We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Belmont”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Belmont”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent, we felt like home. Breakfast was very good - variety of fresh fruit and cooked meals. Close to the beach and old village. Very friendly atmosphere, welcoming owners. Quiet. It was great to take afternoon tea at the terrace.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The verandah is a lovely place to relax on in the afternoon after your busy day sight seeing. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    63
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
297
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

A lovley hotel in a great spot for the beach, bars and restaurants. Great breakfast and very friendly staff. We stayed in room 3 and while it was an en suite room the shower was a hand held shower from the bath, its the only one like this in the hotel. A fixed shower with curtain or door would be so much better. Also bathroom toiletries are only supplied for the first day....never come across this before! Would definitely return and recommend to friends but would ask for room with proper shower.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank doris2daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review, Room 3 is a bath with a hand held shower for hair, because of the way the plumbing was installed by previous owners, at this time we do not have any plans to change it. We look forward to seeing you again and will allocate a room with a fixed shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My partner and I stayed for a week, while visiting Isle of Wight with the whole family. We had a fantastic stay, the staff were very helpful, yummy breakfast, quiet pool and comfortable bar. We will certainly be going back the next time we are in Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I had a lovely stay. We booked one night for some rest bite as we are full time carers for our two disabled children. It was so lovely and quiet. Sitting out on the veranda in the evening with a drink was a real treat. The room was lovely and clean and with everything you need for a wonderful stay. Breakfast was lovely as there was such a variety to choose from. We will definitely we be back to stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms at this room are good. For choice, rooms facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and managed to relax whilst you were here. See you again next time you need a break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

the food in this hotel is fantastic also all the staff and owners are very kind and pleasant
the room we had was very nice and comfortable
would highly recommend this hotel
the swimming pool is very nice
the bar is well stocked

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing us, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just returned from a two night break at the Belmont. Having booked very last minute the only room available was a standard one, so I did arrive not expecting much however the room was great. It was bright and airy with plently of space and a nice outlook over the pool. The owners and staff were all very friendly and we really enjoyed the complimentry afternoon tea.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your weekend break with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed with my elderly parents, brother and partner. The hotel is in a quiet locaton very close to the front and only a short walk to the centre of the village. Breakfast is excellent with an outstanding choice. The owners were welcoming and although we didn't need anything, I am sure any requests would have been well received. WIFI a bit hit and miss at times, but I got what I needed to keep in touch with work.

My only negative point would be that for disabled access a ramp or path to the side entrance would be a nice addition as pushing a wheelchair over grass isn't great - but we were informed of this prior to our arrival, so it wasn't a nasty suprise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look for ward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
806 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#42 of 52 in Shanklin
396 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 8 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where comfortable hotel meets staying with friends, Shanklins Premier Adult Accommodation, the Belmont is an imposing and unique Victorian building in Shanklin which has been receiving guests since the late 1800's and was built as a gentleman's residence. The Belmont Hotel is independently owned and is 4 star adult accommodation and is well known for our warm welcome, friendly efficient service and the relaxing atmosphere. Combining Victorian elegance and modern comforts, we offer Classic and Luxury rooms in an excellent location close to Shanklin Old Village, the Chine, Railway/Bus stations, Lift and the beach. The Belmont enjoys a suntrap garden, unheated outside pool, Dr Detox Cabin,licensed bar and restaurant. There is also free off-street parking covered by CCTV, Infinity fibre optic hi speed Wifi, lounge area with TV, games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing