We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Business trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Friendly welcome, quiet room although overlooked swimming pool so maybe not so quiet in high season. Could of done with the addition I of a enclosed shower, rather than tap attachments. Wi if poor. Fantastic breakfast, great choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review on how you found us whilst staying with us on business. Room 3 ensuite is a bath room, with a bath shower mixer tap, and is the only room where the shower is not attached to a wall, in saying that we do have guest's that this suits and it is a requested room, perhaps for its location as well. As you mentioned it does look out over the pool, because we do not take children it does not get noisy in the garden and is very peaceful even in the high season. We take note of our Wifi problems, as it was dropping out, we have been having engineers from bt working on it and hopefully now we have had the problem resolved. If you return to the island on business again, hopefully you will use us again and we can locate you in one of the rooms with a shower. Again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    61
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
289
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tonypandy, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have just returned from a three day break at the Belmont hotel for our 20th wedding anniversary. The best thing I can say about this hotel is that I can't wait to go back there. We had the room at the top of the building with a four poster bed and beautiful sea views. The room was spotless with lots of storage space as there was a seperate dressing room. The breakfast was fabulous, Linda is an excellent cook, and there was a huge choice of different breakfasts to suit all tastes in their dedicated breakfast room. I've been going to the isle of wight for many, many years but this was the first time in a hotel as we'd previously taken the kids and gone self catering. After a hard day's sightseeing on the stunning isle of wight, we would come home and sit on the veranda ( very comfy chairs )and have a drink while watching the world go by, so peaceful. There's also a lounge area with tv and complimentary tea and coffee and cake. It's little touches like that ,that makes this hotel so special along with the very friendly and welcoming approach of owners Des and Linda . Great location for shanklin old village, town and the beach.

Room Tip: Room 2 is at the top of the building, with fabulous sea views, and a telescope to view the many pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kazzyluker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
we are so glad you had a fantastic time whilst you were staying with us and thank you for the kind comments on my cooking. We do take our guest's stays very seriously and it is a compliment when you appriciate what we do for you and what we provide. See you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I booked this for my new partner first time away in three years we are both in our 70 but very yong at heart this must be the best place I have stayed bedrooms 5 star and food great all round 5 star will be back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you were not disappointed with your first holiday in 3 years. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked to stay here as a treat for my parents to celebrate their 75th and 70th birthdays. All four of us thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay as Linda and Des were so friendly and helpful and made the hotel so welcoming. The rooms are lovely and there was as much breakfast and coffee and cake as you could eat! Will definitely be going back when we next go to the IOW and would certainly recommend the hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad we made your special birthdays enjoyable and memorable. See you next time when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Have stayed here many times Des and Linda very friendly nothing is too much trouble for them
Staff very friendly .Breakfast is really good lots of choice .very peaceful rear garden or verander to sit and read

Room Tip: Room 15 or room 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing us and letting others know how we are. See you again. Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a fantastic stay for 3 nights at the Belmont. The owners and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room had a great sea view with lovely clean bathroom and very comfy bed which was beautifully made up each day. The breakfast was a really good selection of all types of cereals, fruits, meat, cheese, and traditional english very well cooked. We particularly loved the seating on the verandah, and the great location within minutes walking for the picturesque old village, and the beach and coastline. The binoculars and telescope in the room were also great little extra touches.
Thank-you for a refreshing relaxing stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for the review and are glad we helped make you have a relaxing break. You do get lovely see views from the luxury room 2 with the telescope. thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel. The hosts, Des and Linda, made us very welcome. We had both Breakfast and Dinner and we could not fault either, lots to choose from, all cooked fresh - they were both excellent. We had a lovely room with a fabulous sea view. We would definitely recommend this hotel. If we return to the Isle of Wight this will, without a doubt, be our choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Luxury Super King Room at the front of hotel has superb sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. See you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 8 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where comfortable hotel meets staying with friends, Shanklins Premier Adult Accommodation, the Belmont is an imposing and unique Victorian building in Shanklin which has been receiving guests since the late 1800's and was built as a gentleman's residence. The Belmont Hotel is independently owned and is 4 star adult accommodation and is well known for our warm welcome, friendly efficient service and the relaxing atmosphere. Combining Victorian elegance and modern comforts, we offer Classic and Luxury rooms in an excellent location close to Shanklin Old Village, the Chine, Railway/Bus stations, Lift and the beach. The Belmont enjoys a suntrap garden, unheated outside pool, Dr Detox Cabin,licensed bar and restaurant. There is also free off-street parking covered by CCTV, Infinity fibre optic hi speed Wifi, lounge area with TV, games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing