We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Have stayed here many times Des and Linda very friendly nothing is too much trouble for them
Staff very friendly .Breakfast is really good lots of choice .very peaceful rear garden or verander to sit and read

Room Tip: Room 15 or room 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing us and letting others know how we are. See you again. Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    63
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
299
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a fantastic stay for 3 nights at the Belmont. The owners and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room had a great sea view with lovely clean bathroom and very comfy bed which was beautifully made up each day. The breakfast was a really good selection of all types of cereals, fruits, meat, cheese, and traditional english very well cooked. We particularly loved the seating on the verandah, and the great location within minutes walking for the picturesque old village, and the beach and coastline. The binoculars and telescope in the room were also great little extra touches.
Thank-you for a refreshing relaxing stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for the review and are glad we helped make you have a relaxing break. You do get lovely see views from the luxury room 2 with the telescope. thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel. The hosts, Des and Linda, made us very welcome. We had both Breakfast and Dinner and we could not fault either, lots to choose from, all cooked fresh - they were both excellent. We had a lovely room with a fabulous sea view. We would definitely recommend this hotel. If we return to the Isle of Wight this will, without a doubt, be our choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Luxury Super King Room at the front of hotel has superb sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. See you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Another lovely stay so much choice for breakfast. Linda and Des are wonderful hosts. The afternoon tea is a lovely touch. We love the beds, slept very well. The area is perfect, it's very peaceful. We stayed for 6nights still didn't want to go home and will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your 2nd visit as much as the first. We are very proud we offer so much for breakfast to suit all appitites. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

had a great stay view amazing, hosts very nice and a lovely breakfast. well worth a stay! the breakfast was one of the best i have had, everything cooked fresh and lots of different foods to choose from.

Room Tip: roon 14 great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank roy542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your first stay with us and found the best breakfast around. Our choice is taylored to suit all as not every one is the same. Again thank you and hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay, breakfast was very good with fresh food and varieties to choose from. The staff were very friendly and everything was neat and tidy. The luxury room we stayed in was indeed luxurious and the bed was comfy. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Najmul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and loved our newly refurnished Room 8 (4 Poster), we love how it turned out. Perhaps if you return in the future it will be for longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our second visit to the hotel and it was as brilliant as our first. We were in room 17 which was superb with the added bonus of a sea view. Des and Linda are lovely people who go to extraordinary lengths to make sure everything is fine for you. Breakfasts are amazing (I ate far too much!) and the evening menu choice is very good and the food great.
I cant fault our stay except to say it was not long enough and hopefully it won't be too long before we can return.

Room Tip: Room 17 has sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattilou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us again. Our luxury room17 is a lovely large room and benifits from having one of the seaviews. See you next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#43 of 52 in Shanklin
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 8 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where comfortable hotel meets staying with friends, Shanklins Premier Adult Accommodation, the Belmont is an imposing and unique Victorian building in Shanklin which has been receiving guests since the late 1800's and was built as a gentleman's residence. The Belmont Hotel is independently owned and is 4 star adult accommodation and is well known for our warm welcome, friendly efficient service and the relaxing atmosphere. Combining Victorian elegance and modern comforts, we offer Classic and Luxury rooms in an excellent location close to Shanklin Old Village, the Chine, Railway/Bus stations, Lift and the beach. The Belmont enjoys a suntrap garden, unheated outside pool, Dr Detox Cabin,licensed bar and restaurant. There is also free off-street parking covered by CCTV, Infinity fibre optic hi speed Wifi, lounge area with TV, games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing