet again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in the Belmont. The bed was really comfortable, the room spacious, the breakfast and dinner was fantastic. The couple that run the hotel are friendly and provide you with useful tips about the surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Belen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Sauna is becoming quite popular, and it is complimentry which makes it more inviting. Des worked all over the Island all his working life so knows the Island very well. Hopefully we might see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Another delightful stay at The Belmont. We were made very welcome by Linda & Des, and enjoyed their fabulous hospitality.
The location is perfect for the beach and Old Village.
Fully recommend staying at The Belmont.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing us, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay again and that we havent changed. we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Lovely b&b. Two night stay in early April. Standard deluxe Bedroom well appointed. Good shower, clean. Bed a bit soft for our liking and smaller than we are used too (but we did miss out on booking the four poster deluxe). Breakfast was excellent. We bought wine ourselves and the owners were very happy to provide glasses and chill our bottle.

In very easy reach of sea front.

Ate at the Chime Inn, which was superb food, highly recommended. Also ate at the aqua, which was very nice, but not as good as the Chime.

Would definitely return to the Belmont, if we can get the four poster room!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was unfortunate you missed Room 2 by 15mins, perhaps next time if you decide to return. Room 6 is a lovely room and has the double aspect over the garden and pool area. Again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 8 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where comfortable hotel meets staying with friends, Shanklins Premier Adult Accommodation, the Belmont is an imposing and unique Victorian building in Shanklin which has been receiving guests since the late 1800's and was built as a gentleman's residence. The Belmont Hotel is independently owned and is 4 star adult accommodation and is well known for our warm welcome, friendly efficient service and the relaxing atmosphere. Combining Victorian elegance and modern comforts, we offer Classic and Luxury rooms in an excellent location close to Shanklin Old Village, the Chine, Railway/Bus stations, Lift and the beach. The Belmont enjoys a suntrap garden, unheated outside pool, Dr Detox Cabin,licensed bar and restaurant. There is also free off-street parking covered by CCTV, Infinity fibre optic hi speed Wifi, lounge area with TV, games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing